Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2004
Crispy, crunchy and ever so addictive. Contains more songs you know than you would at first realise. 'Drums and Wires' is also one of Colin Moulding's strongest songwriting collections - always a pleasure.
Indispensible perfect pop art with something for everyone. This is XTC at the peak of their accessibility.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
Go 2 was a move forward (melodically) for the Swindon lads but their true emergence occurred when Barry Andrew's cheesy keyboards were removed in favour of Dave Gregory's sublime guitar playing.An extremely "catchy" album,this laid the basis for their more powerful follow-up (Black Sea) and subsequent move into quintessential English pastoral pop.Not a "duffer" on the album.A group moving from adolescence into adulthood.Excellent.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2000
One of a whole host of band's who leapt on the punk's new wave only to surf off in a new direction, XTC's second album confirmed that the bondage trousers were never really part of the band's wardrobe. The gentle pop of 'Making Plans for Nigel' opens the album and remains the album's most famous moment but, although 'Black Sea' probably remains the band's definitive 40 minutes, this is a close second. The Beatles fixation and Andy Partridge's increasingly desperate attempts to be the clever man's pop-star were to hold the band back as they continued with an increasingly obscure career in the late 80s and 90s, but here there is a nice mixture of reflective pop, such as 'Ten Feet Tall', spikier tunes or anthemic recordings. The closing crescendo of 'Complicated Game' has always been a personal favourite. But punk? No way.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2002
XTC mainman Andy Partridge is on record as saying that around the time of this LP was when the band "started to get half-decent". It's certainly a quantum jump from their first two LPs, mainly due to the solid production of late-70s/ early-80s studio guru Steve Lillywhite, and also the cool, mellow songwriting contributions of Colin Moulding (e.g. Day In Day Out, Ten Feet Tall and, of course, the breakthrough hit Making Plans For Nigel). These are generally more successful than Partridge's awkward, hit-and-miss efforts, although his Complicated Game, which closes the LP, is a blinder.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
My Dad loved this album for Christmas and so did I. Why do they not get played more often? BRING IT ON BUSTER!!!!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
Fantastic, brings back the good times. a really good band in there time. Its nice to hear the songs again
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2001
If you're a fan of XTC, then you MUST own this cd. Sure, you've heard it before, and it's already in your cd collection, but this remaster sounds amazing. Truly, there are little parts and bits that you've never heard, unless you bought the original vinyl and listened to it while pristine. And the packaging is just like a small version of the vinyl - no crystal box!
Now, if you're not really a XTC fan, and you've never owned a copy of this disc, you ALSO must by this! The songs are great, high-energy with witty twists and turns, and excellent guitar wranglings by Andy Partridge and Dave Gregory. It's brash and fun and, as I mentioned before, it sounds GREAT.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
I absolutely love this album! I used to have it on vinyl and didn't replace it when we no longer had a turntable so I hadn't heard it for a long time. I had forgotten how brilliant it was. You can't help singing along to every track.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
This album is an earlier example of the increasing complex and enjoyable music being produced by one of the most underrated bands of the 1980's and beyond. Contains the classic 'Making plans for Nigel' and such more more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
Bought this as I did not have the CD version. Have been an XTC fan since my student days in the 80's. Original music with a very English sound, hard to beat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)