Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars52
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2002
I have just recently seen this film being a great lover of all martial arts films and this is ranked very hightly as one of my all time martial art films. Jet Li plays a shaolin monk and shows the true style and technique of shaolin martial arts. Not many wires used in this film which always comes a bonus!
A young michelle Yeoh (crouching tiger hidden dragon) is also in the film giving an excellent display of martial arts.
This is must for any collector of this genre.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2004
Twin Warriors is a mix of classic shaolin folklore and modern kung fu action. This movie sees jet growing up in the shaolin temple until he is forced to leave with a childhood friend and find himself in the wide world with nothing but his kung fu skills. The two take different paths. Jet joining a group of rebels and becoming a Tai Chi master, the other rising through the ranks of the army to become a ruthless and vicious general. I wont say no more as i dont want to spoil it for viewers, death, destruction and satisfaction is guranteed.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2002
this is a must see for all jet li fans, one of the first i saw of his films, it is amazing the choerography is super.
Josephine Siao and Michelle Yeoh alongside jet li make the best partnership and dont forget Chin Sui Ho, i thought the two movies he stared in i have see were amazing.
the story is strong, its about chin-bo(chin sui ho) and junbao(jet li) they are long time friends, but when chinbo gets the chance to join the emperor and serve him as a fighter he leaves and junbao joins a group of military rebels.
the film is worth seeing for its amazing fight scenes like the fight between the two ladies in the restaurant. chin sui ho and jet li work perfectly along side each other, and the film has its moments of comedy. this is one of jet's best films alongside Once upon a time in china and fist of legend.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2003
A plot you can follow, stunning fights (both on the epic scale man to man and group fighting) good visuals, a virtuos young hero who learns to overcome his rival (sorry for the spoiler, but we all knew it would happen anyway)
... everything the genre always wanted to deliver.
I've seen most of Jet Li's films, and this is the best yet.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2005
Based in the days before firearms where martial arts skills gave you respect and status. This film is fantastic at demonstrating the physical and mental brilliance of Shaolin Kung Fu pupils. One scene show older martial arts students practising kung fu moves on their heads.
Junbao (jet li) grows up with Chinbao who is in a sense a bully. They becomce best friends due their continuous mischief making they are often punished with their punishment being for example kneeling on their knees for 3 hours or breaking concrete slabs on their heads. These punishments and Chinbao's spying on the grandmaster make Chinbao and Junbao superior to the other Shaolin Lohan Kung Fu students as is demonstrated in one scene where Junbao and Chinbao take on the whole class.
The film is dubbed in english which may be annoying for some martial arts enthusiasts. Also if you look closely enough you can spot the rope supporting the actors as they fly through the air. But put these problems aside and there s a fantastic film with a gripping inspiring story line where the art of Taijiquan (tai chi chuan), where the flow of chi is used as an alternative to force, defeats Shaolin Kung Fu where force is one of the four prime factors of the art.
To Summarise a brilliant film that any martial art enthusiast or otherwise should buy to appreciate skills and be inspired to develope their own skills
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2003
I remember when I first watched this film, and it became one of my favourite Jet Li flicks of all time. The original name for this title is "Tai-Chi Master" which Jet Li demonstrates with great precision.
Like most classical good vs. evil plots, Jet Li finds himself in this exact situation, except he is not seeking revenge for the death of his master. Instead he is out to stop the ruthless regime which his childhood, power-fame hungry friend joins.
The martial arts scenes are exquisite, with Jet Li, Michelle Yeoh & Chin Siu Ho combining to bring the audience explosive fight scenes.
After watching this, I looked at Tai Chi from another angle. This film must be watched, it is truly enjoyable and an entertaining flick. Fantastic!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
This film is excellent, I have it on dvd n i must have watch it 100 times.
It's excellent, Kung Fu then at the end Junbao (Jet Li) learns Tai Chi.
I would recommend any Jet Li or Martial Arts fans to buy this.... or anyone who loves a good fight movie!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2005
Twin Warriors is everything Crouching Tiger and Hero should and could have been.
Not taking itself too seriously TW mixes breathtaking action with subtle wirework (its not over the top like Crouching Tiger), great characters and even moments of humour.
Quite simply its a must see for any Kung Fu fan.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2012
This is an early 90's film and when the Golden Harvest logo came on I knew what to expect.
The fight scenes were over the top but nothing short of outstanding. If you dont like wire work then you wont like some of the fights. All fights are coreographed and executed to perfection as always.
The picture is good and clear and I had no problems with blocking or blurring etc. Some other reviews have said it wasnt very clear but I didnt find that to be the case.
The film however was let down by a poor audio transfer.
The sound was generally good but at times some of the sound effects were amplified drowning out whatever else was going on. This was mainly when things were broken or weapons clashed. As this is a martial arts film with a number of fight scenes it could get quite annoying. However, growing up on poor quality VHS martial arts films I managed to see past this flaw and enjoy the film.
If problems like this spoil your viewing then I would recommend not buying the film but wait to see if it gets a re-release with corrected audio. If like me you can switch off to it then I would say buy it. Its not the best film either of the stars has made but its good enough to warrant buying it in my opinion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2007
This is possibly the most enjoyable film in Jet Li's collection, with the exception of perhaps Fearless :) A nice story from kids in shaolin to a quest for power only to be stopped by Jet as he learns Tai Chi from the book of the Tao. A pretty hardcore jet fan, this is 1 of only 2 movies where i have seen him using great Tai Chi Kung Fu. This film is cool, you wont regret buying it (if you like this kinda stuff!!)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)