Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soaring melody and angular rythmns. Top class!!!
This album, the second full-length release from Thursday following their independently released 'waiting' opus, marks a rational progression of their melodic 'post-hardcore' (for want of a better word) sound. They comfortably mix intricate guitar swells to angular, jarring rythmic parts; and with a stunning effect. First track proper, 'Understanding in a Car Crash' is...
Published on 8 April 2002 by Mr. J. R. Davies

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing
I agree with the other reviews that the highlights of this album ('understanding..', 'autobiography of a nation', 'cross out the eyes') are amazing and are basically miles better than any attempts from other bands to achieve this type of sound. If the album was consistent it would be a true masterpiece, but i found that i cant listen to it the whole way through because...
Published on 18 July 2003 by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soaring melody and angular rythmns. Top class!!!, 8 April 2002
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
This album, the second full-length release from Thursday following their independently released 'waiting' opus, marks a rational progression of their melodic 'post-hardcore' (for want of a better word) sound. They comfortably mix intricate guitar swells to angular, jarring rythmic parts; and with a stunning effect. First track proper, 'Understanding in a Car Crash' is perhaps most typical of their sound; vocals tear throught the music, it shouldn't really work but does!!! The track builds and builds to a frankly awe-inspiring climax. Similar examples of the band's excellent song-writing are apparent on other stnd-out tracks; 'Autobiography of a Nation' featuring one of the biggest choruses I've ever heard, the Glassjaw-esque 'Cross Out the Eyes' and 'Standing on the Edge of Summer.' You are unlikely to find better examples of this genre than these highlights. Unfortunately, the album is unable to maintain this sort of consistency. It is difficult to determine whether the other tracks are worse than the highlights, or the highlights are just so good they put the rest of the album to shame!!! Nevertheless, it would be worthy of a purchase for these tracks alone, and tracks like 'Paris in Flames' and 'Hole in the World'are far from poor. Overall, I would strongly recommend this to anybody with a fondness for Glassjaw, Waterdown, The Movielife, Finch yadda yadda yadda!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not emo, not hardcore, not emocore, but thursday, 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
after having listened to this album quite consistently over the past 6 months i think it has to rank among the best i've ever heard. no other album sends so many chills down my spine. haunting, often dazy ambient sounds litter the first 30 seconds of the album before the New Jersey quintet burst into full life with the fast-moving melodic "Understanding In A Car Crash". Personal highlights on the album include the run-up to the highest note on "Concealer", the harmonic dual-lyrics complimenting each other perfectly, "Autobiography of a nation" especially the first time he sings (hits the note so sweetly and powerfully, i always get chills down my spine). The best song on the album doesnt come for 6 songs, but when it does it mesmerises you. From the opening drum intro, the subtle guitars build up to an emotive scream and a fantastic rhythm change into the chorus. Melody of the purest form and perfect song-writing perfection. The emotion that Geoff conveys on lines such as "we can rise on the wings of a dove", and "we can rise like candles in the dark" . The music behind these two lines is absolutely beautiful, i lvoe it it drives me. For those who say that the album contains fillers........i say go listen again, and again and again until you realise why that song exists where it does. Ive seen Winding-Up mentioned (a great slowish intro then it literally explodes into action half-way through). I Am The Killer and Paris In Flames are great pure thursday tracks, and then we see the softer side of them with songs such as Standing On The Edge Of Summer. Buy this album now, then buy "Waiting". "Waiting" isn't quite as good, more melodic than "Full Collapse". I've had the new album a couple of weeks, listened to it loads, but not enough to review yet. Very promising though!! Check out "For The Workforce, Drowning", "War All The Time" and "This Song Brought To You By A Falling Bomb".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance, 6 Sep 2006
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
Quite simply, Thursday are one of the best bands around. And this is their best album. Standing on the Edge of Summer, Understanding in a Car Crash and Autobiography of a Nation are highlights, though every track is fantastic. If you haven't got a Thursday album or seen them live, do so now!!!

I would place Thursday at the top of the list of so-called emo/screamo bands, but if you're just getting into the genre and are a fan of, say Taking Back Sunday or Finch, make this album an essential addition to your collection. It is accessible after a few listens, but you will never tire of it given the artistic brilliance behind the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic punk meets hardcore, 15 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
yeah this is great, its that sort of melodic hardcore that newer bands like thrice are trying to take the credit for. their vocalist is wicked, he's almost as good as the grade dude when he screams and sounds even more passionate than nfg when he sings, if you like grade/boysetsfire/that kind of stuff then get this - you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 22 Jun 2003
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
A quite remarkable album. Many have tried to combine emotional hardcore with melody, but none do it better than Thursday. People often use the phrase "there isn't a weak song on here" frivilously, however, on this masterful album it is surely the case. I can think of no band currently that has such a sense of melody, which is even more remarkable when you consider they certainly aren't producing pop music here. "Understanding In A Car Crash" is one of the greatest 5 minutes of music I've heard for sometime, whilst the intro to "Wind-Up" displays well this remarkable melodic nature. Other highlights include the break-down in "Paris In Flames" and the single "Cross Out The Eyes." Be sure to check out "Five Stories Falling" as well, which includes 4 live tracks from this album, and the awe inspiring "Jet Black New Year"
Bring on the new album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting the standards for all to follow..., 23 Dec 2002
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
Their first widespread release, Thursday's 'Full Collapse' sets the standards that ANY band should aspire to in this day and age. Thursday have used their life expereinces and innermost feelings to take Emo one stage further and throw it into the hardcore scene to make quite a stirring - and a good one at that! Their music spans from fast and upbeat to slower melody's, but they are all consistantly moving, bringing you heavy guitar riff's, hard drum beats and blasting vocals. The opening track 'Understadning In A Car Crash' sets the tone, followed up by powerful songs such as 'Autobiography of a Nation' and 'Paris in Flames' as well as the lifting, yet still deep 'Standing on the Edge of Summer' all is wrapped up with "How Long Is The Night?". A true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant music, 31 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
this album is one of the best albums to come out in 2001.
its fantastic, it keeps a happy medium for hardcore and emo with the passionate screaming and delicate vocals and crashing chords.
stand out tracks on the album are 'CROSS OUT THE EYES', 'AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF A NATION' and 'I AM THE KILLER'.
if you like this you may like Coheed and Cambria and Grade. Also Taking Back Sunday are well worth checking out.
Buy this album and see thursday live, make em ur favourite band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars emo that can bite your face off when it wants, 19 July 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
Released in 2001,this is possibly thursdays finest moments,very much emo in style and lyrical content,it is also capable of tearing holes in your flesh when geoff builds up to a scream and he can do it but the melody and clean vocals return as soon as they were taken away so all in all i would say its emo as opposed to screamo.

Thursday are a band that have stayed in the shadows enjoying some moderate success with 2003s war all the time but this is the album that should have launched them to bigger things,songs like understanding in a car crash,concealer,cross out the eyes,paris in flames and i am the killer showcase the bands brilliance to write on topics such as child abuse,relationships with death,and relationship breakdown without the usual cliches of poor me,look at me which emo has embraced as a whole.

This is an emo album that needs to be admired,for it challenges the concept of emotive music,the songs all sound strong and the melodies hold long in the memory,so this is well worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 16 Mar 2004
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
Thursday, this was where i started my life changing journey into the endless bliss of emocore music. amazing stuff, political issues, love, pain. they have everything. Maybe dropping winding up and i am the killer would have been a plan, but standing on the edge of summer, written after Geoff seeing his grandmother for the last time and realising she was dying, is a stunning track. Check out 5 stories falling after this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best emo record around!, 4 Sep 2003
This review is from: Full Collapse (Audio CD)
This album contains absolutely no weak tracks and features some of the best singles in a long time. When the first single is the weakest track (but still brilliant in it's own right) then you know that the album must be excellent.
The lyrics are passionate and emotional, far more heartfelt than Nickelback and all their crap.
Truly and exceptional record. Amazing. Buy now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Full Collapse
Full Collapse by Thursday (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews