Customer Reviews
604


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 28 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
With "604" Ladytron have managed to take the best of 80s synth-pop and make it sound fresh and modern. Tunes like "Discotrax" and "The way that I found you" with their thumping beats draw you in from the first time you listen to it, while "I'm with the pilots" and "Jet age" get better and better each time you play them. The lyrics are meaningful enough to avoid cheesiness, and place Ladytron's music in the upbeat alternative genre. However with "Paco!" it is clear that the band don't take themselves to seriously. The album is strong with a few instrumentals but enough excellent tracks to keep you listening all the way through. In ambition, I would say Ladytron are attempting to refresh the 80s sound in a similar way to Dubstar's first album "Disgraceful" (before they went down the toilet), with strong influences from Kraftwerk to the best aspects of The Human League or even New Order. Definitely try it; Ladytron could be the act that saves the British alternative scene from the miserable torpor it has sunk into...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one pop record this year..., 21 Jun. 2001
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
Derivative in the best sense of the word, this has rarely been out of my stereo since I bought it two months ago. It's a masterpiece of retro that also manages to sound very modern at the same time. Think Stereolab in pop mode. A lot of the songs have been released as singles, to criminal public neglect, but there are no fillers here - the album works as a whole brilliantly. "Disco Traxx" (not a single yet, but it should be) is a high point, and there are many others: "Paco" reinventing "Are You Being Served?", "Ladybird" sounding like Black Box Recorder meets Younger Younger 28s, "This Is Our Sound"'s double vocals, the way "Jet Age" takes off... All priceless. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being seduced by androids., 28 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
Ladytron are breathtaking. "604" is all early eighties futurism, deadpan cool and flawless pop sensibility. Songs like "Playgirl", "The Way That I Found You" & "Paco" have the kind of fiendish melodies that burn permanently into memory. If you need to categorise them, file them along with other groovey 80s revivalists Laptop, Zoot Woman & Future Bible Heroes, although I suspect Ladytron may be in a league of thier own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the 80s never ended, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
Ladytron's album could have been made in 1980 if the Human League had a really good day. Many of these bands using old analogue instruments can be a tad experimental, but 604 is full of perfect synth pop tunes that any fan of Pet Shop Boys/New Order et al will warm to immediately. Kraftwerk fans will notice that He Took Her to A Movie rips off The Model in the nicest possible way.
One of the best albums I've bought in a long time. So buy it, take it home put on some quasifuturistic silver clothes and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of 2001?, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 604 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
If you have never heard Ladytron before think of a female voiced Kraftwerk for the new millennium and you wont be far off. Having said that they are not just modern copyists and have their own musical and social agenda. Fantastically emotive and hugely catchy songs almost give lie their cynical outlook, like Stereolab although less psychedelic they deserve to be heard by a greater audience and they should be a must buy for anybody like myself who still loves and knows the true quality of VINYL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bliss with synths, 27 Feb. 2003
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
I love this album! I bought it about a year ago and sold it quickly after as i was down on money, but i put it on a mini disk so i could still enjoy its full glory.
The whole album has a onderfully retro yet futuristic feel about it, from the avid candid social commentry to the dancefloor chillers you cant beat this album.
Stand out tracks are too many to mention, although i particularly love Discotrax, He Took Her To A Movie and This Is Our Sound.
I first encountered their wonders on a compilation with Paco! on it, fell in love straight away.
addition to any ones collection. Full of wit and electronic wonder. Truly original, truly standout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GROUNDBREAKING DEBUT, 18 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
Groundbreaking....is the perfect word to describe the unforgetable debut ablbum by Ladytron. A few months ago I was lucky enouch to see them live as a support act for Franz Ferdinand in one of the Edinburgh festival concerts. When i first saw them i wasen't sure what to think but after I was bought their 604 album my opinion of them completely changed. The band have brought snynth-pop back to life and each song will stay in your head for days. Personal highlights of the album for are the the fun catchy tune "Paco" or the greatest electric record of our time, "playgirl" but each song will inspire you to buy an analogue synth and wont fail to make you dance around the room within a few minutes of the album being played. That may just be my opinion but for anyone who is an openminded music fan like myself, 604 would be money well spent, to end all i can say is,
BUY THIS ALBUM
DISSAPOINTMENT WILL NOT FOLLOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is their sound, 16 Sept. 2002
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
In 1979, the world was a different place. After a disasterous
'winter of discontent' during which the whole country seemed
to go on strike, the Tories came to power. Punk rock had
already peaked and people sought something else musically.
Sure, some of the former practioners of punk staggered on,
endlessly disappearing into their own micro-universes of
three-chord monotony. It mattered not. I had seen the new
way and it changed my life.
Gary Numan, Sparks, Ultravox and The Human League blew me
away. I'd never knowingly seen a synthesiser but soon
began to hear them and the sounds they produced. Synth
music entered a musical void and nothing would be the same
again. Twenty-three years on and we're still feeling the
fallout...
604 is a great album by a band who deserve to be huge but
probably won't be. Bands like Ladytron are one-offs and
thank God for them. The songs are tautly-written but with
flair and melodic nous far above your average bedroom synthesist
(myself included!). It's difficult to find a more perfect
modern pop song than Playgirl or The Way That I Found You.
They have a unique sound and very special.
Buy this album. You won't be sorry.
Al Ferrier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is what i am living for...., 24 Feb. 2001
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
this is for sure going to be one of the best cd's of 2001 ! i do not know where ladytron are coming from but to me its sounds like fantastic japanese pop (pizzicato 5). this cd is a mixture of the cardigans, pizzicato 5, blonde redhead and many more... 16 sweet pop tunes with a little twist that help you make your day a little more brighter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all synth lovers, 6 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 604 (Audio CD)
Unlike other bands in the current synth revival Ladytron manage to hold down their own unique style . Thumping drum patterns and synth bass combined with Kraftwerk style melodies and gothic electronic organ make for an infectious album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

604
604 by Ladytron (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews