Customer Reviews


133 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The strongest collection of their hits
So many of their songs are well known, and not just to those who were raised on this music, but to people of all ages. Part of the reason may be that surf music is inextricably linked with the sixties - you won't find any modern equivalent.
Here you get the classic songs they wrote themselves - California girls, Fun fun fun, Good vibrations, Little deuce coupe, Help...
Published on 22 Mar 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok for the tunes
This is a good way to get all your favorite Beach Boys songs on one cd and fine if played just for the tunes. Unfortunatly the music sounds rather compressed and therefore disappoints if played on good equipment. It is all a little 'thin' and the likes of Good Vibrations and Heroes and Villains sound slightly missing in some of the tone and detail.
It is nevertheless...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by desmo


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The strongest collection of their hits, 22 Mar 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
So many of their songs are well known, and not just to those who were raised on this music, but to people of all ages. Part of the reason may be that surf music is inextricably linked with the sixties - you won't find any modern equivalent.
Here you get the classic songs they wrote themselves - California girls, Fun fun fun, Good vibrations, Little deuce coupe, Help me Rhonda, God only knows, Darlin', I get around and Wouldn't it be nice to name just a few - together with songs that they covered in their own unique way - Do you wanna dance, Then I kissed her, Sloop John B and Cotton fields.
There have been plenty of compilations of their music down the years and will be many more. Given the number of classic songs they recorded, picking just thirty inevitably means that some great songs get left out. Yet, this compilation is as good as any you are ever likely to find. For absolute perfection, I would have preferred In my room or Bluebirds over the mountain (perhaps the best two songs not included) to Caroline no, but this is a minor quibble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer in a CD, 7 Aug 2006
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
I was aware of the more popular Beach Boys songs, such as the fantastic "I get around" or the sombre "God only knows", though this CD is a real testament to the abilities of the band and the vast range of music that they could produce. It is easy to picture people cruising around on hot summers days with this music playing, whilst it is just as easy to picture people slow-dancing to some of the other songs.

The CD has a distinctly "summery" feel to it. I cannot help but smile to myself when I am listening to this music during the morning commute. What a real, real shame that bands today don't manage to produce music that is as softly brilliant as this. Somehow the music manages to make me feel so much younger and happier just listening to it. Now thats something pretty amazing to say isn't it?

On a technical aspect, since these songs have all been recorded some time ago, they have been superbly remastered and compare excellently to more recent songs that have found their way onto my MP3 player.

All over, a complete winner for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best Of the Beach Boys: 30 track of fun, fun, fun!, 13 May 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
The Beach Boys were a ground breaking, iconic group who came to define the California surfing lifestyle. With a unique sound of close harmony vocals mixed with great rocking backing music and a broad dash of boundary pushing experimentalism, they crafted album after album of catchy songs. With themes common to teenagers all over the world (women, cars, having fun) and a few more reflective tracks, there is something to appeal to everyone.

This disc collects 30 of their best tracks into a single disc compilation. It is probably the best way to get a comprehensive overview short of collecting all the original albums. With 30 rock'n'roll classics, full of foot stomping feel good music you can't really go wrong with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to a great band, 5 Jun 2005
By 
Jonathan Head (Halesowen, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
This compilation is the perfect start for any budding beach boys enthusiast or the casual listener who wants a few of the group's best tracks on one cd. It starts of with songs that will be mostly remembered today from their catalogue; the perfection of Good Vibrations to the sheer joy behind Wouldn't It Be Nice. The rest of the album is a sort of chart of the band's progress through time. The simplisitc surfing songs give way to the more complex orchestrations and harmonies of the 'hot rod' songs and of general californian life. We then come to a few selections from the pinnacle of their career, Pet Sounds, with any contribution from them being pure genius courtesy of Brian Wilson. Much space is also given to the unpopular but very creative 1967-1969 period. There are just two tracks from the post-1970 period however, one of them being the awful Kokomo. This is hugely disappointing from such a great time for the Beach Boys. The liner notes are also very sparse, with no useful information. Buy Pet Sounds and Sunflower with this, though, and you have the beginnings of a great Beach Boys catalogue for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok for the tunes, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
This is a good way to get all your favorite Beach Boys songs on one cd and fine if played just for the tunes. Unfortunatly the music sounds rather compressed and therefore disappoints if played on good equipment. It is all a little 'thin' and the likes of Good Vibrations and Heroes and Villains sound slightly missing in some of the tone and detail.
It is nevertheless a very cost effective way to get all those songs you love and remember, and hey ,you probably heard most of them on the radio in the first place anyway so why worry about the sound too much.
Play it in the car and you can hardly fail to enjoy the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Greatest Hits Collection, 31 July 2011
By 
Abbafan1972 (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
I used to have a Beach Boys compilation on vinyl called "20 Golden Greats" I think, but no longer have anything to play it on. So I wanted to buy myself another one on CD and this really fits the bill, it's a good and comprehensive track listing which includes all the Beach Boys songs that most people know. Sound quality is good and if you only buy one Beach Boys cd, then this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Genius of Brian Wilson, 24 Jun 2006
By 
Dennis Angeloni (Norwalk CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
This contains a solid collection of some of their best songs - and there was so many of them. No doubt of the genius of Brian Wilson, possibly one of the most creative artists in the studio. The Beach Boys are known for their well crafted songs with layered harmonies, longing melodies and clever lyrics. Brian and company had to change with the competitive landscape of the mid 60's and adapt to the complex times and his compositions reflect that, though most of this collection is from their earlier works. Their songs have a way of bringing you to a special place and seem almost ethereal. If I had to choose an all-star band, I would definitely have Brian Wilson in the studio for the production. He could bring it all together so well, despite his quirky ways. Don't Worry Baby and Caroline No are among their best songs, if not 2 of the finer songs that I've ever heard that really hold up aven after 40 years, with their beautiful arrangements and melancholy, yet somehow, hopeful yearnings. I Can Hear Music, Heroes and Villains, Wouldn't It Be Nice, Wild Honey, California Girls and Darlin' are all classic Beach Boys' songs. One note; 2 songs that I would have liked to see added to this which I sorely miss - The Warmth of the Sun and Surf's Up. These are 2 songs that are just too good to NOT be on the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unimitable, 14 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
Faultless harmonies, beautiful melodies, effective lyrics, rockers, ballads, weepies.
This album has it all, in spades. And then some.
Some may grumble over track choice, but this disc offers a fairly comprehensive and concise history of the East Coast outfit.
The Beach Boys were never what you could call "An Album Band" like the beatles (Pet Sounds excluded).
But their singles - Good Vibrations, I can Hear Music, Do it Again etc. - rank amongst the most heavenly pop of all time. This disc is a perfect showcase for most of them.
Purchase this, then Pet Sounds, then Surf's Up and it's all you'll ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 23 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
It's simply brilliant. Even if you don't like the Beach Boys, this song will acquaint you with some of the most recognisable songs ever recorded. It's about as wide a range of their songs as you'd want, the absolute classics like Good Vibrations, California Girls and God Only Knows, as well as unheralded gems like Break Away and Darlin'.
As good as anything thats ever been put onto a CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificant band, and a great introduction, 27 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Beach Boys (Audio CD)
I had of course always been aware of the Beach boys, but being a 17 year old brit, they were never top of my 'to listen list'. However I saw a rhcp cover of I get around,liked it, and decided to buy a complation of beach boy songs to take on my summer holiday. Needless to say they are now one of my favourite bands up there with the Ramones and the Beatles.
This compliation, as an introduction, is really good. It has all of the biggest hits. However going back to it now after hearing the likes of Pet sounds, sunflower and all summer long, I cant help but feel that some of the best songs are missing. The likes of 'Wendy', 'All summer Long', and later masterpeices like 'forever' are nowhere to be seen. But as an introduction, this is really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of The Beach Boys
The Very Best Of The Beach Boys by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews