Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try before you buy....
You rarely, if ever, find an album that pleases everybody, and perhaps because of this you may find reviews of this collection elsewhere saying "this is a weak song" "that's not up to standard" and so on. I prefer to take a slightly different view.

What you actually have here, (and I think Ian Anderson said as much in the sleeve notes), a kind of Jethro Tull...
Published on 19 May 2007 by Mr. M. D. Smith

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hit list and more criminal edits...
There are a lot of compilations out there showcasing the wonderful Jethro Tull. The best compilation is by far the box set 25th anniversary that coincides with the DVD release. This little snippet of Tull being reviewed here is of course only 1 CD attempting to jam in all the best of Tull and failing miserably. Tull is so good though that I can listen to snippets of the...
Published on 16 April 2012 by S Tuffnell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Remastered Album, 1 Dec 2011
I have always been a big fan of Jethro Tull since I was a schoolboy in the Seventies. They have become one of
the most played bands in all aspects of the media.
The Album has an Excellent selection of remastered tracks, some of which people who are unfamiliar with the band
will probably find they know well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What d'you mean "you put them in the loft"?, 15 Nov 2011
By 
G. Owens (Atlantis) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good digest from a long career with multiple high points. I'd be surprised if this collection made any new fans, but at less than four quid (current price Nov 2011) it should keep the aging legion of Tullites happily rocking (gently back and forth).

an album stuffed with the best bits from the bluesy Sixties and the folky seventies and the big and bloaty concepty stuff. and now it's a mp3 download I don't have to go hunting through old boxes of vinyl if I want to dig out Mr Anderson and his variable crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jethro tull newby, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
Since I started listening to planet rock on a regular basis I have been enjoying music that I was too young to appreciate first time around. This is certainly the case with Jethro who appear regularly and I thought it was time to educate myself a little better. This compilation contains all of the tracks which appear on the radio plus a few more which I have grown to enjoy after a few listens like aqualung. Other tracks are a little to "English Folksie" for my Celtic orientated tastes but these are outweighed by the majority of tracks which are good. The sleeve notes admit that this selection of songs is eclectic, concentrates on their shorter tracks and I should maybe buy another "best of" to cover some of their longer stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars jethro, 5 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
This takes me back. Some of the songs i hadn't heard for a very long time but still sounded very good. Chart toppers amongst them and sound better than rap music anyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The mean flute player, 18 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. M. Field "pegoretti" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
Catching up on Jethro Tull in a Greatest Hit's package is a wonderful experience, it sounds so far away musically from todays dross and yet so refreshingly simple and clear. An excellent introduction, marred only by Rumble in the jungle, I never could stand this Track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good jethro tull hits cd too start with, 18 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. S. L. Smith "musicman" (england carlisle cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
ive been a fan since i was a kid there style is unique love it folk rock and prog too love it ian anderson doesant have the best voice but for this style of music its fine its like rock singers there not always pitch perfect its not about that its the energy or the attidude i mean karen carpenter wouldant be good singing punk would she? lol but i think he has a good folk rock voice this is a good starting point but then move on to there albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't heard Jethro for years and the album took me a back quarter of a century. The album was fantastic then, it's sensational now! The music even inspires Weller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jethro at its best, 19 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. John Cuthbertson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
Old but still fantastic, all their greatest ever tunes on one album, I love it. What more can you say aboit one of the best groups from the 70's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 11 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
I never saw Jethro Tull first time round, although did see them at the Brighton Dome recently.

I enjoyed this CD; it is good late night listening.

The liner notes, however, are illegible - even the name of the designer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
By 
Mrs Alida Thomas (Wellington, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Jethro Tull
The Very Best Of Jethro Tull by Jethro Tull (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews