Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ************************************************************
The 'different monster a week' episodes are long gone with this season. Individual episodes lack focus and the big story arcs are privileged: Buffy's mum, Dawn&Glory, the whole Spike/Buffy thing etc, which are all excellent attention-grabbers. The characters have grown up and have grown-up concerns - we never see them in class this time round and the fact that they're...
Published on 22 Jun 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as it could have been
As an enormous fan of Buffy, I have to give the new season five episodes a decent review. However, the new episodes are NOT as good as the old ones. In my view, the series has never been as good since Angel left. Season 4 was good, but the replacement for Angel- Riley is extremely annoying. In season 5, the main "baddie" is a demon-woman named Glory. She is...
Published on 27 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ************************************************************, 22 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
The 'different monster a week' episodes are long gone with this season. Individual episodes lack focus and the big story arcs are privileged: Buffy's mum, Dawn&Glory, the whole Spike/Buffy thing etc, which are all excellent attention-grabbers. The characters have grown up and have grown-up concerns - we never see them in class this time round and the fact that they're at Uni is almost irrelvent. As 'Buffy' has always had school/college/growing-up experiences as a backbone and the various demons are usually metaphors for these, season 5 has a different angle, a different 'feel', which was perhaps necessary to prevent the series becoming stale. It does seem to have lost a bit of sparkle though - the big promises of season4 are disappointingly brushed aside, i.e. Tara's 'big secret' is inexcusably dull. It does see the welcome departure of galoot Riley, who's never felt like he's a comfortable part of the Buffyverse - compare with Dawn's effortless joining of the crew: in just a few episodes you feel she's always been there. Willow is woefully underused, though Xander, Anya, Spike and Giles are given ample airtime, so you can't complain. There's only one episode on this box-set that represents quality Buffy and that's 'Fool for Love', the Spike-centred one. Worryingly, this season is the least funny to date - with all the po-faced, heart-wrenching misery that the writers delight in, the trademark Buffy humour seems to have got lost. Criticism aside, 'Buffy' is still intelligent, essential viewing and as fans will know, 'Buffy' on an off- day is still 134 times better than most of the stuff on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Buffinator, 15 Sep 2001
By 
J. Kelly - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
After the slight disappointment that was Season Four, Buffy the Vampire Slayer returns for its fifth, and possibly best season.
It's all change this time, and the first episode makes this clear. Buffy fights a famous vampire - Dracula, an idea that works and only smells slightly of fromage - Xander asserts, after a hilarious bug-eating phase, that he is no-one's butt-monkey, and a new cast member appears. Devoted fans know that's somethings up already.
Thankfully, it's all change for the good. Relationships become more and more complex; Riley-haters will watch with glee as his relationship with Buffy becomes strained; Spike fans will watch with even more glee as his relationship with Buffy changes; and those that thought Adam was a poor uber-bad guy after the amazing but quirky Mayor will be pleased with the new Glory. Sadly, though, the best news concerning Glory comes in the next boxed set.
There is, of course, much more than this. In fact, in order to properly review this season, we have to look at Season Four episodes, which darkly hinted at what was to come, ample evidence of Whedon's genius. Equal in terms of evidence is the bringing of gritty realism to this season; Buffy will need to fight powers that not even she can properly face, both supernatural and all-too-natural. At times, it does become more like a drama than a sci-fi/horror show, and I would be remiss if I didn't point out the distinct lacking of vampires in later episodes.
Save of course, Spike, who didn't enjoy much of the limelight in the previous season, save for his dastradly role in the closing episodes. Not so this time; Spike plays a greater and greater role in this season, coming to a head once again in the closing episodes, but fighting with a different motive this time around. Those who felt Spike needed more attention will like Fool For Love; it is, in effect, devoted to the Bleached Big Bad.
Riley is no more Mr Nice Guy either. In fact, while Spike sort of makes his way up into the good guy camp, Riley rather goes the other way. Whedon does, of course, make sure that everyone, including the fans, are deeply effected by this. Even I, an ardent opposer of Angel's replacement, was shocked at the culmination of Riley's sub-plot. It's heart-wrenching stuff people.
This boxed set does have a flaw, though. Once you watch it, you have to buy the next one. But trust me, you want to. The end to this season can be missed by no-one...
JK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This season is yet to disappoint which it won't, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Season five kick starts with the best opening episode yet. Buffy Vs Dracula is great,especially with Xanders jitteryness and Giles losing his shoe.More great episodes follow like The Replacemant (starring Nicholas Brendons twin brother Kelly),Family,Fool for Love (recommended for Spike fans) and Triangle Season five is yet to disappoint which hopefully it won't. In season five is much more revealing about each character and we see the characters continue to grow as adults.Even though they are known as the Scooby Gang they are becoming a family.Also we get to see a character leave the series which leaves us with a smile on our face.That's if you too find Riley a big pathetic annoying lug. When i first heard about Buffy having a little sister on the show i thought oh god they've spoilt it,but it's dealt with very well.Don't let it put you off the series.She is the main storyline in the show and most episodes leave you with a question about her and the bad guys of the season.Buy the box set as it is very hard to wait another week to find out what happens next and with a certains channels reputation with the shows schedule it's gonna be alot longer than a week for some episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuity is the Key, 8 Jan 2002
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Though some episodes (especially towards the end of the season) are less well structured than before, this is still a superlative season in which everything has been well thought out. There's barely a single plot hole to be found. Highly recommended episodes are all those penned by Whedon: the heartwarming 'Family', the lacerating 'The Body' (his most mature writing yet, and the best , if not the most enjoyable, episode of Buffy ever) and of course the finale, 'The Gift'. Willow's battle with Glory is also worth looking out for.
And there is one superb piece of continuity: did anyone else recognise Sandy, the vampire whom Riley picks up in Willy's Bar, in 'Family'? Go back to Season 3 episode 'Doppelgangland' and you'll see the human Sandy being bitten by none other than..Vamp Willow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Season Five Stormer, 6 Feb 2003
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Season Five kicks off with an adequate opener which would have been all the better if it had only been written by Joss Weedon. The Season truly picks up from there,though,with the advent of Buffy's little sister,Dawn. This sorts out who was paying attention in Season Four,where clues larger than Glory's ego were given us. If you don't believe me, check out "Last Year's Girl" (Season Four) where Buffy and Faith are making up the bed. "So much to do before your sister comes". Also the final episode of Season Four, also in that bedroom, where Tara tells Buffy to "be back before Dawn".
The tension that is built up in the second half of the season is a masterpiece of planning and creation,with the tear-jerker last episode leaving true Buffy fans in a state of shock. Joss Weedon at his magnificent best. Buy it. Keep it. Revisit it at regular intervals and see more each time than you have seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy's back on form, 14 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I don't think there are words to describe how amazing this set is! Personally I think that take any 11 Buffy episodes and put them in a box set and it will be worth 5 stars but 5 stars just don't cover it right now. This season immediately shows that the series has recovered from its 4th season, which despite a few better moments ("Hush","This Year's Girl"/"Who Are You,"Restless") was not what we'd come to expect from the show. It starts off with "Buffy vs Dracula" in which the Buffster meets the prince of darkness himself producing a far better episode than anyone had the right to expect. After that hilights include; "The Replacement" that two Xanders episode, "Family" where we get to find out Tara's secret, "Fool for Love" the first episode of the amazing Spike arc and Riley's final appearance in "Into the Woods".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling watch for avid Buffy fans, 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Each episode got better and better throughout the gift set. For avid Buffy fans this is gripping stuff, the coming of age of Willow and the gang facing the difficulties of "Glory" were heartbreaking at times to watch.
Bring on Season 6 already, I'm waiting with baited breath - still in shock from the finale - but can't wait to see what's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High five!, 17 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Season Five is finally here and it's worth the wait believe you me! These first eleven episodes are all gems. Starting off with the fairly run-of-the-mill but enjoyable spoof, 'Buffy Vs.Dracula' and ending with the hilarious Anya/Willow showcase 'Triangle', this box is just quality from start to end.
Season Five succeeds in bringing the gang back together and there's a more comfortable feel, as the core group of characters aren't as disjointed as they were in Season Four. There are also some quite exciting new additions including Dawn, Buffy's cute little sister (who ain't all she appears to be) who gets her perspective shown in 'Real Me'. Glory, the new villain, is bratty but billiant - think Cordy but evil.
As for the episodes, there are some intriguing developments. Spike's growing affection for the Slayer are focused upon in such episodes as 'Out Of My Mind' and 'Fool For Love'. The funniest episode you'll find on this box is 'The Replacement'. Proceedings are much more serious though rather than lighthearted. 'No Place Like Home' kicks the season's bold arc into action, 'Family' is a highly emotional Tara vehicle, 'Shadow' sees Buffy's mom making a grim discovery, while 'Listening To Fear' shows how the Summers' cope with this. 'Into The Woods' is a highlight, revolving around the imploding relationship between Riley and Buff.
Be a good Buffaholic and preorder this now! You'll only regret it if you don't - this has got to be one of the boldest, funniest, dramatic seasons of Buffy yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy just can't go wrong, 31 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Another bumper 11 episodes of Buffy. I counted down the days until this box set was released and I wasn't disappointed. After a not as brilliant as usual season 4 I was so happy to get back to Buffy as it was in Seasons 2 and 3. It's great to see Xander and Giles get more screentime, and James Marsters is just priceless as Spike. I can't wait for the next box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can it get much better?, 27 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This is the BEST boxset yet, though i expect the second half of season 5 might be even better. You'll be sorry if you miss out. There are so many suprises such as the arrival of Dawn (Buffy's little sis), the entrance of Glory,Spikes passion for Buffy and loads more! Xander learns about his dark side in "The Replacement." They have used Xander alot more this season and his character is getting more witty in every episode. I think Joss has made a good job of the relationship between Dawn and Buffy. The combat scenes have improved dramatically compared to the last seasons and I would recommend this box set to anyone! There are loads more main characters this season which fill the screens with their individual funny, witty, magical, forceful or loving comments. This is a season that you will regret missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998]
Buffy The Vampire Slayer - Season 5 (Box Set 1) [VHS] [1998] by Sarah Michelle Gellar (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: £0.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews