Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy
Miami Vice is, without a doubt, the greatest TV detective series ever made and it is doubtful it will ever be surpassed. The pilot is probably one of the best ever, as everything is pretty much in place in this very first episode: The attitude, the music, the cars, the crocodile, the clothes, the boat, the women and the attitude. It is fast moving and highly recommended...
Published on 16 Jun. 2001 by joel.vandenbroek@btinternet.com

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Miami vice
I bought this for an ex of mine for xmas a couple of years ago and it is what it is. An 80's cop show with bad acting, awful plot lines and even worse dress sense but then what did I expect I'd never seen the show. Though I will admit the DVD has lasted longer than the muppet I bought it for teehee.
Published on 11 Dec. 2008 by Mrs. SL Mccarthy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classy, 16 Jun. 2001
This review is from: Miami Vice: Pilot/The Golden Triangle/The Golden Triangle Part 2 [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Miami Vice is, without a doubt, the greatest TV detective series ever made and it is doubtful it will ever be surpassed. The pilot is probably one of the best ever, as everything is pretty much in place in this very first episode: The attitude, the music, the cars, the crocodile, the clothes, the boat, the women and the attitude. It is fast moving and highly recommended. The only glaring absentee from the pilot is Lt. Castillo (Edward James Olmos), but he joined the series a little later. The Golden Triangle is perhaps not the best episode(s) to choose, but is a bit of a curate's egg as it was the only episode of the series written or co-written by Michael Mann. However, on the whole, it is definitely good to have this DVD. It would also be great if episodes from series 2 and 3 are released, because that it is when the show really got in to its stride. Highly recommended to all fans of the show and of slick cop shows generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Miami Vice on DVD at last - pure Heaven !, 29 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Miami Vice: Pilot/The Golden Triangle/The Golden Triangle Part 2 [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
This was easily the most stylish show ever on TV. The 2 feature length episodes on here are the PILOT episode and THE GOLDEN TRIANGLE. The Pilot episode used Phil Collins' hit IN THE AIR TONIGHT to classic effect, a pure Vice moment as the black Ferrari rolls through Miami at night. The Golden Triangle has Crockett and Tubbs posing as Hotel security to track down more crooks - more great music and Vice action. This DVD is highly recommended. I hope they release more of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eighties at its best, 12 Sept. 2000
By 
Aphex (8200 Århus N Denmark) - See all my reviews
Slick, sassy and uncut, this is your chance to (again) see the very, very first episode of, the by far most characteristic show of the eighties, Miami Vice.
Sonny Crockett and Ricardo Tubbs meet, dislike each other, but are subsequently forced to team up for a common purpose.
Ladies and gentlemen, if you remember the days of pastel colours, synthetic rhytm and bare feat in your espadrillos, get this gem. It was the birth of Miami Vice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Mann, 31 Dec. 2008
Sonny Crockett: "You've got to know the rules before you can break 'em. Otherwise, it's no fun."
Brenda his ex-wife: "How do you go from this tranquility to that violence?"
Sonny Crockett: "I usually take the Ferrari."
For years we in the UK were secretly laughing at Miami Vice. MV started out in 1984 and what did we have in 1984? Minder? The Professionals?
MV was brilliant, and it still is. Today in the UK we have Holby City and Hotel Babylon - quality stuff! Our American cousins have classics such as The Sopranos, Six feet Under.

Anyhoo, MV was the brainchild of the brillliant director Michael Mann, riding high on the back of the critical success of Manhunter and Thief. Miami Vice provided slick, stylish entertainment as it followed the criminal hunting of two cops. Sonny Crockett (Don Johnson) was the cool cop-on-the-edge; Ricardo Tubbs was smooth as silk.

What's most impressive about Miami Vice's feature-length pilot episode is how well it still holds up today. The show looks impressively glossy and well produced. It's so well put together, in fact, that even the Phil-Collins-packed soundtrack blends seamlessly into the whole package. Well directed and well acted (especially by Don Johnson, who was born to the part of raffish rogue), it's only let down by the weakness of a storyline designed primarily to introduce us to the characters. Nonetheless, the Miami Vice pilot remains an essential 80s archive piece, demonstrating the triumph of style over substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great...but leaves you wanting more, 19 July 2004
By 
Mr. S. R. Dhain "shekhardhain" (leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miami Vice: Pilot/The Golden Triangle/The Golden Triangle Part 2 [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
Don Johnson was at a peak in the mid 80's to early 90's because of this series. The plots are a little corny by today's standards, but the sheen and neon edges which are director MICHAEL MANN'S trademark are what really make this worth watching...again and again
the GOLDEN TRAINGLE episodes (although concluded here), were later followed up on in series 2 , with some stellar acting from Edward James Olsmos (LT CASTILLO). The plot?...watch and find out.
Only four stars because I'm waiting for the BOX SETS, which rumour has it should be here by the end of this year..
Can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most stylish and cool series., 27 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
In the 1980s this series was something brand new and incredible,the style,the cars,the attitude,the tough cool cops.My favourite series ever.Don Johnson played the part of Crockett perfectly and had a deep side to his thinking underneath the tough cop part,him and Tubbs really turned around Miamis crime.Brilliant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miami Vice: Pilot/The Golden Triangle/The Golden Triangle Part 2 [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
another look into the early 80s when teenagers dressed the fashion , strutted their stuff to the girls ,again only a double series sadly could have been more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good evening in!, 24 Jan. 2006
By 
Noodles (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miami Vice: Pilot/The Golden Triangle/The Golden Triangle Part 2 [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
I was too young to really enjoy miami vice when it came on tv but I am really glad i saw it on dvd. It is an exciting fast paced well scripted show with great production values. I hope the rest of the series comes out on dvd soon. As good as any action movie out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE WAIT, 13 Jun. 2001
This review is from: Miami Vice: Pilot/The Golden Triangle/The Golden Triangle Part 2 [DVD] [1985] (DVD)
17 YEARS AFTER ITS CONCEPTION,MIAMI VICE STILL REMAINS THE DIFINITIVE "COP" SHOW.NEVER BEFORE NOR SINCE HAS A TV SERIES COMBINED ALL THE ELEMENTS OF THE HOTTEST CARS,FASHION,GIRLS,AND BAD GUYS IN THE ONE FAST PACED PACKAGE.THIS DVD RELEASE ONLY HIGHLIGHTS JUST HOW AHEAD OF ITS TIME THIS GREAT SHOW REALLY WAS.LETS HOPE THAT THE REMAINDER OF THE SERIES IS EVENTUALLY RELEASED ON DVD IN THE NOT TOO DISTANT FUTURE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Nov. 2000
Back in the eighties i was too young to understand the story, and all i did was enjoy the cars and boats, but now i'm a little older and the story on these 2 episodes is just Great, they're 16 years old, and still up to date, so to anyone who missed the eighties, take a look at this !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews