Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANTLY FUNKY CLASSIC
this is snoop dogg when he was good, this is real gangsta rap, this album is laced with very catchy hooks and beats, and snnop dogg has a great flow, also good guest appearances from kurupt, lady of rage, daz, warren g and nate dogg, though this album is no great lyrical masterpiece and the lifestyle it projects is violent and sexist it was revolutionary for its time and...
Published on 1 Jan 2006 by chris cahil

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Michael, Where are you now?
In the early nineties, white boy slackers had the Nirvana/Pearl Jam Grunge thing, but there wasn't a vast amount for real bad boy black youth to go at. Hip Hop and Rap had been sanitised, homogenised and sorely needed a good kick up the backside, a dose of authenticity. And so it was that Michael Dalwood, a 23 year old nuclear medicines student at Loughborough University...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by Driza


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANTLY FUNKY CLASSIC, 1 Jan 2006
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
this is snoop dogg when he was good, this is real gangsta rap, this album is laced with very catchy hooks and beats, and snnop dogg has a great flow, also good guest appearances from kurupt, lady of rage, daz, warren g and nate dogg, though this album is no great lyrical masterpiece and the lifestyle it projects is violent and sexist it was revolutionary for its time and its just oen of those albums you can put in your car stereo and play the whole way through, this is a must have any rap fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beware of the dogg, cause hes good., 14 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
this is quite simply one of the best rap albums of all time, fact. dirty bass lines, thumping beats, catchy melodies, great lines all from a guy with a colonel sanders beard. with dr dre producing the whole album theres not one bad tune. its packed with classics like gin and juice, who am i, and the awesome aint no fun. if you get the chance to hear that song listen carefully to the lyrics of nate dogg opening up the track. he raps like a 50s lounge singer with lines dirtier than hugh hefner. if youre just getting into rap music and want to build up a good foundation of the best rap then doggystyle is the perfect start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now., 9 Oct 2003
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
"I've never heard a perfect album, but I'd like to make one."
A direct quote from Dr. Dre immediately before the sessions for this album began. Did he succeed in making a "perfect album"? Of course he did.
With Doggystyle, he took everything which made The Chronic a classic and improved on it. The main difference between the two is that Snoop Dogg does nearly all of the rapping and Dr. Dre focuses strictly on production. I won't claim not to like Dr. Dre's rhymes. I get a good laugh out of them sometimes. But Snoop Dogg is perfect for this kind of material. This production suits no-one better than him. So it's only fitting that Doggystyle became one of the top 20 greatest Hip-Hop albums ever.
Even though it came so soon after The Chronic, Dr. Dre seems to have improved on his production by 120%. There's not a bad beat on here. They're all good. From the hypnotic "Lodi Dodi", which pays homage to Slick Rick (and sounds great when stoned) to the laid-back party track "Doggy Dogg World", everything is perfect.
And Snoop Dogg is just Snoop Dogg. An unbelievable vocalist who can flow over Dr. Dre's production effortlessly and with considerable class.
A true masterpiece. Buy it immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time classic hip hop albums, 28 Nov 2007
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
Let me just say i'm a 27 yr old white guy who, at the tender age of 14 (1994! lol) listened to this and The Chronic (Dr Dre) while burning my first few doobies ;-p and even now i have both these cds in my collection!
But lemme go with Doggystyle for this one - yes (to the prudes) he says the "B word" and drops the "N bomb" alot but for god's sake if you're SO offended like that then the "Parental Advisory" sticker should tell you straight away this isn't for you! Anyway, to the review...

This is seriously Snoop at his best. The rhymes the man comes up with are just class. The music to the tunes is so funky it's just unreal. You will NEVER hear an album with such funk yet sooo gangsta - 50, Jay Z, Kanye etc could NEVER ever be this good - and i'm not hating at all - Snoop blazed the trail that these guys are tredding along today.

The collaborations are just sick! Even the intro track (after the 1st skit) with Lady of Rage is just incredible - the B line will destroy your speakers! And the tracks he didn't release are as good is not better than the singles - check out:

G Funk (Intro)
Serial Killa
Aint no fun
Gz and Hustlas

As i said yes he's sexist and raps about killing people but you just cannot deny the skill and talent on this album. For all you people that only heard of Snoop in the past few years you are definitely missing out by not owning this - and seriously people dont download it get the original!

And if you happen to be partial to the odd burn here and there ;-p you'll be in hip hop heaven with this. A definite 5 stars.

Lord
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best rap albums....ever, 3 Sep 2001
This review is from: Doggy Style (Audio CD)
not only is this snoop's best cd by far, its also one of my favourite rap albums ever.
the music is just so good (dre stands tall), and the tight verses and hooks by snoop and co make this an absolute gem.
classic songs: gin n juice, murder was the case, serial killer, whats my name, ain't no fun, doggy dogg world, gz and hustlaz.
thinking about a rap cd, get this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC-SNOOP COULD NEVER DO AN ALBUM AS GOOD AS THIS, 2 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
now, even though now snoop dogg is just another average rapper, is 93 he was the man, this album is a classic in every sense of the word, first off, the production is simply amazing, perhaps the best production on an indivual album of all time, all the beats are melodic g-funk, and every beat just makes you want to dance, thats whats so great about doggystyle, its so funky. snoops butter smooth flow and unbelievable wordplay is immacualte, this album also has extremely catchy choruses, and athough the lyrics may not be deep or meaningful, they are very catchy, and snoop actually has quite a good vocabulary on this, overall, this is a classic, and one of the best rap albums ever, if you dont have it, then you cant call yourself a hip hop head, peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiznit!, 20 Oct 2006
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
Forget the greatest hits - This is the Greatest Hits of Snoop D. Flowing like a waterfall - the beats and lyrics make this one of the greatest debuts of all time - no mistake about it. This is for the Gz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Classic, 14 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggystyle (Audio CD)
This has to be one of the best, if not the best, rap album of all time. I still love this album and even 12 years after its release nothing comes close. The production is absolute genious from Dr Dre and the raps are just stunning. After you listen to this album once all the way through you will fall in love with it because its amazing. Throughout Snoop's career he never comes close to this, if you have liked any other Snoop song then you need this album. Released in the prime of the Death Row era with Snoop and Dre at their best it has the perfect formula. Snoop's smooth lyrics just merge beautifully with the g funk beats. No point choosing a best song because the album is so good.
An essential for any music fan.
Don't be put off becasue it's 12 years old.
The greatest album of all time.
In my opinion better than The Chronic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How could you not want this album!, 6 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doggy Style (Audio CD)
This was one of the first albums, borrowed from my brother, that inspired me into the world of hiphop!i just love the style of snoopdogg and all the original tunes get you on your feet dancing and singing along.all words that are true and spoken from the heart of an experienced rapper.infact this album is so good i think you should buy it now, i would list my favourites from this album but i love them all so thats all you need to know really.this album is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rap Classic!, 27 July 2001
By 
DonRamon (NBG / Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doggy Style (Audio CD)
It's a Rap Classic, with the World-Hits "Who Am I? (What's My Name?)" and "Gin & Juice". It's the first No.1 Album from Death Row Records, and the rhymes are tight, Snoop Dogg at his best. It was his best Album, and the beginning of the West Coast's Delight. Today he's signed to Master P's No Limit Empire, and he's still a godfather of Gangsta Rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb142e084)

This product

Doggystyle
Doggystyle by Snoop Dogg (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews