Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars creepy Carrie delivers
This movie has always stayed with me. Yes it's rather dated, and the effects compared to today's are lame, but still it conveys a certain level of genuine creepiness that, well, current horrors rarely deliver. I suppose this comes from the music, Brian de Palma's direction, and the focus on Carrie's relationship with her Christian fundamentalist mother, played wonderfully...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by Tim.T

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be a better Blu Ray edition
We all know the movie...it's great... already have the dvd so was expecting a litle more on the bluray, it's a bit grainy, seems they didn't restore a lot.
Published 2 months ago by Bruno Bernardo


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 18 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
i bought this for Carrie's 21st, i seen the film on telly it is a must, for horror watchers oh Carrie loved it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good adaptation, 21 April 2008
By 
L. Green "Feltano" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carrie [DVD] (DVD)
Barcode: 5050070000061

I'll start by saying that i am a massive Stephen King fan. I've read loads tons of his books over the years and he remains to this date my favourite author of all time. But Carrie was never one of my favourites of his. Despite it being one of his best known books, it just never fully clicked with me. Maybe it was because it was his first book and felt too 'raw'. Elements of it are extrmely strong though and the horrific reality of Carrie's tale is heartbreaking.

Thankfully, this film adaptation doesn't mess with the original novel too much and despite looking pretty dated the acting performances stand the test of time - Sissy Spacek as Carrie and Piper Laurie as her mother obviously standing centre stage. The relationship between them is played to perfection, the mother's religious values overbearing on the timid Carrie who as the film progresses gains confidence and eventually defies her mother by going to the school prom.

This progression in the lead character was always what i found most crucial to the story. The way that in the moment she finally gains social acceptance, everything is suddenly swept away is just heartbreaking, made even worse by the way sympathisers Tommy and the gym teacher die too.

John Travolta plays the 'bad guy' role with considerable ease and his girlfriend Chris is the perfect Queen-Bee, wrapping him round her finger to get her way in her torment of Carrie.

Looking at it as a whole, it is a film full of symbolism and themes, the startling finale where Carrie's mother turns against her own daughter the most evident while the red smattering of blood over Carrie's prom dress picks her out almost as the devil-incarnate, something Carrie's mother almost certainly sees her as.

This is a film that deals at great depth as to what it means to be human, to have those feelings which are so ingrained in our psyche and how we deal with them. This film takes King's book and treats it in a very respectful way, thankfully maintaining much of his style and for that i am thankful. It gave me a new outlook on Carrie as a story and as a cinema and literary classic, is well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't mess with her !!!, 29 Sep 2007
This review is from: Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
At first, this movie seems to be your typical high school film. We're introduced at once to Carrie (Sissy Spacek) and the hellish life that she lives. Everyone at school picks on her and make her life a living hell. As if that wasn't bad enough, she lives with her mother (Piper Laurie) who's a religious fanatic, thinks everything is a sin and regularly locks Carrie in the closet. You can't help but sympathize for her.

Unknown to everyone, however, Carrie has telekinetic powers. At first, her powers are really underplayed in the film. By the time the prom scene approaches though, they become more and more prominent. Carrie uses them against her mother while waiting for her prom date and then she uses them at the prom in a very destructive manner. The whole prom scene is both scary and sad. Sad because Carrie finally has her moment where it looks like she's finally been accepted only to have it all end in humiliation. And it's scary to see her powers come full circle in such a destructive and deadly manner. The scene where she slowly walks out of the gym as it burns is a really chilling moment.

While this is a scary movie that has earned its place as a horror classic, it's also a really sad movie as well. Carrie's life is miserable from the beginning right to the end. Watching Carrie kill all of her tormentors at the prom is every high school misfit's dream come true. Carrie has her revenge, but at what price? The DVD,perhaps...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Review Of Carrie, 25 Feb 2004
This review is from: Carrie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film is an excellent adaptation of the Stephen King classic. Sissy Spacek is brilliant as the bullied Carrie who uses her telekinetic powers as revenge on her peers.
De Palma should be commended for sticking so closely to the original text.
It is a chilling film that leaves you wondering if this telekinetic power can be used against you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars region not specified, 6 Nov 2010
By 
Michael Brooks (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Transaction ok, but the disc is american blu ray region and will not play in europe. First time I have come across this. My DVD players are region free but this doesn't apply to blu ray. Doesn't state in description about region coding so check you can play it before ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pictue, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrie [Blu-ray] [1976] (Blu-ray)
A wonderful film brought into the 21st century.
A lesson for people who want to know how to make a great film who dont have Millions to blow on special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, but emotional: Carrie is a 20th century classic, 12 July 2013
This review is from: Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Carrie is among the best of the Stephen King adaptations, and is a definitely a 20th century classic. While not a true horror film, Carrie still manages to be chilling, and connects with you emotionally in a way most films of the genre do not. I haven't read the book, but the film stands up so well on its own that I doubt I ever will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars carrie, 20 Dec 2004
This review is from: Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Carrie is an amazing film which sees the troubled teenager Carrie Whites high school problems, her crazy religous fanatic mother along with her ability to move things with her mind. A great film by Stephen King (as always) and i would recommend buying the book too. (from amazon of course!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 22 Aug 2005
This review is from: Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
This film is simply a classic, carrie has got it all, comedy romance, death and gore. Its the ultimate movie. The pigs blood scene is my favourite, Its so dramatic. At the end of the film you find yourself questioning why you watched it, but before long you realise, its a genuinely good film. One that will stick in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976] (DVD)
Was excellent first time around but is now very dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976]
Carrie (Special Edition) [DVD] [1976] by Brian De Palma (DVD - 2001)
10.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews