Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars10
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2001
I can't believe it's been 20 years since the first time I bought this album as a UK import in the US. I thought this band was the bomb after buying their first US release Drums and Wires so I had to locate the earlier albums to complete the set. The tunes on this album didn't disappoint in 1980 and really nailed me down as a big XTC fan for life. I recently read that the original albums were being re-released on CD and I decided that I had to have the set to replace my worn and tired LPs. I'm glad I made the decision because this CD is as good or better than the LP of old. It's true to the album, including the cover art. A great piece of work that I will treasure for the next 20 years just as I have treasured the original LP.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2003
Having listened to the latest bunch of pretenders to the new wave crown, e.g., hot hot heat, yeah yeah yeahs etc, the old stuff still beats them hands down. and none more so than this, xtc's first album. at times both experimental (cross wires, im bugged) or perfect pop (statue of liberty, radios in motion), this also boasts the stunning all along the watchtower cover. those who like slightly adroit, inventive, energetic new wave will love this; in my opinion only elvis costello's this year's model comes close. buy it!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I played White Music this morning, for the first time in A. VERY. LONG. TIME.

Conclusion: a very pleasant surprise. At least half of it could've been recorded last weekend rather than (pull up a chair granddad, this may come as a bit of a shock) 35 years ago. Perhaps that's as much an indication of the circuitous nature of contemporary culture (particularly popular music) as the duration of XTC's records though? That said, I'd be very pleased to hear something as great as "This is Pop", "Set Myself on Fire", "New Town Animal", "I'm Bugged", or "Statue of Liberty" introduced as a new release by a new band on Radio 6 next time I tune in.

Though the try-hard reinterpretation of Dylan's "All Along the Watchtower" sounds a little dated (it was essentially only ever a tongue-in-cheek encore anyway), the rest of White Music still sounds remarkably (& surprisingly) fresh. In fact, the only slight disappointment is the clumsy manner in which Virgin have unnecessarily tampered with the sleeve art, but the plethora of extra tracks (singles & b-sides) makes up for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This being my favourite newave album from my favourite band of all time
It's fast its furious and its zany and wacky as it opens up with radios in motion followed by cross wires and further down the track listing is the classic neon shuffle
Xtc were and still are very under rated
I love this album
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
saw these supporting loudon wainright when this first came out.bought it yrs later flogged it then bought it again 25 yrs later.statue of liberty still sounds great .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 September 2005
'White Music' is one of the New Wave's fundamental 'class of 1977' albums and immediately established XTC as one of the era's 'bands most likely to'. At that time, anything that had a certain attitude and didn't sound as if it was influenced by the likes of Led Zeppelin, Yes or disco was labelled 'punk'. XTC were obviously a more than that, but as evidenced by the opening track, 'Radios In Motion', they played up to the link at first.

Andy Partridge's songwriting talents would develop rapidly over the next few years, but his potential was already clear on the outstanding, relatively mellow, 'Statue Of Liberty'. 'Into The Atom Age' is no less impressive, coloured by organ, as many of the early recordings were. This song reveals a discontented view of modern living which is confirmed by 'New Town Animal'. Colin Moulding was writing truly great songs for 'Drums And Wires' two years later, but there's little sign of that on 'White Music', with 'Set Myself On Fire' his best effort.

'White Music' has punk energy and ingenuity beyond that. It's also radical in the context of the time, but it hasn't aged well. The band's vision is in place here but crudely formed. An important milestone in music therefore but far outclassed by subsequent releases, something that the inclusion of seven extra tracks on the CD does little to remedy.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
thanks
great cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Swindons finest
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2003
This is the exuberant and carefree side of early XTC, before the days of Steve Lillywhite, nervous breakdowns, Skylarking and divorce. White Music is an LP very much of its time; its main failings are that, stylistically, it occasionally sounds as if the band are trying too hard (or perhaps not hard enough), and it's also a little too knowingly 'clever' for its own good, but you can tell that they were heading in the right direction.

Words like spiky, angular and - >gulp< - quirky are almost invariably used to describe the band at this stage of their career, but they were always a pop band in essence. This is evinced by relatively-tuneful tracks such as Radios In Motion, Statue Of Liberty and (naturally) This Is Pop, which outweigh the more 'difficult' moments such as Colin Moulding's Cross Wires and the bizarre cover version of Dylan's All Along The Watchtower.

It took a further two LPs and a change of line-up before XTC honed their style into something that would crack the charts but the critical acclaim this album received, allied to their reputation as a fantastic live band, did them no real harm in the interim.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)