Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try before you buy....
You rarely, if ever, find an album that pleases everybody, and perhaps because of this you may find reviews of this collection elsewhere saying "this is a weak song" "that's not up to standard" and so on. I prefer to take a slightly different view.

What you actually have here, (and I think Ian Anderson said as much in the sleeve notes), a kind of Jethro Tull...
Published on 19 May 2007 by Mr. M. D. Smith

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hit list and more criminal edits...
There are a lot of compilations out there showcasing the wonderful Jethro Tull. The best compilation is by far the box set 25th anniversary that coincides with the DVD release. This little snippet of Tull being reviewed here is of course only 1 CD attempting to jam in all the best of Tull and failing miserably. Tull is so good though that I can listen to snippets of the...
Published on 16 April 2012 by S Tuffnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Try before you buy...., 19 May 2007
By 
Mr. M. D. Smith "Bigmatt" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
You rarely, if ever, find an album that pleases everybody, and perhaps because of this you may find reviews of this collection elsewhere saying "this is a weak song" "that's not up to standard" and so on. I prefer to take a slightly different view.

What you actually have here, (and I think Ian Anderson said as much in the sleeve notes), a kind of Jethro Tull "try before you buy" sales brochure introducing you to their back catalogue. The CD spans JT's illustrious career, starting with their single "Living in the Past" and progressing in a fairly non-chronological order through some classic Tull and some less obvious choices.

I think this gives Tull newcomers a chance to dip a toe tentatively into this unique band and get a feel for their various musical directions, prior to taking the plunge proper. Once you've found a track that grabs you, all you need do is a little research to find out what album it came from, then go get that album if you want to find out more.

For example, if folk rock is "your thang", you may find "Heavy Horses" or "Songs from the Wood" do it for you, and as luck would have it, these are title tracks from their respective albums. Aqualung, with it's changing time signatures, is more prog rock and the album it's from went in an entirely different musical direction.

That's not to say you may not grow to like either style, but with such a diverse back catalogue to choose from, why waste time trying to get into something that doesn't quite do it for you at first listen? In this respect, it's almost an ideal "first" Tull album.

The other way of viewing this album, is that it's almost like a live Jethro Tull gig in layout. I bought this album after seeing Tull live in 2001, and for me, it's like having a Tull gig in my living room everytime I put it on, with the added benefit I can sit in a comfortable seat and don't have to queue for the bar! I put it on when I'm in the mood for some Tull, but don't necessarily want to hear a whole CD of similar songs - much the same feel as when you go and see a gig.

If you're a long time Tull fan, and have all their previous albums, you might only want this CD if you feel you absolutely have to have everything they ever put out, in chronological order, for the sake of completing you collection. However, you might just want it to put in the car so you can have a bit of Tull without having to carry loads of CD's around with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tull Compilation Album Hits The Spot, 5 April 2001
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
Tull have been making records now for over 30 years. In all of that time, however, there has never been a single cd which fully represented their entire distinguished recording career. The long wait is finally over with the release of this disc. Featuring songs from their very early years, like "Song For Jeffrey," "Bouree" and "Living in the Past" up through their next to last studio album, "Roots to Branches," this cd constitutes an excellent sampler of the band's work. Long-time fans of the band will, of course, already have several copies of the songs on this disc, but the convenience of having them all together more than makes up for it. My only quibble with the album is that it nowhere mentions Ray Davies and I believe that the inclusion of a more complete informative booklet on the history of the band and the songs on the album would have been a plus for those fans who already have these songs. Still, this is definitely a must have cd for new fans and old. Hopefully, in ten years time, we'll be able to look back on this cd and say, like the band did on their first album, "This was how [Tull] were playing then--but things change....don't they."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Best of Jethro Tull, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
Having not listened to Jethro Tull for 30 years, I bought the album purely for nostalgic reasons. But, oh my, what I'd forgotten and missed!! The subtle influences of Jazz and Folk into a Prog Rock base, are truly fantastic. I even found a couple of tracks were 'new' to me. Now have a new favourite Tull track in The Whistler, brilliant.

Thank you to Mr. Anderson et al, for great music, great tunes and great memories. The Very Best of Jethro Tull? You bet it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A hit list and more criminal edits..., 16 April 2012
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
There are a lot of compilations out there showcasing the wonderful Jethro Tull. The best compilation is by far the box set 25th anniversary that coincides with the DVD release. This little snippet of Tull being reviewed here is of course only 1 CD attempting to jam in all the best of Tull and failing miserably. Tull is so good though that I can listen to snippets of the great band anytime so it deserves at least recognition for that. Though I don't know who this CD is aimed at. All true Tull fans would own all these songs. Non Tull fans may come across this in a bargain bin and decide to check out the band but would they? Really in all honesty it contains a lot of the quintessential Tull classics such as Living In The Past, Aqualung, Bungle In The Jungle, The Witch's Promise, Bourée, Life Is A Long Song, A New Day Yesterday, Locomotive Breath and A Song For Jeffrey. All of these of course have made their way to just about every Tull compilation known to man. Furthermore these songs come from Jethro Tull's best albums so are worth purchasing.

Once again those who think they know better decided to throw on a criminally edited version of Thick as a Brick that never works so I don't know why they bother. Oh, and the obligatory edited Minstrel in the Gallery raises its ugly head. For some reason there is an edited version of Heavy Horses as well. The edited songs are really useless, and why did they tack on Cheerio? It seems the powers that be were trying to jam in as much Tull as possible editing here and there to make the cut. It would have been way better to leave these tracks off all together and add others such as Teacher or some of the early stuff from Benefit or This Was or at least more of Aqualung. In any case this is really a dire compilation compared to others available. It looks pretty in its packaging, but comes off as really just another cash-in for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to the band, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
I'd been interested in Tull for years before I ever decided to listen to them. I was a heavy metal fan and Iron Maiden sometimes spoke of them being an influence and covered "Cross Eyed Mary" superbly but...Tull just weren't heavy enough for my liking! Until I grew up a bit and decided to give them a listen. I downloaded "Bungle in the Jungle", thought it was good so bought this CD to get a better taste of their catalogue.
I now own all of the remastered CDs, have seen them live in concert three times, have all the DVDs and even bought a black Hamer Sunburst guitar similar to the one Martin Barre played in the early 80's.
So...is this album worth buying for someone looking to find out about Tull? I would say so!
You get a good feel for all aspects of the band's music, from the acoustic stuff, to the more rocking stuff and some of the more lush, synthesizer led stuff like "Broadsword". It's a great look at everything from the very early days up until the Roots To Branches album.
Check it out, and be prepared to discover the musical genius of Ian Anderson!

Steven A. McKay, author of Wolf's Head: 1 (The Forest Lord) and The Wolf and the Raven (The Forest Lord Book 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seen it all before, 16 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
This CD is going to have a limited audience. Any Tull fan will already have these songs in both studio and live versions (albeit perhaps on good old vinyl) The track choices are not particularly good. 'Steel Monkey' was always poor, 'Roots to Branches' is one of the weakest tracks on the album, and 'Weathercock' knocks spots off 'Heavy Horses' - not even the Eddie Jobson live version is included. Tull's longevity is a source of personal delight, and I have great memories of 'Budapest' in 1991 and a certain young lady who was part of the stage show for that song, but this is not 'the Very Best' - except perhaps in the opinion of the compiler....oops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
pleased with the item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jethro Tull still rock, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
As fresh now as when first recorded. Will mainly interest anyone who grew up in the 60's or 70's, But I would recommend it to anyone who likes blues or rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 10 April 2014
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
Great range of songs by Ian Anderson when he was with Jethro Tull. Interesting mix of folk and pop and great stage craft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it, 17 Dec 2013
By 
B. Zabavnik (down town shepherds bush beneath the BBC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of Jethro Tull (Audio CD)
Brings back memories of snatches of songs one heard but did not own and it is easy listening when you are stuck in traffic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of Jethro Tull
The Very Best Of Jethro Tull by Jethro Tull (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews