Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 September 2001
I belive that this is one of the best (if not the best!) live cd's I have ever heard. It really captures the sound of the beach boys and the songs sound just like the studio version. On "The Beach Boys Concert" you will find the beach boys sing some songs which were never recorded by them in the studio these include: Long Tall Texan, The Wanderer and Monster Mash. This album is actually taken from a few different concerts and feature Brian Wilson who stopped touring with the beach boys in the late 60's. The second album "Live In London" contains more of the beach boys songs like: Bluebirds Over The Mountain, Do It Again and Darlin'. However this album does not have Brian Wilson singing on it, but the songs still sound very good without Brian's vocals. If you are a fan of the beach boys then I would buy this cd straight away as it is well worth it!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2002
Some people don't like live albums, so the idea of the Beach Boys minus the studio genius of Brian must be paticluarily off-putting.
But here they are wrong.
The 1964 concert is frenetic, all guitar licks and screams. Is it a little cheesy? Yes, but when you hear the intro to 'Lets go tripping' you won't care.
The 1969 London concert is magnificent. The post-Smile songs sound much better than in their original form, more energized and less tinny. The classic stuff is beautiful, never overblown and performed with verve. 'Do it again' is a stormer.
The bonus tracks are almost worth the money on their own. The tender live version of 'Don't worry baby' sung by Brian is a triumph of simplicity.
Buy this record. Its better than Pet Sounds
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Both of these concerts are time capsules - capturing the Beach Boys at two different (early) stages in their career. It is interesting to see how the band has changed and developed over time.

Both shows are well recorded for their time with plenty of crowd noise to give the shows atmosphere. The performances are loaded with energy, although the banter is a little cheesy at times.

Good value 2 for 1 collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Great stuff. The '69 concert is the highlight. With all the talk about Brian Wilson and what a genius he was in the studio it's always easy to forget just how good a live act the Beach Boys were. I haven't heard a truly bad Beach Boys concert yet and this CD is one of the best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
I was so looking forward to this after the positive reviews, but and it is a big BUT, the screaming audience is just too much to bear. It is a shame as the music is fantastic. The screaming is so shrill it makes my ears bleed, it really is that bad. If anyone can recommend a live concert where the crowd is truly in the background then I would purchase this immediately.
The London concert has more muted screaming as a whole. I shall be only be playing this gig!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Been waiting for years for this on CD. Feels like we're there. Some of the songs in this show were the best versions ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Just replacing some old records that I cannot play any more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
good cd very enjoyable vintage beachboys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
Very good value for money. This album lets you hear the Beach Boys live, you can hear their talent through their music combined with the magic of wit and you can hear the appreciation of the fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
This CD is quite enjoyable, however it's NOT better than "Pet Sounds" as one reviewer commented earlier. The Beach Boys sound great on both of the original albums, however in my opinion the concert from London is the best. The first concert on this CD dates back to 1964 and was originally put together from performances from various gigs throughout 1964. When the Boys heard the tapes, however, they decided to re-record everything in the studio. hence, the only true live performance from 1964 on this set is bonus track "Don't Worry Baby." The rest of the songs were recorded in the studio and mixed in with the crowd noice. (Note to Capitol Records: I would personally love to see all of these songs released without the crowd noise. The same goes for the "Party" LP, which was done more or less the same way.) The "Live in London" recording is fantastic. Even without Brian Wilson the group sing beautifully. "God Only Knows" is the best track, in my opinion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)