Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Perfromance, Poor Video and Mediocre Audio
Great performances, particularly a number of solos and a superb final Pas de Deux. What a pity, therefore, that the quality of the VIDEO is poor to very poor. I must assume the DVD is merely a copy of an earlier video tape of the collection. In many instances, the audio is also sub-standard. If these quality issues were not present, I would certainly have awarded 5...
Published 17 months ago by Pete

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Baryshnikov choreography
Baryshnikov's choreography is very "jerky", swift, jittery, and overly acrobatic. He is not a good choreographer. It is also very repetitve. Harvey is fine but not great. She lacks a certain smooth elegance of line. The role of the cupid in the second act dream sequence is danced by a dancer with rather "ugly" proportions for the role. Male corps de ballet is grossly...
Published 10 months ago by Marcolorenzo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Perfromance, Poor Video and Mediocre Audio, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Pete "PS" (South Africa: Cape Town) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Great performances, particularly a number of solos and a superb final Pas de Deux. What a pity, therefore, that the quality of the VIDEO is poor to very poor. I must assume the DVD is merely a copy of an earlier video tape of the collection. In many instances, the audio is also sub-standard. If these quality issues were not present, I would certainly have awarded 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glamorous, 24 Mar. 2007
By 
Georgios Xenias (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This "live" performance from the Met, filmed in 1983, is one of the most glamorous productions of "Don Quixote" I have ever seen. The sets are impressive and the costumes dazzling, (though not always well made! I am referring to the ladies' tutus, which are held in place by some kind of stretch material, making them look like they are wearing diapers!) Overall, aesthetically I found this more pleasing than Nureyev's somewhat dated production.
This being BARYSHNIKOV's Don Quixote, the choreography was adapted to better suit his talents (and the abilities of his company.) This is common practice whenever a classic work is inserted into the repertory of a dance company, particularly if a superstar is present. All in all, I found the "adaptation" very good.
Baryshnikov is a stunning Basil. Great style, amazing leaps, etc. He also has a good sense of comedy, but... he lacks Nureyev's charisma. To me, he was impressive, but not adorable. Still, if you want to have some record of his dancing a complete role, this may be your best choice.
Harvey is a charming dancer. She is excellent whenever fast, briliant movement is required. In slow moments her balance seems a little precarious, but Kitri's part requires mostly fast, spectacular dancing, so what we get 90% of the time, is what she does best.
The corps-de-ballet are as good as could be expected for ABT at that time. They are neither the Kirov, nor the Paris Opera Ballet, but they have uniformity and their skills are clearly above average. Having recently watched several of their performances from the late 70s and early 80s, I found interesting the fact that they seemed to get better each year.
The rest of the solo dancers range from mediocre to excellent. However, the choreography allows even the less accomplished ones to shine, at least as comic characters. As for the truly "wooden" Toreador, he cuts such a dazzling figure, that, ladies at least, are not very likely to complain about his limited dancing abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Baryshnikov choreography, 11 Jun. 2014
By 
Marcolorenzo (Italy) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Baryshnikov's choreography is very "jerky", swift, jittery, and overly acrobatic. He is not a good choreographer. It is also very repetitve. Harvey is fine but not great. She lacks a certain smooth elegance of line. The role of the cupid in the second act dream sequence is danced by a dancer with rather "ugly" proportions for the role. Male corps de ballet is grossly lacking in technical precison and is rhythmically flawed. Overall very energetic, somewhat colourful but not a great performance. For better choices see Dutch National Ballet version, and the 1988 Kirov version. Recent Covent Garden Royal ballet performance is a very personal interpretation choreographed by the lead male dancer: Carlos Acosta and is performed more like the opera "Carmen" than like the Imperial Ballet Don Quixote.Minkus - Don Quichot [DVD] [2011]Don Quixote - Kirov Ballet - 1988Minkus: Don Quixote (Ballet) [Martin Yates, Carlos Acosta, Cast and Orchestra of the Royal Opera House] [DVD] [2014] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a treat!, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A joy to watch, The music is uplifting, and the choreography superb, costumes fab, Baryshnikov is spellbinding and Cynthia Harvey is enchanting as the heroine at the centre of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... stationed in New York for 2 years and then enjoyed her wonderful dancing when Anthony Dowell brought her back ..., 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I grew up with Cynthia Harvey when I Was stationed in New York for 2 years and then enjoyed her wonderful dancing when Anthony Dowell brought her back to the UK and the Royal Ballet. She is one of the best in the role I have ever seen with her speed and strength and poise and accuracy as well as fluidity. Dancing with the incomparable Barishnykov also enhances this taped recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great performance now on DVD, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This great performance was a treasured VHS tape. The DVD has a better quality picture and sound though limited by the 4:3 picture format. The dancing by the principals has rarely been matched for skill and technique. Note how Baryshnikov seems to hang in the air from time to time, in his refined and polished style of performance, matched by his partner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic!, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is an old favourite which I had on video so am now replacing a very worn copy with something more up to date. This ia a wonderful vehicle for the magical dancing of Mikhail Baryshnikov. It had everything, fabulous duets, eciting solos and was fun to watch.

This woud make a wondeful gift for any ballet lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lavish production, 2 Nov. 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
After La Fille Mal Gardee, Don Quixote was a shock. Talk about a lavish OTT production from the American Ballet
Theatre. Every thing looked so big and bright, the costumes and backgrounds superb in detail and design.
The music was wonderful, the dancing, in parts, was very stiff if not wooden and some of the 'happy crowd scenes'
Looked anything but with only the 2 Principal dancers ( Cynthia Harvey and Mikhail Baryshnikov )
looking as if they were enjoying themselves. In fact if it were not for the superb dancing of Harvey and ( especially )
Baryshnikov this production would not even rate the 4 stars I am giving it.
So, slightly disappointed - I will now try the third title - Giselle.
Of the DVD itself - the soundtrack was crisp and the picture clear, if not a bit bright in places
- I wonder is this has been transferred from NTSC.?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have always loved classical ballet and Don Quijote (Quixote) has always been ..., 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have always loved classical ballet and Don Quijote (Quixote) has always been my favorite ballet. This DVD is the best version of Don Quijote I have ever seen. I just love Mikhail Baryshnikov and Cynthia Harvey as Basil and Kitri!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ballet Don Quixote : Baryshnikov/Harvey, 17 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I love this video. The quality of the dancing and the music is, of course, perfect and the costumes are lovely.
The camera shots are well mastered with lots of close ups of facial expressions which is delightful, making you feel you are on stage among the dancers.
It comes with a 16 page booklet giving the cast and a list of the 32 bits of music.
A 2 page synopsis of the 3 acts is given in English, French, German, Spanish and Italian which is indeed useful for helping the not-really-ballet-experts to keep up with the plot.
The only thing I thought missing were some "extras" of behind the scene shots of the complex preparation and extremely hard work that must have gone into making this very pleasurable chef d'oeuvre.
I say a big Yes !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don Quixote [DVD] [2001]
Don Quixote [DVD] [2001] by American Ballet Theatre (DVD - 1998)
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews