Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it began, and more.
A nice, thick little compilation, made to compliment Mick Mercer's book All You Need to Know About Gothic Rock which makes a nice companion piece. It dips its toes into every area of what is known as the goth scene (A few notable exceptions include the Banshees and the Cure, but hey.) from Alien Sex Fiend to Christian Death and some of the then more contemporary goth...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Xanthia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars goth off
Great value for money compilation but quite a few of the artists are hardly in the "goth" bracket,that the press like to pigeon hole musicians in.I assume Siouxsie and the Banshees were absent because of contractual problems,ditto any other absentees.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. D. I. Longstaff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where it began, and more., 5 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
A nice, thick little compilation, made to compliment Mick Mercer's book All You Need to Know About Gothic Rock which makes a nice companion piece. It dips its toes into every area of what is known as the goth scene (A few notable exceptions include the Banshees and the Cure, but hey.) from Alien Sex Fiend to Christian Death and some of the then more contemporary goth artists, like London after Midnight and dear Inkubus Sukkubus. A excellent set for anyone from the nervous newbie to the seasoned elder-goth looking for another compilation in a shiny new box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Treasure!, 22 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
Very dubious about this, when I ordered it. I expected a box full of compilation albums. which it is but. a couple of the CD's feature tracks that very high in the Indie charts recomendation itself. one cd is from the 80's another focusses on the 90's. Only 1 cd I consider a compilation from anywhere. I bought this to discover new bands having a bit of a goth revival and theres really some great stuff in here, Theatre of Hate and Danielle DAx are two bands I shall be seeking out more of. Bauhaus too, come close to buying one of their albums many times, based on their contributions to this compilation I think I might.
Recommended if you want to get out more in the world of Goth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... you know you want to....., 17 Oct 2008
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
I borrowed this cd set from a friend in 2005, to hunt down who wrote 'shaving my neck' as I heard it at a party about 10 years ago & loved it to bits.
I finally gave him back the last 2 CDs a couple of months ago, after I foolishly let slip I still had them.
Pants.
Really, really missing them.
These are powerful, wistful, passionate songs, so evocative of the goth scene I experienced mid to end nineties.
Fave disc - 4 without a doubt
Fave songs - just about all of them! (haven't you read the line up??!)

So, what you waiting for? you can order one now and still get out to that Friday all-nighter (goth night, LR, whatever else tickles your fancy)
Oh and can you get one for me at the same time?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly not the best "pick up" album for the eyeliner-curious, 17 Aug 2014
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
Having successfully DJ'd an entire night using just this box set and Dark Side of the 80s (I left my folder of CDs on the train and then only had enough cash on me to pick up a couple of compilations), I cannot sing sufficiently in praise of this compilation. Yes, it is a bit lacking in respect to the more well known "pin-ups" of Gothic Rock, but does more than make up for this with sheer volume and variety.

Possibly not the best "pick up" album for the eyeliner-curious, but perhaps a good second or their step along the road to over teased hair and dusting your coat with flour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the Trad goth you need, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
Needed this to replace my old damaged copies

Alternative DJ's friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl version better, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
I love this album but was disappointed that a few songs are not on CD version. Great way of listening to get into goth music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars goth off, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
Great value for money compilation but quite a few of the artists are hardly in the "goth" bracket,that the press like to pigeon hole musicians in.I assume Siouxsie and the Banshees were absent because of contractual problems,ditto any other absentees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very comprehensive, 20 Sep 2012
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
Why doesn't this CD feature any tracks from arguably the two leaders of the Goth movement of that era The Mission and Sisters of Mercy? Strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dark stuff, 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
this box has 5cd"s in it, enough songs to start your rotting corps twitching at the feet, full of rare tracks so buy it and play it loud, dig out the black cloths and scare the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Title ?, 21 Feb 2009
By 
P. R. Nokes "hotlurvemachine2" (Ipswich, Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gothic Rock (Audio CD)
This really should be called something like "80's gothic rock" as this is what album actually is.

Gothic rock and metal did not suddenly vanish in the 90's, its still going strong today (H.I.M, Nightwish, Within Temptation, Paradise Lost, Smashing Pumpkins, Cradle of Filth, Type O Negative, e.t.c).

Although this set is a "who's who of 80's gothic rock" there is no track younger than 20 years old on here and I'd expect those into and closer to their 40's would appreciate this more than the younger gothic rock fans.
As someone in their early 30's this compilation mostly strikes me as sounding very 'dated' and rather quaint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gothic Rock
Gothic Rock by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews