Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TRACEY ULLMAN MOVIE!
I'd purchased this DVD years ago - partly because it was so cheap at the time - and partly because it starred Hugh Grant whom I recall being quite into back then. However, though not a fan of Woody Allen, this is really a very funny film - but then most of the comedy in this movie is down to the great and multi-talented Tracey Ullman. (and I ain't just saying that...
Published on 18 April 2011 by FAMOUS NAME

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A minor Woody Allen effort made memorable by Elaine May
When you learn that Woody Allen made a film with Tracy Ullman as his leading lady, then you say to yourself that you would like to see that movie. But when you are finished watching "Small Time Crooks" the two people you are probably going to be talking about the most are Elaine May and Elaine Stritch, who pretty much steal every single scene in which they appear in this...
Published on 15 Jan 2004 by Lawrance M. Bernabo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT TRACEY ULLMAN MOVIE!, 18 April 2011
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I'd purchased this DVD years ago - partly because it was so cheap at the time - and partly because it starred Hugh Grant whom I recall being quite into back then. However, though not a fan of Woody Allen, this is really a very funny film - but then most of the comedy in this movie is down to the great and multi-talented Tracey Ullman. (and I ain't just saying that because she is of British Stock)

This is an hilarious movie about a small time crook (Allen) getting a great idea of renting a Pizza store so he and some of his old cell mates can drill a tunnel underneath the shop into the nearest Bank to rob! The Pizza store becomes a 'cookie' store and is 'fronted' by 'Frenchy' (Ullman) and is an unexpected success!

I hadn't seen this for years and had only seen it the once when my Partner chose it out of our collection to watch this evening - he'd never seen it, and I'd forgotten whether it was any good or not. We both couldn't stop laughing! It just goes to prove once again that you don't need big budgets or sophisticated scripts in order to create a real fun, entertaining and feel-good movie!

FIVE STARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A minor Woody Allen effort made memorable by Elaine May, 15 Jan 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
When you learn that Woody Allen made a film with Tracy Ullman as his leading lady, then you say to yourself that you would like to see that movie. But when you are finished watching "Small Time Crooks" the two people you are probably going to be talking about the most are Elaine May and Elaine Stritch, who pretty much steal every single scene in which they appear in this film. However, this makes sense, because "Small Town Crooks" is a film where about five minutes in your figure out what the twist is going to be, but then you discover that is going to be the first of several twists that keep you spinning around from start to finish in this film. Allen's nebish this time around is Ray Winkler, a former crook who conceives of a self-admittedly "brilliant" plan for robbing a bank, which requires his wife, the former exotic dancer "Frenchy" Fox, to open up a cookie store as a front while Ray and his bumbling buddies attempt to execute his master plan so he and Frenchy can go to Florida and live the good life that has so long elluded them.
"Small Town Crooks" is certainly a break from Woody Allen's usual fare in recent years, but it ends up being a second tier comedy for the writer-director (operationally define as a film you watch once and determine that is enough). I also came to the conclusion, given Allen's tendency to work improvisationally, that all of the great lines spouted by Elaine Mae came from her own fertile comedic mind. This does not take away from the disappointment of not seeing Ullman finally go long on the big screen, but it is certainly a source of solace. I also would not have minded seeing more of Allen's version of the gang that couldn't do nuttin' right, made up of actors Michael Rapaport, Tony Darrow, and John Lovitz. Still, "Small Time Crooks" does provide another example of Allen in an optimistic mood, albeit on a minor level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
absolutely hilarious, and another great Woody Allen classic. I don't know how he does it, but this is up there with the best. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and touching, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I love Woody Allen and this is one of my favourites. It is both very funny and touching at the same time. One of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen in a return to his earlier comic turns, 20 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Small Time Crooks is played purely for laughs. The film is low budget and only has a small number of characters. Of those, only Tracey Ullman, Hugh Grant and Allen himself are recognised film stars.
Based on an early draft of his first film, Take the Money and Run, Allen and screen wife Ullman play an inpoverished couple who decide it would be a good idea to take the lease of an old flower shop situated near aa bank so they can tunnel into the vault and steal the money. Unfortunately their plan doesn't work out because the cookie shop they open proves to be an enormous success. New found wealth and old criminal ideals clash with entertaining consequences!
The story is very feelgood with some silly gags. Unfortunately the acting is let down not only by Hugh Grant who can't act menacing but dare I say it, Allen himself, who looks like he is overdoing it. A Allen classic though and a very enjoyable watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Woody At His Best, 28 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Backed by a great cast including Tracy Ulman, comedy legend and genius Woody Allen gives us one of his funniest and most sparkling comedies in years. Sure, it's nothing profound and it's by no means a classic, but if you're looking for just pure fun that will take you away from life's troubles for a while, you can't do better than this hilarious crime caper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH SEEING, 23 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Not in woodys top 5 best films but it has its moments. This seems to be a film of two halfs the first half sees to have all the laughs and the second half is more serious. But then I would still recommend this film but I would try and get it as cheap as posible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a crook to a cookie franchise., 2 Dec 2012
This review is from: Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Small Time Crooks has a very good plot from beginning to end. It is however funniest in its first 30 mins where there is a larger cast that includes Jon Lovitz. The later part of the film continues the plot well but has less funny moments and relies solely on scenes with Woody Allen and Elaine May and Tracy ullman and Hugh Grant. Over all though a very funny script about a rags to riches relationship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ALL DOWN HILL FOR WOODY AFTER THIS, 23 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I`ve not seen a Woody Allen film since Vicky Cristina Barcelona and that one wasn`t as good as this one.Don`t get me wrong i`ve seen most of his films up to/including VCB and this is far from classic Woody but it is at least funny and i`ve seen it three times.To give it a fair rating i would have to say 3 1/2 stars,the story is slight but hey so was Sweet and Lowdown(his previous film).Recommended but not for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight latest from legendary auteur, 15 May 2001
By 
Mr. D. Woods "dwoods92" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Considering Woody's forays into darker drama in the nineties and late eighties, Small Time Crooks is a surprisngly lighter affair. It has its faults, not least that it is a weaker version of Take The Money and Run. Hugh Grant also seems out of place, failing to get to grips with Woody's style.
However, for what it lacks in substance, Small Time Crooks makes up for with a sense of fun and frivolity. Tracey Ullman in particular is great, with Allen providing typically wry support, although Jon Lovitz and Michael Rappaport are wasted. It won't win Woody Allen any new fans but established fanatics (like me !) will want to own this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000]
Small Time Crooks [DVD] [2000] by Woody Allen (DVD - 2002)
Used & New from: 7.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews