Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2002
I've had this game for about a year now and the charm has still not gone.I go for this type of game alot, you know the sort of "kill anything that moves" type of game. You have a choice of about 6 characters to begin with and unlock more through completing in-game challenges, usually collecting coins. The story line is very tacky but the action is constant. You may start pullin' out yer hair when you don't have enough crystals for the next level but you unlock more secrets that way......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2003
I bought this game for one reason - I spent hours and hours playing Gauntlet on the old Atari. I was not disappointed with this up-to-date version. The graphics are good (and in splendid 3D), with very interesting backgrounds and 'nifty' camera-work.
The playability is spot-on with the original. Moving round throwing swords, axes and potions at hordes of enemies, while trying to find the exit. Luckily there aren't hundreds of endless maze-like levels as in the original game; in fact each one is very different to the other. There are also more different types of hero to choose from, and thankfully the original Wizard, Elf, Warrior and Valkyrie are still there.
But it is the loyalty to the main aspects of the original game that makes this stand out. You still get "Welcome Green Warrior" in a booming voice when you start, or "Yellow Wizard Nowww Has Limited Invisibility". Fans of Gauntlet, buy this now!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2001
A classic game brought up to modern standards without losing any of its gameplay and entertainment. It's the same old game but now looks fantastic and has more characters, powerups and attacks. With character progression and a storyline, this game has a long playability, but its best feature is a 4-player frenzy of classic gaming.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2003
I bought this to get advantage first of all, of the 2 players mode. I bought it one month ago and I am still playing every night after work, along with my wife. The graphics are good, music sounds excellent to me, some problems with the scenario exist but I don't really matter. The conditions of entering into a new "world" are quite vague since none knows exactly what he should do to let him enter...
Also, for the next version it will be good to have some warnings if you left something behind instead of playing all the levels again in case that a new world can't be entered.
The experience of 2 playing together is really impressive and the gameplay is good.
If you are married take this one. It will help you to avoid bad situations since your wife will play probably with you. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2003
I bought this game because it is the up to date version of the first game i ever played in the arcade when i was younger and i was addicted to it. This newer verion is just as addictive as the bags under my eyes testify. I like the inclusion of gas clouds and death that stalks you when you steal something of his.Its also great for when a gruop of you are trying to get the food and power ups before each other, but this time you can get your own back and hit them!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2001
Once started, I couldn't stop playing. These days this is such a rare quality in a computer games. Even though it is the same game released on other platforms, this just makes it more polished and complete. There are thirteen levels all different and masterfully designed. Even though the basic types of monsters are always the same it never gets boring. This is a must-have for any PS2 collection. A real fun game, ideal to get rid of those aggressions stored up by lesser quality games...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2004
before i bought this game i had no friends. however thanks to the nice people who made this i now have one!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
quick delivery great classic game the sorceress character is so camp I swear her chest is getting bigger the more I play with her:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2005
THE STORY:
Through several diverse lands, you must take control of a powerful hero, defeat the terrible monsters and gather the missing Runestones.
WHAT'S GOOD:
This is quality retro gaming. Anyone who played the old Gauntlet arcade games 'back in the day' will instantly see the appeal as the same voice booms 'Welcome Red Dwarf!'. The various levels are beautifully designed, featuring every type of fantasy domain imaginable. The bosses are also well designed, ranging from a Chimaera to a Yeti and each having a weakness that can be exploited by finding the magical items hidden around the realms. This is the sort of game to get your mates playing when you've had a couple of beers.
WHAT'S BAD:
When playing on your own, retro soon wears off and you'll realise that regardless of how the enemies look, they're all just variations of the same one-hit or two-hit baddies you've been killing for the last dozen levels. The hidden characters are also a major disappointment when you discover that they too are simply repackaged versions, this time of the other playable characters.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
good quality, uber fast delivery, almost spooky lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)