Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure game
This is an excellent game and is recommended to anyone who likes adventure games.
People have reported that the game is not compatible with Windows XP but it is only the installer that will not run properly. You can however get round this by running the installer in Windows 95 or 98 Compatibility mode (look it up in Windows help).
Published on 14 Aug. 2003 by joke_day

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh please
I really searched through all the games that would play on our old hardware and this seemed to have brilliant reviews, so I bought it for myself and my 14 year old daughter. I'm afraid that the people writing these reviews are basing them on nostalgia - they must have been very much younger than 14 when this game first came out. I'm sorry but it's very boring and seems to...
Published on 23 Jan. 2011 by Edgar A. Poe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great adventure game, 14 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is an excellent game and is recommended to anyone who likes adventure games.
People have reported that the game is not compatible with Windows XP but it is only the installer that will not run properly. You can however get round this by running the installer in Windows 95 or 98 Compatibility mode (look it up in Windows help).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+ Adventure Game, 11 Jun. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
We seem to take the phrase `Adventure Game' for granted these days. `Adventure' refers to a journey or quest, usually beyond what an average citizen in this world is likely, and lucky enough to experience.

With the whole world conquered, and only 1 in every couple of billion likely to shoot off into space, the only chance many of us have to reaching an adventure of our own is to follow the protagonists in the world of movies and computer games.

So when you open up you're newly bought `adventure game' only to find that it's a 1st person game requiring you to stalk lonely in a lowly lit mansion in the middle of nowhere, you may be disorientated as to why the game has been filed under this genre.

So what do publishers and gamers need to do to understand the true term of `adventure game'?

They play Broken Sword: The Shadow Of The Templers

George Stobbart, a young-professional American, is touring Europe. Stopping at a small café at the end of a quiet road in Paris on a beautiful sunny day, a clown enters the café, switches an old man's suitcase for an accordion that proceeds to exploding, destroying the café, killing the old man, and leaving nothing but a handful of obscure clues in its wake. As Stobbart picks himself up from the wreckage, he proclaims "the busy streets of Paris continue around me, but the explosion would change my life forever". It would be safe to say the story I was about to witness would change mine as well.

It quickly becomes apparent that the police are in no situation to be solving the case any time soon. And so Stobbart takes it upon himself to crack the case. Soon acquainted and aided with the hard-headed French freelance journalist Nico, Stobbart tracks the killer from various parts of the world, including Spain and Syria. And it soon becomes apparent that the man in the café's death is just a single jigsaw piece in the overall picture of an elaborate plot of something dating back to the historical Knights Templer centuries ago.

The game is followed by Stobbart's narration. Throughout, the dialog is mature, funny and clever. This is one of the best scripts you will ever come across in a game. Not once does it miss a beat or misplace. However, my only slight problem were the stereotypes pointed at various countries. The French are often seen obtuse, British visually humorous and Syrians slightly uncivilized. However, this isn't emphasised much and really they are there as a better indication that our hero is meeting exotic people from around the world.

Broken Sword is a cartoon graphic adventure. But before accusing Broken Sword of being more of a children's game, I can assure you this game, both in terms of narrative and visuals, is mature beyond that of, say, Monkey Island.

The great thing about cartoon animation in games of the mid - late 90's is their distinctive yet timeless quality. Despite pixilated around the edges, drawings are crisp, detailed, atmospheric and compliment the story and locations perfectly.

Throughout adventure game history, games before have felt secluded due to their lesser graphical engines. Games since Broken Sword have been restricting due to their narrative - even games such as Still Life. `Shadow of the Templers', however, has score after score after score of brightly lit, colourful, vibrant and spacious locations throughout that emphasis the sheer ambition of this game. That granted, there are a few occasions where the picture is just too detailed, and it takes a little pixel hunting to get to the exact spot of an item. However, Revolution games has pined an almost perfect balance of detail that neither relies on usable items lighting up on the screen like a sore thumb but not too obscure to find as to spend ages finding.

Characters blend in equally as well, characters may seem a little expressionless because of their small size, however, Stobbart' narration of various characters reactions are even better than visuals - "He gave me a cold, shocked stare as if I'd just farted at a funeral".

The music in Broken Sword perfectly fitted like a hand in a glove. Adventurous as it is film quality orchestra, violins, drums, synthesiser and flutes. The music is more a compliment to the game rather than standing out as separate. When either we, the gamer, or Stobbart is feeling anxiety, we are indicated it by the music. When action or the need to make pace occurs, we hear it in the rushing violin chords. Never dull, never depressing, there is a blissful eminence throughout. Music is minimalist at times, but the more so, the more rewarding it is.

The voice acting is superb throughout. There is always a feel of interaction, and never does a character feel offbeat, under or over performed. Characters that are meant to be sinister are made sinister, comical ones are comical, and etc.

Broken Sword is a landmark game in the adventure field. This is a quality game which is just as playable and enjoyable now as it was back then, and will be decades on. You will come back to this game again and again over time to revisit those beautiful landscapes and memorable characters. And even though it is not essential to play the first to play the others in the series, it is seriously advised.

Broken Sword is also a mammoth game to complete. Switching between two discs, this is everything epic a game of this ambition needs. This game is quite simply a must own for all adventure gamers, serious or humour.

A fine blend indeed!

[NOTE: This game works on some Windows XP machines but not others. Because of this, it may be required to download SCUMMVM in order to play - but it'll be worth it]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Adventure Game Classic, 24 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
This was the first adventure game I ever played on the PC and it still remains one of my favourites. You are George Stobbart, an American on holiday in Paris, who stumbles on a deep and gripping conspiracy-based plot involving, among other things - assassins in fancy dress, medieval artifacts and manuscripts and that old stalwart of adventure games, the Knights Templar (yes, this game predates Gabriel Knight 3 by a number of years). The cartoon style graphics are good and the characters can be genuinely amusing. There is a great score courtesy of Barrington Pheloung (of Inspector Morse fame) and hours of involving gameplay. I was really enamoured of this game, not least because I managed to complete it without resorting to a walkthrough. There may be fancier games on the market now, but in my opinion this still remains one of the finest adventure games ever made. Buy it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game but use compatibility mode to install if using XP, 27 Feb. 2002
By 
Kevin Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
[edit] Since this review was written it has been confirmed that you can install this using Windows 95 or 98 compatibility mode rather than needing the approach I used at the time or there has since been a patch to get around the problem for XP and later versions of Windows.

Original review:

This is a fantastic game, a gripping and involving adventure and good visuals (especially considering its age)

However, if you have Windows XP the install will not work (this is not on the box). I got around this by using a virtual machine and installing 98 into but this is rather a pain just to play a game.

Be warned but a classic adventure none the less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Sword RULEZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 22 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
My mate let me borrow this game and I thought it was going to be rubbish. I turned it on and ammediatly noticed I had already became addicted to the game. The writers of this game deserve a good thumbs up. I think any lover of Monkey Island (like me) would love this game and I strongly reccomend it!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ''Paris in the fall...'', 17 May 2011
By 
None3 (England, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
This is my favourite game of all time. I fell in love with Broken Sword when I was young, watching my older brother play it and couldn't wait to play it myself and I've been a huge fan ever since. Broken Sword is a classic point and click adventure game in 2d with captivating, well drawn backdrops and quirky characters. George Stobbart (two b's and one t!) is the main character and hero of the tale, he is an American on holiday in Paris when strange events begin to unfold after a bomb explosion at a cafe where he is sat outside one morning. George finds himself caught up in an adventure which sees him travelling the world to places such as Syria, Ireland, Scotland and Spain trying to unravel a Templar mystery! He teams up with French journalist Nico Collard who helps him on his quest for discovery. The game has an excellent, well written dialogue which both provides a good historical background to the plot and also has some hilarious moments that will make you smile. The combination of a dark and sometimes sinister storyline along with the atmospheric and stunning scenery works perfectly. There are moments where you will laugh aloud at some of George's comments and actions or find yourself shocked by a twist in the tale. I have played many point and click games over the years but this is still by far the best. Overall this is the perfect adventure game and is popular with people of all ages, it may be quite an old game now but this takes nothing away from it.
To finish with some wise words from George himself.. "I considered climbing the lamp post, but it wasn't going to shed any light on the affair."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Broken Sword Experience, 14 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
This was the first ever point and click game i played and i found it superb, to this day it is one of the best games i have ever bought.
The storyline is superb, pulling you slowly in as it gets darker and more mysterious.
Starting you in Paris you take control of an American tourist named George Stobbart, and you begin your exciting journey in search of a murderer dressed as a clown. Sounds unusual right? Just wait till it gets going!
The game will take you in and out of locations all around the world, and you wont want to stop playing it till the end.
The soundtrack, composed by Barrington Pheloung, is a deep atmospheric mood creating masterpeice, that pulls you into the locations and enviroments.
The graphics are animated by the same team who do Disneys cartoons, but this in no way dilutes the gameplay.
The game works on the same principal as games like Monkey Island, solving puzzles of varying difficulty with items and objects you have collected.
This is the first in the Broken Sword Trilogy and a must have for any adventure game lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Update, 17 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
I agree with all of the above and would just like to add that Broken Sword 1 & 2 are now supported by the free ScummVM engine, that lets you play classic adventure games (mostly the LucasArts games but also some others like Broken Sword) on recent platforms including Windows XP, Linux and Mac OS X.
So don't ever hesitate buying games like this one ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Sword, 16 Oct. 2004
By 
James Doughty "Jamin" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
What can I say about this game that hasn't already been said. This is one of the best Point and Click games I have ever played the locations you go to the music they all set up a brilliant game. The story is great as George Stobbart you are in Paris on vacation at a cafe relaxing when suddenly you notice one person walking with a brief case going into the cafe and then a person in a clown costume follow him in. A few seconds later the clown runs out there's an explosion and then thats where the adventure starts. Theres so many twists and turns you won't want to stop playing until you have discovered the real truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of art, 22 April 2010
By 
S. Pul "pul" (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) (Video Game)
This great game features beautiful artwork, clever sarcastic humor and the templar/assassin conspiracy story, popularized by Assassin's Creed.
Like all the best games of the genre, Shadow of Templars is 2D 3rd person with simple intuitive interface and (hand?) drawn environments.
Overall, one of the best games ever and definitely best point 'n' click game ever.

If you wish to play under windows newer than xp you'll need a program called scumVM.
Simply copy the contents of the cds to your hard drive and browse to that folder from scumVM.
(rename the files that have the same name on both cds. Example, ren ame sound from cd1 to sound1 and sound from cd2 to sound2 etc.)

Now go and enjoy this great game!

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD)
Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (PC CD) by Sold Out Software (Windows 95)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews