Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest female singer ever
Probably the finest female artist of all time, this CD must be the bargain of all time! Patsy could sing absolutely anything and make it sound her own, but this collection, in superb sound, highlights her greatest hits and is REAL country music.Everyone should have at least one Patsy Cline CD in their collection. If you don't have any then this is the one to buy, and at a...
Published on 1 Sept. 2006 by D. Cooper

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Life Cut Tragically Short.
Patsy Cline's is a story cut tragically short. Too short, in fact, to be able to determine how her life and career would have developed. That she had a great voice is undeniable, although the sum of her recordings is rather limited given she was only thirty when she died.

The CD on review is her 'Essential Collection' one which contains just 18 numbers, but...
Published on 30 Oct. 2011 by Boanerges


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest female singer ever, 1 Sept. 2006
By 
D. Cooper "DavieC" (Barnet, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Probably the finest female artist of all time, this CD must be the bargain of all time! Patsy could sing absolutely anything and make it sound her own, but this collection, in superb sound, highlights her greatest hits and is REAL country music.Everyone should have at least one Patsy Cline CD in their collection. If you don't have any then this is the one to buy, and at a bargain price! Absolute magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be stupid, 16 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Like country, pop, heartbreaking voices? Don't buy a half of lager, buy this at this ridiculous price. If you don't purr with enjoyment you are personally invited to come and duff me up. The greatest bargain I've seen in many a long year. It's also genuwine country, not hand-me-down rubbish. And if you get the chance (difficult) see the biopic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never be forgotten, 19 Feb. 2010
By 
C. N. Windsor "chas windsor" (stamford lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
why is it that all the great singers get killed in air crashes and PATSY CLINE was one of the greatest. this c.d. is PATSY at her best showing her versatility in singing all types of songs some wellknown some not so wellknown but all sung beautifully. i recently bought a dvd about PATSY CLINE during her early days and although it is in black and white and a little jumpy it really gives you an insight into her days upto her untimely death.back to this c.d. at this price it must be the bargain of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Life Cut Tragically Short., 30 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Patsy Cline's is a story cut tragically short. Too short, in fact, to be able to determine how her life and career would have developed. That she had a great voice is undeniable, although the sum of her recordings is rather limited given she was only thirty when she died.

The CD on review is her 'Essential Collection' one which contains just 18 numbers, but does not include her great 'I Fall to Pieces' recording.

One knows she is described as a Country and Western singer (some describing her as the greatest), but one is not sure that that is the full story. This CD carries at least four so-called crossover songs, which leads one to believe that her singing style may well have fitted into almost any genre.

It is fair to say that three or four of the songs on this CD are not worthy of Patsy Cline's great voice, so poor are the lyrics, and it is felt she would have been better advised to have been directed to the work of the great lyricists and arrangers.

What a tragedy it was that she was lost to the world at such a young age, for one believes she would have gone on to truly great things.

Rest in Peace Patsy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IAWESOME, 19 Jan. 2012
By 
A.Neil Blair (Carlisle,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
If you like Patsy Cline this DVD IS a MUST ! What a totally awesome voice and such a wasted talent to die so young ! I think that she has the most haunting voice I have ever heard. There is not one bad track on this CD and I will NEVER get sick of playing it !! I have quite a few of Patsy's CD'S and DVD'S and this has got to be rated as one of if not the best !! Buy and enjoy....you WON'T regret it !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How can you go wrong?, 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
What can you say about Patsy Cline ? Fantastic voice, such a shame she didn't live to fulfil her undoubted potential as one of the leading C & W female singers.
This CD is a great purchase at £2.98 including postage !!
The reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it is missing 'Sweet Dreams' which has to be part of any 'Essential' compilation in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Country & Western, 15 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Bought this for my Dad who loves this era of Country music. He was thrilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy for Patsy, 22 May 2013
By 
H. Jones "Hellsbells" (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
A great value collection of Patsy's songs. I purchased this album for "Crazy" which is my favourite. Sound quality is good and even though Crazy is my best I still enjoy all the other titles. Her voice is very strong but enjoyable. A good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pure talent, 27 July 2011
By 
S. Shaw (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
Patsy's voice is so good, it brings a lump in your throat, she has something that no other singer (male or female) has ever done to me, I was nearly crying with emotion listening to this album. Beautiful if you appreciate talent, real pure talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still the choice of KARAOKE wannabes., 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Collection (Audio CD)
What voice, what a singer, what a sad loss. Maybe not the essential collection but it is essentiial to have Patsy Cline in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Collection
Essential Collection by Patsy Cline (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews