Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars160
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2014
I bought this DVD on behalf on my brother-in-law who raves about this type of film. He was happy with the price and the film arrived well packaged and in good time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Have seen this film before, arrived promptly, as described by seller, a very good film. would recommend, a great film to have in one's collection. A good buy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2003
This psycholoically thrilling ride of a horror movie will have you in tears, laughing and feeling sorry for carrie.
Carrie is an isolated teenager, depressed and lacking self confidence. She has no friends and only THIS is how she releases her awesome power of telekinses. This is horror has emotion, fun and a great plot. This is one of the best Stephen king films and i urge you to see it if you haven't already. Sissy Spaeck is perfect for the part, as i think no one else could portray such vunrableity as her. This is worth every star i give it as i think anyone will be able to enjoy this genius movie.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Carrie isn't a standard horror movie. It isn't laced with grotesque monsters, jumt scares, or ominous corridors, ghostly figures lurking and all. Instead, Carrie follows the oppressed life of a teenager, daughter to an almost psychotically religious mother, who happens to have telekinetic powers. The whole movie goes into details of Carrie's life, such as her being bullied at school, and locked away to repent her 'sins'. It all leads up to explosive ending. A must watch for any horror, thriller, or otherwise movie fan in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
Fantastic cult movie worthy of Steel pack edition very good art work and a great price also .The movie is obviously a bit dated but still a classic and the transfer to blu ray is very good and is not grainy .The only difference between this steel pack and a steelbook is the spine on the steel pack is hinged and maybe a wee bit heavier otherwise same size .This classic movie should be part of your collection if you are serious collector, hope this review helps and thank you Amazon excellent sevice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
The DVD arrived a day earlier than expected. I would recommend buying the "Special Edition" version if you can because the cover image is better than the new one that is on the October 2013 DVD re-issue. The "Special Edition" also has several very good extras, including a "making of" feature that has interviews with nearly all of the main characters. The film is excellent as well with terrific performances from the cast, particularly Sissy Spacek. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Carrie is a classic; there's no other way to put it. BUT, it's very much a film of it's period. Everything about it screams '70s; which is fine as long as you don't go in expecting some modern masterpiece. Carrie was the first truly decent Stephen King adaptation and has stood the test of time - largely due to it's very talent cast of unknowns (at the time). Also, Director Brian DePalma takes a few risks and they really pay off - giving the film a look and feel that is still creepy today. But, Carrie is not scary. If anything, it's more tragedy than horror. Personally, it's Carrie's plight that is most moving and deserving of attention.

Now, all that said (make up your own minds about the films as everyone's taste is different) onto the blu-ray. Is it worth an upgrade if you already own the DVD? Personally, I would say YES; but with some reservations.

Carrie has always had that vaseline-smeared-lens effect that gives the film a hazy, almost dreamlike feel. It's also always been a bit grainy, which had nothing to do with the condition of the print and everything to do with the style in which it was filmed.

The blu-ray does a lot to improve the print. It's cleaner definitely; but the colour palette is a little off. Everyone looks like they're blushing furiously; but a little colour adjustment on my TV and that was rectified. The opening scenes probably look worse than the rest of the film, or it was simply that I got used to it as I watched. By the time the film finished I was very pleased to have bought the disc. I'm not sure they will ever be able to make the film look better without making everyone in it look like a waxwork dummy. Too much noise reduction would kill the intended look of the film. So, if you don't expect to be blown away by a restoration, and you're a fan of the film, I think you will be pleased with the print on this disc.

The sound is the biggest improvement - to a DTS-HD Master 5.1 track. But, even that isn't overly impressive. Carrie just isn't the type of film that utilises a surround system. Most of the sound is still in the centre speakers - but it IS a huge improvement over the DVD.

Lastly, the extras. Unlike my DVD version (not sure about other releases) this disc does have some extras. A trailer for the soon-to-be-released remake starring Chloe Grace Moretz (which looks pretty good), a Trailer for this version, and a couple of featurettes.

All in all, if you're a fan of the film then I would recommend that you buy this disc - maybe just wait for it to be in a 3for2 or other type deal.

Watched/tested on a 55" Plasma with a Yamaha sound bar.

EDIT 13/10/2013: As someone has expressed an interest I am amending my review to include audio/subtitle information.

Audio tracks:
English DTS HD-Master 5.1
English DD Mono
French DD 5.1
Spanish Mono

Subtitles: Chinese, English, French, Korean and Spanish
66 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2012
***Warning***
Product might not contain on-disc essay extra or the collectible booklet!
***Warning***

With that said I am highly impressed that a special version of Carrie even exists, now I have not checked my copy yet but supposedly it's an extended cut or directors cut that adds extra scenes that the theatrical did not have.
Also has the extras that Amazon has listed, apart from my warning above of possible missing content so I advise Amazon that the extras list should be revised as I don't have the 8 page liner booklet which you can find mentioned in other reviews of the same product.

Overall I am pretty satisfied at the purchase and would highly recommend the film to anybody who loves horror films :)
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
a brilliant film , a classic of the horror genre sissy spacek is wonderful the 1970s certainly made its share of legendary cult classics , with the exorcist , texas chainsaw massacre , and this is right up there with the best of them brian de palma is one of my favourite directors of all time and this film is a key part of his c.v watch this and you won't be disappointed .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
THE TRANSFER OF THIS FILM TO BLU RAY IS VERY GOOD INDEED AND MADE IT A VERY ENJOYABLE TO WATCH.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)