Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars south park series 1: hilarious south park!
i ordered this dvd package about 3 weeks ago and i have already watched every single episode at least once! every episode is hilarious (crude) but hilarious. i would not reccomend this to all people but if u have a very wide range of humour and you are willing to let youself enjoy these episodes, it could well be your favourite television series on tv. my personal...
Published on 5 Aug 2003 by janine_rafferty

versus
35 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars South Park Series 1, Ultimate Review
I have always been a fan of South Park, and since I have seen them for sale on Amazon, I simply could not resist, and I was not dissapointed. This product is a Box Set of the first 3 volumes, which make up the first series.
The 13 episodes are:
*Disc 1*
Cartman Gets An Anal Probe (Piolet episode)
Volcano
Weight Gain 4000
Big Gay Al's Big Gay...
Published on 2 July 2004 by M. Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars South Park Series 1, Ultimate Review, 2 July 2004
By 
M. Hall "darkspeedz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been a fan of South Park, and since I have seen them for sale on Amazon, I simply could not resist, and I was not dissapointed. This product is a Box Set of the first 3 volumes, which make up the first series.
The 13 episodes are:
*Disc 1*
Cartman Gets An Anal Probe (Piolet episode)
Volcano
Weight Gain 4000
Big Gay Al's Big Gay Boat Ride
*Disc 2*
An Elephant Makes Love To A Pig
Death
Pinkeye (Halloween Special)
Tom's Rhinoplasty
*Disc 3*
Starvin' Marvin (Thanks Giving Special)
Mecha-Streisand
Mr Hanky The Christmas Special (Christmas Special)
Damien
Cartman's Mom Is A Dirty Slut
All Discs contain both English episodes, and Dubbed French.
Special Features:
Chaptering
Series 1 Trailer
Exclusive Introductions
The exclusive inttroductions look like they were only put in to extend the total length of each episode, which would have normally been done by the adverts. These are really poor, which the creators of South Park (Matt Stone & Tray Parker) basicaly repeat what was said about the previous episode, in different words. Then give the episode away by telling you exactlly what is going to happen
Overview:
This Box Set is a Bargain at under 20 (around 50 in shops!). Very funny and original story lines. But do yourself a favor, and skip the Matt Stone & Tray Parker episode introductions.
M J Hall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars south park series 1: hilarious south park!, 5 Aug 2003
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i ordered this dvd package about 3 weeks ago and i have already watched every single episode at least once! every episode is hilarious (crude) but hilarious. i would not reccomend this to all people but if u have a very wide range of humour and you are willing to let youself enjoy these episodes, it could well be your favourite television series on tv. my personal favourite episodes are, cartman gets and anal probe, volcano, damien, pinkeye,and death. the picture quality is very good except for the first episode which generally has shadows behind the characters. but this clears up well after that episode. the sound quality is quite good, all in all making this a package well deserving of your money. watch it once, and watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best south park series, 28 May 2005
By 
K. Whelan "Kevin" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The first series of south park is by far the best. I have watched all 125 episodes and can tell you that the newer the series the worse it gets. The first series relies more on humour than series 2-8. The newer the series the ruder and sicker the humour gets. If you want to buy any south park series, BUY THIS ONE, YOU WON'T REGRET IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good (but not great) debut season, 18 Jun 2003
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
South Park is genius. There is no doubt about that. Well, there is some doubt, as many still believe that the whole series is based on swearing and toilet humour. The humour is actually mostly character-based, even in this series, upon which most of those misconceptions are based.
It starts off well enough, with "Cartman Gets an Anal Probe", probably one of the best episodes in the boxed set. It kind of goes downhill from there, however, the reason being that the following series are so damn good. South Park's habit of satirising faddish aspects of modern life and political correctness gone mad is only present in "Death", in which the parents of South Park's children go as far as mass suicide in an attempt to end toilet humour.
So, in short, this series is nowhere near as good as the others, but still worth buying, if not for completedness but for the scarily funny introductions to the episodes by Trey Parker and Matt Stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just adding some more info, 14 April 2005
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
OK, everything I can say about the series is redundant -- 5 stars!
I'd just like to add some info that may be important for foreign, non-native English speaking buyers:
a) the boxed set I bought from Amazon.co.uk is actually coded not only for Region 2, but also for Regions 3, 4, 5 and 6;
b) the DVD has both English and French audion, and both French and Duth subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great starter series...but SP generally just gets better., 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
South Park Series I is excellent: with Cartman and his anal probe, as well as some other classics. The ending episode that leaves you wondering who Cartman's father is is also well done (although drawn out in Series II).
SP Series I is overall very good, being better than Series II, but doesn't really touch Series III and IV. The characters are still to be developed, and their voices sound different...
Still, you can't really go wrong with Stan, Kyle, Cartman and Kenny, can you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!, 8 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased Series 1 of South Park a few months ago and found myself glued to the screen from episode 1 right through to 13. This box set contains some classic South Park episodes such as, Cartman Gets An Anal Probe, Pinkeye, Cartmans Mom Is A Dirty Slut and many more. The picture cuality is great, though in the first episode there are some shadows behind the characters but that dissapeares in the following episodes. This set is well worth your money, even if you have only seen one episode of South Park i highly reckomend you buy this set. South Park is one of those classic series that will keep on going for years to come, and will keep you laughing for days! Thanx!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, speedy mail-out, 10 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The box set arrived quickly, and was in good condition - as described on the listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Series of South Park, 1 Aug 2006
By 
David P. "A Reviewer" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Trey Parker and Matt Stone are legend. They have a wicked sense of humour and if you ask me, their sense of humour gets better and better. The animation of the first series isn't as good as the animations from the other series, but the first series of South Park is still excellent.

The first series is great (some of the later series is better in my opinion). It features some great characters. Their teacher Mr Garrison is my favourite character.

Amongst the great characters is Officer Barbrady (so incredibly stupid. One example is in "Weight Gain 4000"), Chef (based on Barry White), the Mayor (again stupid), the genetic engineer Alfonz Mephesto, the school counciler Mr Mackey (has a large head and always ends sentences with "M'Kay") and the hunters Ned and Jimbo.

Trey and Matt voice nearly every character, except Chef, the female characters and some occassional celebrity characters. The funniest thing about this (in my opinion) is the way Trey and Matt make fun of celebrities, such as Barbara Streisand and Robert Smith (they make fun of him in a good way). It's not just celebrities they make fun of, it can be anything, even Satan and Jesus.

The main characters in South Park is four [...] school boys named Stan Marsh, Kyle Broflovski, Eric Cartman (he's always refered to as Cartman) and Kenny Mccormick.

Stan is an ordinary boy in South Park. He has a girlfiend named Wendy (she isn't a main character, but more of a background one. In "Tom's Rhinoplasty" she reveals an evil side to herself), and his dad Randy is the South Park geologist. He also has a [...] sister named Shelly, who always beats the crap out of him.

Kyle is (apart from his baby brother Ike) the only Jewish kid in South Park. Kyle is also Stan's best friend. His dad Gerald is a lawyer and his mother is very strict.

Kenny is a poor kid in South Park, and very frequently (12 out of 13 episodes in this series) gets killed of, mostly in nasty ways. He also knows the meaning of things no kid at that age should know.

Cartman is a fat kid, who has a bad temper on him and can be very nasty and selfish. He can be nasty to Kyle in particular. He has a habbit of being nasty to Kyle for being Jewish (he mostly does this in later series).

This series has 13 classic episodes which are these...Cartman Gets An [...] Probe, Volcano, Weight Gain 4000, Big [..] Al's Big [...] Boat Ride, An Elephant Makes Love to a Pig, Death, Pinkeye, Tom's Rhinoplasty, Starvin' Marvin, Mecha Streisand, Mr Hankey The Christmas Poo, Damien and Cartman's Mom is a Dirty [...]. Here's a list of my favourite episodes...

Weight Gain 4000 - Cartman unfairly wins an essay contest and piles on loads more weight, while attempting to get into shape. Wendy discovers that Mr Garrison plans to assasinate the prize giver.

An Elephant Makes Love to a Pig - The boys attempt to make a pop belly elephant by cross-breedding Cartman's pig witn Kyle's elephant.

Death - The adults go on a protest to ban the Terrance and Phillip show. Stan's granddad persuades Stan to take his life, but Death himself turns up, but he isn't after Stan's granddad.

Pinkeye - Kenny is killed and rushed to the morgue. That evening he is revived as a zombie and soon creates an army of zombies, that begin to overtake South Park.

Tom's Rhinoplasty - Mr Garrison temporarily leaves to get a nose job, and his new nose (face actually) makes him [...] irresistable to the women. Wendy takes an immediate disliking to the substitute teacher when all the boys (Stan included) fall for her.

Starvin' Marvin - The boys are accidentally given a starving Ethiopian instead of a sportswatch. Mephesto creates some Turkeys which go on a rampage around South Park.

Damien - A new boy joins the class, but being Satan's son doesn't prevent bullying. Satan challenges Jesus to a fight, and Jesus is left feeling forsaken when he learns that the whole town has placed their money on Satan winning the fight.

Cartman's Mom is a Dirty [...] - Cartman attempts to find out who is father is, only to conclude his dad can be anyone in South Park.

Great series, ending with the question "who is Eric Cartman's father?" The first twelve episodes begin with an interview with Trey and Matt themselves (the stuff they come out with can be hillarious). Just sit back, relax and enjoy 13 classic episodes of South Park. This will keep you laughing till the end and once you watch this, you'll be wanting to watch more South Park.

I have still yet to complete my collection. I own the first 7 series (series 5 onwards are region 1 DVDs, which I can watch on my computer). It's a shame only the first four series came out in region 2). I still need series 8 and 9. Series 10 will be out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD]
South Park: Complete Series 1 [DVD] by Trey Parker (DVD - 2001)
19.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews