Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neil Finn Scores Anytime
Neil's new album 'One - Nil' is both a continuation of the experimentation of Try Whistling This and a harking back to the values and approaches of Crowded House.
Produced by Tchad Blake, a range of top notch musicians appear on the CD including Sheryl Crow, Wendy & Lisa, Jim Moginie and Jim Keltner. Despite Neil's recent stints at Largo there is no sign of any...
Published on 21 Mar. 2001 by Jim C

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can he ever match Together Alone?
We owe a lot to Neil Finn. Together Alone, the album he wrote and recorded with Crowded House in 1993, is arguably the greatest pop record ever made in the Southern Hemisphere. Indeed, that band's whole output was so strong that songs as fabulous as In My Command, with its thrilling counterpoints of abrasion and tenderness, and Nails in My Feet ("Your skin is like water...
Published on 11 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars GORGEOUS ALBUM, 3 May 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Nil (Audio CD)
I love this album because it hugs you like a warm coat. This is an album strong on beautiful harmonies and sweet melodies.

The song writing is strong, the vocals excellent and the overall feel is just fabulous.

This has to be one of my favourite Neil Finn albums - it's a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Nil (Ltd Edition) (Audio CD)
good condition quickly received fantastic album great songs in this album exspecially the climber, the first track actually the album is my favourite headphone listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quality cd, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Nil (Ltd Edition) (Audio CD)
A mixed album from the Crowded house songmeister with one outstanding track, the magnificent Last to know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Nil (Audio CD)
Great CD. Arrived quickly and well packaged. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Nil (MP3 Download)
Like it and its relaxing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Patchy., 16 April 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Nil (Audio CD)
I am a big Neil Finn fan and have been looking forward to hearing this,but despite listening to it a few times I just can`t get into it,sure there are some good tunes on here Wherever You Are and Driving Me Mad are classic Finn but I think the production lets this record down...it sounds like he`s singing in the bathtub..and the guitar sound is not quite upto his usual standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not one for you if you're new to neil finn, 1 Jun. 2005
By 
Mr. J. Chapman "thecolourfulsheep" (Arbuthnott, Aberdeenshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Nil (Audio CD)
I made the mistake that's so often made - I bought a live CD, before then buying a studio album expecting it to be about as good. Not surprisingly, I was disappointed.
Having said that, this CD is very good, with a lot of catchy or melodic tunes that stick in my head for hours afterwards (but in a good way!) - The Climber, Turn and Run, Last To Know and Driving Me Mad are all classic Neil Finn.
Having now bought 3 Neil Finn CDs this year, I've fast become a big fan of Neil Finn. However, I'd recommend anybody new to his music to buy the legendary 7 Worlds Collide live CD and/or DVD first - that really is Finn and his friends at their very, very best.
Finn fans, however, who haven't yet bought this album - buy it, it's one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing, 19 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: One Nil (Ltd Edition) (Audio CD)
So, three years on from the great if unexpected Try Whistling This and what do we get? er, well. After rushing down to the shops at 9am the day it was released it only mananaged to stay in my cd player for a few days before being left to gather dust. Try Whistling This managed about 6 months. The problem is that there is only 2 really standout tracks - Rest of the day off and the sublime Turn and Run, whilst the rest are either remarkably average or just plain awful, especially in the case of Anytime and Elastic Heart.
Its hard to tell what Finn was trying to acheive with this record, it sounds like he was trying to combine the harmonic bliss of Crowded House with the more experiemental (for Finn anyway) parts of Try Whistling This. Unfortunately most of it just is a mess. The production is cluttered, several songs are lyrically weak (for Neil Finn this is pretty much unforgivable) and, as my girlfriend said after she listened to it, all the songs sound exactly the same as each other....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the standard of Crowded House, 24 July 2002
This review is from: One Nil (Ltd Edition) (Audio CD)
I got this in the post today, and having heard it once, I can't help thinking I won't be bothering again for a while.
The voice is the same, but the "spark" that made you sing along to Crowded House tracks is sadly missing - a lot of the music in this just seems cluttered for no reason.
When I heard the first track (played through the CD on my computer) I thought I had a "protected" CD that was generating interference (monotone buzz in the background over the track)- I was surprised to find that it was supposed to be in there ! (it changes pitch if you bother to listen to it for long enough...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An organic substitute for Ritalin, 19 July 2008
By 
Stan "notesforyou" (Bishop's Stortford, Herts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Nil (Audio CD)
What is all the fuss about Neil Finn? This is easily one of the most average, dreary, mediocre records ever made, although it would be a very healthy, non-addictive alternative to sleeping pills. The music wafts round the room with all the substance of cigarette smoke and evaporates into nothingness. You could play this record a hundred times before anything sinks in, and long before then you will have given up the will to live. Neil Finn should get back with Crowded House as he does not seem much good without others putting input into his tunes. (The warning signs were there with Crowded House; only 'Don't Dream It's Over' and 'Weather With You' seem to be remembered these days). What a waste of time this record is! Someone should tell him to up a gear or two. One star seems a bit generous for this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Nil
One Nil by Neil Finn (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews