Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2010
I don't care what anyone says, you can't beat the original Postman Pat series.
I prefer the man's voice doing all the characters' voices rather than the added female voice of later episodes.
The characters in the original series seemed more gentle and calm and quieter, and not so much manic rushing around as you get in today's Postman Pat with too many new characters as though the makers are trying to make it more 'modern' with lots of children and different ethnic groups in what looks like an obvious attempt to make it more 'politically correct'. - Not that there's anything wrong with different ethnic groups of course, but the original Postman Pat didn't have such a diversity probably because it was set (and still is meant to be) in a very small out of the way village or hamlet.
It's about time these original series were all put together on one DVD! I'd be one of the first to purchse if they did.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2003
My son, although only 19 months, is a huge fan (much like myself) of the old Postman Pat animations of the '80s so you can imagine his delight when he opened his presents on Christmas to find out he had a video with two all-new episodes of the classic show. I was wary at purchasing this at first, apprehensive that updating Postman Pat would lead to it losing the simplicity that made the Tv show such a favourite with young children. Happily though, all the original elements of Postman pat remain; the catchy theme tune; the lovely design of the village; the overriding sense of friendliness are all here in these new shows.
There have been some changes, however. For example, the animation has been greatly improved. The movement of the characters is much 'smoother' and the detail of the sets is more in-depth than before. As for storylines, there is a lot greater emphasis on Pat's homelife. For instance, there is loads of attention focused on Julian (Pat's son) and his friends. The plots of the two new episodes still retain that cosy, happy warm feeling and the modernisation that does occur is actually welcome (for example, the introduction of an Asian family to Greendale). Also, I'm glad to say, Jess is up to his old tricks.
Postman Pat is one of those rare shows for pre-schoolers that does not immediately bore adults thanks to it's wonderful animation, familiar characters and plot-lines ideal for a wet afternoon in front of the TV with the kids.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 June 2005
This video is definitely not just for Christmas! The two feature-length stories on here are wonderfully entertaining. Jess the Cat adds the usual dose of impish fun to the antics of Postman Pat and his friends as they re-discover the lost train, the Greendale Rocket, and welcome Santa incognito to Greendale after he seems to have mislaid his sleigh.
This is the most frequently requested video in our house still, and it's now the month of June!! Good stories, great characters, catchy music and enough going on to make it interesting again and again for both you and your pre-schoolers. A definite asset to your collection that your youngster will love. Buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2001
My children (aged 5,3 and 1)all love Postman Pat videos,audio tapes and books. The Very Best of Postman Pat may not quite be that (there are some very amusing moments in some stories not featured here), but it is certainly a good introduction to the world of Greendale. The stories give a rather picturesque view of rural English life, but are also informative and amusing. They are old fashioned in flavour - do not expect any fast action or visual gimmicks, but rather a minimal tale, catchy music, and a lot of gentle humour. My older children particularly enjoy the idiomatic language and such puns as (in Pat's Windy Day) "Time to BLOW home". Incidentally, my eldest child was recently in hospital and Postman Pat videos were by far and away the most popular choice amongst the young patients there.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
I bought this on video and DVD to appease my autistic son who had seen many trailers advertising it "out now on video and DVD".... well anything for a quiet life. I have to disagree with a previous review which complained that the plots were 'paper thin', there is actually quite a lot of plot compared to the old postman pats which, charming though they were, mainly focused on a different weather hazzard for each episode (its a bit windy, a tree's blown down etc). There are 2 good stories on this video/DVD and my son absolutely loves it -recommended for kids or fans of postman Pat of all ages
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Really enjoyed this video. Children never took their eyes off the TV whilst this was playing. First 3 episodes were fairly short but were funny and told a story. Last 2 episodes were longer and were and kept the children well entertained. Full of childhood innocence and appealing to adults too. Pity this isn't available on DVD. A must for anyone with young children and still has a VCR.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
Bought these for my autistic son. Used to have them when videos were popular. Then lost them. Having located a new vhs machine I needed a few things to watch. Pat is ideal. My son has fallen in love with the simple stories. So much more calming and innocent than some current child's offerings I really enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2000
My children love this - I only bought another, different one because the repetitive re-watching children like drove me crazy !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
great condition thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Kids love the video
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse