Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Close to My Heart
My parents went to see this movie on their first date and soon after blended two large families together, much in the same manner as the Beardsleys and Norths. I am extremely grateful to the tellers of this story for inspiring my parents to marry, thus giving me the best mother in the world.
Though this is a comedy, and bits of it are truly hilarious, it is not...
Published on 8 Sep 2005 by J. H. Sweet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soft comedy
It's good for after you've had a very heavy meal, and you just need to relax for a couple of hours. It's well written, but quite stereotypical of America in those days and easily forgettable.
Published on 11 July 2009 by I. M. Dias


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Close to My Heart, 8 Sep 2005
By 
J. H. Sweet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My parents went to see this movie on their first date and soon after blended two large families together, much in the same manner as the Beardsleys and Norths. I am extremely grateful to the tellers of this story for inspiring my parents to marry, thus giving me the best mother in the world.
Though this is a comedy, and bits of it are truly hilarious, it is not overdone and focuses well on important family issues. Lucille Ball is very much not Lucy in this film, and is the perfect blend of serious and funny. Many of the younger actors are very recognizable despite their youth including Tim Matheson and Tracy Nelson who, due to her smile and other facial features, is easy to spot as the approximately three-year-old Jermaine.
The dual narration, assembly line lunch making, industrial laundry chores, military-like logistics for bathroom sharing, and grocery shopping for an apparent army are all interestingly staged. The movie also includes a nice variety of settings including the crowded house, bar, aircraft carrier, clinic, navel base, school, commissary, and hospital.
This is an uplifting family story and a wonderful Christmastime feel-good movie, though it is fun to watch all year round.
J.H. Sweet, author of The Fairy Chronicles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a funny and realistic fifties family movie, 3 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Yours, Mine And Ours [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Add together Henry Fonda's manly good looks and Lucille Ball's dizzy femininity and you get a mixture of fun and reality that keeps you watching!
Both widowed,they meet up and eventually date only to find they have 18 kids between them.
The scene in a crowded club where both are trying to avoid the inevitable disclosure that they have an enormous family is very very funny ,and the film is heartwarming.
I enjoyed it very much indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie!, 30 Jan 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Helen North (Lucille Ball) is the recently widowed mother of eight children; Frank Beardsley (Henry Fonda) lost his wife and year ago and has ten kids. They meet when Frank comes in to the Air Force Base dispensary where Helen works as a nurse and start dating. They're both afraid to tell the other about their big families, for fear it will scare them off, but of course, it doesn't. The couple marries and settles into a big house with their eighteen children and soon there's one more on the way. Through all the ups and downs of blending two families, the parents are models of love, kindness, and respect.

This sounds like a fairy tale, but it's based on a true story, Helen North Beardsley's memoir, "Who Gets the Drumstick?" Fonda makes a handsome and wise dad and while Ball is stuck with some silly slapstick, she still comes off as a sincere and doting wife and mother. It's a wholesome, even inspiring family comedy that can be enjoyed by all ages. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Comedy About A Real Life Story, 22 Aug 2003
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yours, Mine And Ours [VHS] (VHS Tape)
YOURS, MINE AND OURS is a wacky comedy about the struggles of a second marriage for both a widow and a widower who together have a combined total of eighteen children. The new family struggles mightily to become a unified whole which is finally achieved with the arrival of a new baby to whom everybody is related. This film serves as a fine example of how two great actors can lift a basically good movie to unexpected heights with outstanding performances. Lucille Ball and Henry Fonda are certainly well cast. Among the many fine child actors in the cast Tim Matheson manages to stand out.
The film's credibility is enhanced by the fact that it is based on a true story. The real life heroine, Helen Beardsley, died three years ago in California at age seventy of Parkinson's disease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic from the late '60s, 16 May 2014
This is a sixties style American movie about two widowed people, each with a large family, who fall in love and decide – after much indecision – to get married. Trying to blend the two families together (eighteen children in all, aged eighteen down to about two) produces significant difficulties.

There’s some humour, and some touching moments, with a fairly predictable resolution. Nothing too deep, so it makes a pleasant evening’s viewing for a couple or family, without any great mental strain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 24 Nov 2011
By 
A. lacey (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you love the classic versions of modern films you will love this film. It is such a good laugh one to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yours ,mine and ours, 13 Oct 2011
quite amusing, I enjoyed this film. love henry fonda, and some cute kids too, lucille ball is her usual funny self
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars watch and enjoy!!!!, 10 Sep 2009
I LOVE this movie and would watch over and over again! it's funny, it's pro-life and pro real love! Great actors make it one of my favorites ever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Soft comedy, 11 July 2009
By 
I. M. Dias (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's good for after you've had a very heavy meal, and you just need to relax for a couple of hours. It's well written, but quite stereotypical of America in those days and easily forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Family Fun for all, 11 May 2009
By 
Faiza Shafeek "FaizaS" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this in DVD format as I could no longer play it in video format. This is a real feel good moviev for all the family, made in the early 80's but beautifully acted by all, Fonda and Ball as well as all the children. If you want to spend a couple of silly hours and feel good in the end then this movie is a must to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yours, Mine And Ours [VHS]
Yours, Mine And Ours [VHS] by Melville Shavelson (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: 2.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews