Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong Album with Steve Augri on vocals
Boy! this is a good cd, I hold my hands up and say "This is the best Journey cd" if you love melodic rock then get this cd its a masterpiece, I truly feel sorry for people who havent heard the song 'All The Way' and 'Higher Place' rocks like anything, they should be a hits everywhere, the music busness is in a truly sorry state if a cd of this quality can go un-noted, and...
Published on 27 May 2004 by Mr. Jelly Bean

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Twee and pointless
I made three mistakes with `Arrival': first of all I downloaded it, secondly I paid attention to the reviews, and finally I forgot that I'd downloaded it and purchased the CD. Which shows how much of an impression it made. Don't make the same mistake(s). This album is just further ammunition for those who aim criticism at Journey for being weak, predictible,...
Published on 24 Jun 2011 by Stuart Briggs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong Album with Steve Augri on vocals, 27 May 2004
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
Boy! this is a good cd, I hold my hands up and say "This is the best Journey cd" if you love melodic rock then get this cd its a masterpiece, I truly feel sorry for people who havent heard the song 'All The Way' and 'Higher Place' rocks like anything, they should be a hits everywhere, the music busness is in a truly sorry state if a cd of this quality can go un-noted, and the record company drop them, absolute madness. ceck out Augery's previous band 'Tall Stories' to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumphant return by one of the worlds most talented bands, 19 July 2001
By 
Mr. Mark G. Wyse "mark57885" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
As a lifelong Journey and Steve Perry fan I was genuinely surprised at the quality of this record. New singer Steve Augeri has been practising those Steve Perry impressions and delivers many memorable moments on this great album. Opener "Higher Place" is as good a song as you will ever hear from any band, a great hook, vocals to-die-for and some sublime guitar from the criminally underated Neal Schon. This guy can really play and on the next song "All the way" with it's classic Journey hooklines and lyrics Schon again plays a wonderful solo. "All the things" for me is the standout track on the album Schon's searing fretwork and Augeri's brilliant vocals make this a track to remember. Throughout the album though Jonathan Cain's influence is clear for all to hear, this man is a songwriting genius and his piano and keyboard skills are second-to-none. I really thought that this type of music was dead and gone with so many of today's bands writing far less melodic, (but nevertheless good!!) tunes. The album never really lets up with quality throughout. If you buy one album this year buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return Journey is better, 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
If you're reading this then you've no doubt read the number of 5-star reviews above. I've been a Journey fan ever since, at the age of 14 in 1987, I was seduced by the heart-rending chords of Open Arms, & then spent the next 3 weeks desperately trying to find out who sang it.
Arrival is overdue but does not disappoint. To be honest, I prefer Perry as a vocalist; he has a unique talent & whilst there are a few sound-a-likes, I think we've already heard the best. Augeri, however, is a quality replacement. Depending upon the song being sung, he has this ability to sound uncannily like Perry, or like himself. Either way, he sounds Journey.
His vocals perfectly complement the immaculate musicianship of Schon, Cain & co. The tracks are undeniably Journey & you'll no doubt recognise flavours from the past. There are sound-a-likes of Separate Ways, Who's Cryin' Now & others, but these are new songs in their own right & Journey fans will love them.
Despite being a great admirer of both Cain & Schon's solo stuff (if you ain't heard One & Only, Send Me An Angel or From Wings of Love, I suggest you catch a snippit of them from this site) I was concerned that the talents of these great musicians would no longer have a vocal form. Perry may be gone, but believe me, you won't miss him.
Augeri's the man. The Journey continues. 5-stars & no contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Journey's New Arrival Is Becoming Addictive, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
When I saw Q magazine give this 1-star, I thought twice about getting it, particularly with Steve Perry's departure. Boy, am I pleased I thought twice and then took the plunge! This is quite clearly drive time/AOR rock music and, if that is your thing, it is a very good example of that genre.
This is a very consistent album for all of its 70 minutes. Whilst I can't say there is a standout track, there ain't no donkies either. It is full of strong melodies, whether the style is driving rock or power ballad. Steve Augeri's vocal style is less histrionic than Steve Perry's which makes the slow romantic stuff sound less cloying and slushy and, in general, there is a natural easy balance between voice and instruments. Neither one is fighting for supremacy.
It is really very good and I find it is fast becoming addictive. It stands comparison with Escape, Raised on Radio and Trial By Fire and I'm actually beginning to wonder whether it is better than any of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Journey Album Ever !, 8 Aug 2001
By 
M J Hutchinson (Bridlington, East Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
Having been a long term Journey fan I was sceptical of the new lead singer. After just one listen to the album this scepticism was blown to pieces.Fantastic songwriting emerges on the first track where Steve Augeri's excellent voice (reminiscint of Steve Perry but sublety different)hooks you straight away. 'Signs of Life' and my personal favourite 'Loved by You' show an excellent vocal range and compassion. 'All the Things' and 'To be Alive Again' show Neil Schon to still be an excellent guitarist and Jonathan Caine's keyboards interlace all the tracks. Pure heaven for any Journey fan !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy, powerful, emotional, high energy rock., 8 Jan 2002
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
Their first studio album in nearly five years, it's well worth the wait, with all the quality and musicianship that we have come to expect, and equal measure rockers & power ballads, all there in spades.
This is a superb follow up to the awesome (and highly recommended) "Trial by Fire".
And the great news for guitar players is that the contribution from Neal Schon is increased on this album compared to previous releases, with clear influences from his (well worth checking out) solo work coming through.
He's on fire as well. New singer Steve Augeri sounds uncannily like "Steve Perry" but even better, he doesn't have that ability to annoy you by "over acting".
Stand out tracks would have to be the rocker "Higher place" ,and the ballad "Loved by you". Journey have proven themselves the masters of catchy, powerful, emotional, high energy rock. The are songs hear tear rend the heart, soothe the soul and celebrate life itself. And the playing, at all times, is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Cd from a class act, 7 Aug 2001
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
With their new singer Journey have managed to move the group into fresh areas without losing the trademark sound that has set them apart from other bands. As with all great acts the core to their success lies in superb song writing , coupled to an amazing vein of talent and the ability to capture these elements in the studio. Just hope they decide to perform in the UK and have faith in their UK fanbase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Arrival" proves that the heart of Journey is still beating., 4 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
How many bands, that reached the peak of their success during the '80s, have been able to continuously defy time by repeatedly capturing the magic in their souls and producing the songs that grab a hold of the listener and won't let go? The Journeymen are the masters of catchy, powerful, musical compositions and the emotionally touching lyrics that head straight for our hearts. "Arrival" is solid proof that each band member has stopped the hands of time and continues to be the best at what he does best. This CD is overflowing with high energy, an exotic appeal, profound lyrics and musical seduction. There are songs that tear the heart into shreds, ones that warm and soothe the soul, and others that scream out with an appreciation for life. Steve Augeri's vocal ability to caress the ballads with his soft and sensitive touch, and also make a strong statement as he handles the rockers with complete confidence and ease, have renewed the fans unyielding admiration and respect for this timeless, legendary band. In my opinion, "Arrival" is truly a gift that captures the magic in these outstanding men's hearts of gold and the immense pride they feel as members of Journey. I thank God for shining his incessant, creative light on each one of their gracious souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant comeback album ,every track is superb, 3 April 2001
By 
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
as a journey fan, i bought this cd wondering if new singer steve augeri could replace the legend steve perry. i was not dissapointed,he sounds uncannily like steve perry,and the whole album is a masterpiece,with guitar driven rockers and lush power ballads. stand out tracks are the rocker "higher place" ,and the lovely ballad "loved by you".this cd is as good as there classic albums escape and raised on radio. dont miss this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Arrival' -- definitely worth the wait., 9 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Arrival (Audio CD)
For Journey fans, getting use to the sound of someone else filling Steve Perry's shoes will take some adjustment but don't despair -- all is not lost. With Schon, Cain, and Valory in place making up the heart of the band, the quality and musicianship that we have come to expect from Journey is assured. The loss of drummer Steve Smith was also regrettable, but happily Deen Castronovo is a fine replacement and gives the band a slight 'Bad English' feel which is no bad thing.
So what of the new vocalist, Steve Augeri? Well, he is not a Steve Perry clone, and his joining the band definitely marks a watershed in Journey's history with a new vocal sound. Imagine Perry's voice mixed with that of John Waite (Babys, Bad English) and a few hints of Kevin Chalfont (The Storm) and you're not far off. He handles both the rock tracks and the (Journey speciality) power ballads with ease. Augeri is a damn fine act in his own right, and it is true to say that Journey are not lacking in any departments on this new album 'Arrival'. Journey made the wise choice of doing a lengthy tour with their new band members before recording this album and practice, as they say, has made perfect.
The contributions from Schon and Cain are increased on this album compared to previous releases. If you are familiar with their excellent solo albums then you will hear influences from this solo work coming through more strongly on this album than ever before on a Journey release. Maybe this means that Schon and Cain have more room to express themselves in this new line-up? There is an echo of a much earlier album for those long-time loyal Journey fans when Schon briefly slips back into the guitar solo from 1981's 'Who's crying now' on 'Signs of life' -- a nice touch.
This is a superb follow up to the awesome 'Trial by Fire', and Journey say this is only the beginning...let's hope so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arrival
Arrival by Journey (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews