Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the definitive collection.
The problem with trying to buy a Burt Bacharach compilation is that you'll find yourself greeted with a collection of either a) instrumental versions of his songs, or b) faced with the torture of hearing him sing his songs himself. Now, even though he wrote countless classics, his voice leaves a lot to be desired, (anyone who's seen Austin Powers will realise this)...
Published on 25 Nov 2000

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits and miss
Burt has written many great songs over the years but I didnt realise he had written so many awful ones as well!
Published on 6 Dec 2011 by Mr. S. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the definitive collection., 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
The problem with trying to buy a Burt Bacharach compilation is that you'll find yourself greeted with a collection of either a) instrumental versions of his songs, or b) faced with the torture of hearing him sing his songs himself. Now, even though he wrote countless classics, his voice leaves a lot to be desired, (anyone who's seen Austin Powers will realise this). Bacharach's voice didn't make his songs hits. Probably the closest you could get to owning a collection of Bacharach songs sung by the artists who made them hits is by buying Dionne Warwick's Greatest Hits, since she was the voice for so many of his tunes. However, even here, you'll neglect yourself of many songs such as "Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head" and "The Look of Love." This lovingly-assembled 3-CD box set solves this problem by compiling all the 'definite versions' of Bacharach's songs and within you'll find a box of treasures. You'll know at least a third of the material before you even place a CD into CD-tray, and there are many more gems to be found to. Pleasingly, the box set runs chronologically throughout Bacharach's entire career, ending near present day with his 1996 collaboration with Elvis Costello, the heartbreakingly beautiful "God Give Me Strength." This is the only Burt Bacharach compilation you ever need to purchase. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of quality but too much width!, 19 Sep 2001
By 
pete@bulkington9.fsnet.co.uk (Bulkington, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
Having bought this CD I was (pleasantly) surprised at some of the songs I found here which I knew well without realising they were written by Bacharach (& David) - his output of quality simple pop was greater than I thought.
Disappointingly however, some inferior covers have been included on this CD which nowhere near match the quality of the "popular" versions that we are familiar with. I'm thinking in particular of "Trains and Boats and Planes" - recorded by dozens of artists in the sixties - sung here by Anita Harris - pleasant enough but rather insipid - a number of better versions were recorded including the version by Billy J Kramer, also "Make it easy on yourself" here sung by Jackie Trent it doesn't hold a candle to the Walker Brothers version due mainly to a more powerful production and Scott Walkers (Engel) more satisfying baritone voice. While still on this note I can think of no reason why "This Guy's (girl's) in love with you" by Petula Clark is included in preference to Herb Albert's (and his Tijuana Brass) version - are there some sort of contractual or copyright difficulties here? Also, I have a sneaking suspicion that some of the songs here are not the original cuts - some little quirky bits that you remember in a song are not quite there - maybe an earlier take from the recording session? but if so why? Plus, the title track "The look of love" by Dusty is definitely a different version to the one which appears on her "Silver Collection" CD (here - The look of love CD - it's over 1 minute longer and sounds completely different while trying to sound the same) however, that said, I prefer this one and whilst other tracks may or may not be the original cut released they are as close as damm it and will do nicely for me.
All in all there is a great collection of about 20 beautiful pop classics mixed with another 30 songs, which are either inferior covers of great songs or standard pop fayre. Excellent value for money but needs editing to be a truly classic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - but yet again no track listing!, 7 Jun 2013
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
1-01 Carpenters - (They Long To Be) Close To You
Arranged By - Richard Carpenter Producer - Jack Daugherty
3:45
1-02 Dionne Warwick - Do You Know The Way To San Jose?
Conductor, Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Performer - Dionne Warwick
2:46
1-03 Perry Como - Magic Moments
Arranged By - Joe Reisman Featuring - Ray Charles Singers, The Orchestra - Mitchell Ayres Orchestra* Performer - Perry Como
2:42
1-04 Marty Robbins - The Story Of My Life
Orchestra - Ray Conniff & His Orchestra* Performer - Marty Robbins Producer - Mitch Miller
2:33
1-05 B.J. Thomas - Raindrops Keep Fallin' On My Head
Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Performer - B.J. Thomas
3:00
1-06 Aretha Franklin - I Say A Little Prayer
Conductor, Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Performer - Aretha Franklin
3:33
1-07 Shirelles, The - Baby It's You
Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Producer - Luther Dixon Written By - Burt Bacharach/Mack David/Barney Williams
2:43
1-08 Drifters, The - Please Stay
Conductor, Arranged By - Ray Ellis Written By - Burt Bacharach/Bob Hilliard
2:18
1-09 Tom Jones - What's New Pussycat?
Performer - Tom Jones Producer - Peter Sullivan
2:20
1-10 Gene McDaniels* - Tower Of Strength
Featuring - Johnny Moss Singers, The Performer - Gene McDaniels* Producer - Snuff Garrett Written By - Burt Bacharach/Bob Hilliard
2:17
1-11 Gene Pitney - (The Man Who Shot) Liberty Valance
Performer - Gene Pitney
3:01
1-12 Tommy Hunt - I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself
Conductor, Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Performer - Tommy Hunt
2:52
1-13 Dionne Warwick - I'll Never Fall In Love Again
Performer - Dionne Warwick
3:00
1-14 Burt Bacharach Orchestra & Chorus, The - Nikki
Producer, Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach
2:23
1-15 Drifters, The - Mexican Divorce
Arranged By, Conductor - Claus Ogerman Written By - Burt Bacharach/Bob Hilliard
2:35
1-16 Jimmy Radcliff* - (There Goes) The Forgotten Man
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Jimmy Radcliff*
2:49
1-17 Bobby Vinton - Blue On Blue
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Bobby Vinton Producer - Bob Morgan
2:26
1-18 Searchers, The - This Empty Place 2:09
1-19 Drifters, The - Let The Music Play
Arranged By - Gary Sherman*
2:39
1-20 Dionne Warwick - Anyone Who Had A Heart
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach
3:13
1-21 Brook Benton - A House Is Not A Home
Arranged By, Conductor - Alan Lorber Performer - Brook Benton Producer - Shelby Singleton*
3:02
1-22 Stylistics, The - You'll Never Get To Heaven (If You Break My Heart)
Producer, Arranged By, Conductor - Thom Bell
3:40
1-23 Gene Pitney - Only Love Can Break A Heart
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Gene Pitney Producer - Aaron Schroeder, Wally Gold
2:50
1-24 Chuck Jackson - Any Day Now (My Wild Beautiful Bird)
Arranged By - Bert Keyes Performer - Chuck Jackson Producer - Luther Dixon Written By - Burt Bacharach/Bob Hilliard
3:23
1-25 Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass - Casino Royale
Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Producer - Herb Alpert, Jerry Moss
2:36
2-01 Dusty Springfield - The Look Of Love
Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Dusty Springfield Producer - Phil Ramone
4:11
2-02 Dionne Warwick - Walk On By
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Dionne Warwick
2:57
2-03 Burt Bacharach - Don't Go Breaking My Heart
Performer - Burt Bacharach Producer, Arranged By, Conductor [Orchestra & Chorus Directed By] - Burt Bacharach
2:29
2-04 Sandie Shaw - (There's) Always Something There To Remind Me
Performer - Sandie Shaw
2:41
2-05 Jackie DeShannon - What The World Needs Now Is Love
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Jackie DeShannon
3:16
2-06 Nancy Wilson - Reach Out For Me
Performer - Nancy Wilson
2:28
2-07 Jack Jones - Wives And Lovers
Conductor [Orchestra Directed By] - Pete King (2) Performer - Jack Jones
2:31
2-08 Gene Pitney - Twenty Four Hours From Tulsa
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Gene Pitney Producer - Aaron Schroeder, Wally Gold
3:00
2-09 Jackie Trent - Make It Easy On Yourself
Performer - Jackie Trent
2:46
2-10 Dionne Warwick - Don't Make Me Over
Arranged By, Conductor - Burt Bacharach Performer - Dionne Warwick
3:26
2-11 Anita Harris - Trains And Boats And Planes
Performer - Anita Harris
2:51
2-12 Bobby Vee - Be True To Yourself
Performer - Bobby Vee
2:06
2-13 Trini Lopez - Made In Paris
Arranged By, Conductor - Trini Lopez Performer - Trini Lopez
2:23
2-14 Cilla Black - Alfie
Arranged By, Conductor [Musical Direction] - Burt Bacharach Performer - Cilla Black Producer - George Martin
2:40
2-15 Dusty Springfield - Wishin' And Hopin'
Conductor [Accompaniment Directed By] - Ivor Raymonde Performer - Dusty Springfield Producer - Johnny Franz*
2:56
2-16 Petula Clark - This (Girl's) In Love With You
Performer - Petula Clark
3:32
2-17 5th Dimension, The* - Living Together, Growing Together 3:52
2-18 Dionne Warwick - Odds And Ends
Performer - Dionne Warwick
3:28
2-19 Chuck Jackson - I Wake Up Crying
Performer - Chuck Jackson
2:18
2-20 Tony Orlando - To Wait For Love
Arranged By, Conductor - Garry Sherman Performer - Tony Orlando Producer - Bob Morgan
2:23
2-21 Shirelles, The - It's Love That Really Counts (In The Long Run)
Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Producer - Luther Dixon
2:17
2-22 Christopher Cross - Arthur's Theme (The Best That You Can Do)
Engineer - Chet Himes Engineer [Assistant] - Stuart Gitlin Performer - Christopher Cross Producer - Michael Omartian Written By - Burt Bacharach/Carole Bayer Sager/Christopher Cross/Peter Allen
3:54
2-23 Pretenders, The - The Windows Of The World
Producer - Nick Lowe
2:58
2-24 Dionne & Friends - That's What Friends Are For
Arranged By - Burt Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager Featuring - Elton John, Gladys Knight, Stevie Wonder Performer - Dionne* Producer - Burt Bacharach, Carole Bayer Sager Written By - Burt Bacharach/Carole Bayer Sager
4:17
2-25 Burt Bacharach & Elvis Costello - God Give Me Strength
Arranged By - Burt Bacharach Performer - Burt Bacharach, Elvis Costello Producer - Burt Bacharach, Elvis Costello Written By - Burt Bacharach/Elvis Costello
6:08
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing value, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
50 of the finest tracks ever released. Burt Bacharach has to be one of the most romantic composers of the century, as many couples must have snuggled together whilst listening to his music as they have to the classic Barry White. There are few people that haven't heard "Close to you" or "Raindrops keep falling on my head" and not to forget the soul stirring "Walk on by". He is associated with wonderful singers like Dionne Warwick but its quite something to hear his music sung by The Pretenders or Elvis Costello. A great mix of Bacharach tracks either for the biggest fans or for those only familiar with the more famous tracks, if you fall into the latter category listen to "a house is not a home" if that doesn't move you into the fan category nothing will!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burt's 'The Look of Love' Album - How good is this!!, 2 April 2009
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
This album is nothing short of superb!! For the musician (like myself) it is the absolute pinnacle of how songs should be put together, and todays modern musicians should use this as a reference book. For the regular listener, this is sheer bliss that takes you back to a time when real singers sung real songs. Dusty Springfield's 'Look of Love' is fantastic, just check out how her voice melts into the sax solo near the end of the song (I almost weep whenever I hear it). From that to Tom Jones' booming 'What's New Pussycat', will leave you breathless. This album is a classic and a must buy for all music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The master of song, 10 Aug 2007
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
If you were around in the Sixties, it's hard not to feel nostalgic about many of the tunes here. You probably went to see 'Butch Cassidy' at the cinema, and so fell in love to 'Raindrops keep falling on my head'. You probably remember Cilla belting out 'Alfie'. You might have been utterly bewildered by 'Casino Royale' (first film version), but totally entranced by Dusty Springfield's sexy rendering of 'The Look of Love', perhaps the most perfect pop song of them all.

This 2CD collection, now out of print and replaced by another 2CD collection with much the same set of tracks, chronicles the career of a man (or men, if you include lyricist Hal David), whose success was almost totally defined by the Sixties. Thereafter, his songwriting skills seemed to go into decline, as evidenced by the vaguely chronological ordering of tracks here.

Nearly all of Bacharach's compositions are sing-along, but some of the arrangements and choice of lead instruments jar to the modern ear. Even some of the experimental rhythms would probably not be chosen by Bacharach today, if he were starting out again. We probably all have our favourite Bacharach singers -- for me, they are Franklin, Springfield, and Warwick -- and ones we liked rather less (Matt Monroe and Gene Pitney for me).

For me, until I got into rock at the end of the decade, the 1960s were defined by the three B's: Bacharach, the Beach Boys and the Beatles. As Mike Myers recognised for the Austin Powers films, Bacharach really was one of the greatest pop composers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When he's good, he's very, very good..., 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
... but when he's bad he can be embarrasing. Let's say straightaway that anyone interested in the development of modern popular music, or anyone who just enjoys a good tune, will enjoy this album. But, you'll have to have your finger poised near the 'skip' button.
On the plus side, pop music doesn't come much better than the contributions from Dionne Warwick, Aretha, Dusty etc. And, while Burt had a considerable fallow period from about 1970 onwards, his work with Elvis Costello proves he's still got it (whatever 'it' is).
On the minus side, there's Perry Como, Cilla Black and The Fifth Dimension, among others. Burt was on auto-pilot for these, and veered off into sugary kitsch (always a danger with his music). And I wonder whether he really wanted to record Alfie with our Cilla, because she murders the song. Burt, of course, is too much of a gentleman to criticise any of the artists he's worked with.
A final interesting thought - can you imagine ANY modern female singer agreeing to sing Wishin' and Hopin' - just listen to the lyrics. And no modern male singer could possibly sing Wives & Lovers without adding the 'I'm being ironic' disclaimer. How times have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further, 23 Sep 2010
By 
michael raes (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If there is anything you want as to very good music and songs ,look no further , because this 3cd box has it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burt Bacharach's Greatest Hits, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
I am a big fan of the songs written by Burt Bacharach/Hal David. Here in this collection we have a selection of Bacharach's most famous songs, performed by some of the most famous people to have performed them! It is a great collection of songs, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does music get any better than this?, 29 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection (Audio CD)
For a very long time I have loved this music and have collected quite a lot of it, but to see it all come together to celebrate the work of Burt Bacarach is really exciting. The tracks are well arranged and doen't fail to include all the best ones. A good buy for Burt fans but a better buy for those who have yet to discover these treasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection
The Look of Love - The Burt Bacharach Collection by Burt Bacharach (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews