Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, actually...
Having read R.Graves' great book "Hercules, my shipmate", everything around the Argonauts has to be compared with it. This video passed the test.
When I first got it, I was expecting something like the "Xena"and "Hercules" TV shows. During the first moments, I was pleasantly surprised. The costumes and background fits with what the...
Published on 18 Sept. 2001 by Christine

versus
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More fidelity to the classical myth but no sense of epic
As someone who teaches Classical Greek & Roman Mythology it is impossible for me to sit through something like the 2000 mini-series "Jason and the Argonauts" without constantly thinking about its fidelity to the myths of antiquity. Certainly this new version works in more members of the Argos crew than the 1963 film version with its Ray Harryhausen stop motion animation...
Published on 24 Jun. 2003 by Lawrance Bernabo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More fidelity to the classical myth but no sense of epic, 24 Jun. 2003
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jason And The Argonauts [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
As someone who teaches Classical Greek & Roman Mythology it is impossible for me to sit through something like the 2000 mini-series "Jason and the Argonauts" without constantly thinking about its fidelity to the myths of antiquity. Certainly this new version works in more members of the Argos crew than the 1963 film version with its Ray Harryhausen stop motion animation that is one of the beloved films of our youth. This time around there we have not only the mighty Hercules (Brian Thompson) aboard, but also Orpheus (Adrian Lester), Atalanta (Olga Sosnovska), Castor (Omid Djalili) and Pollux (John Sharian). We also have Jason (Jason London) and the Argo visiting the land of the Amazons and other details from the epic poem written by the third-century poet Apollonius of Rhodes, as well as the relationship between Jason and Pelias (Dennis Hopper) taken from Pindar. There is also a hint of the Medea (Jolene Blalock) that Jason will get to meet in the tragedy by Euripides. The only complaint is that unless you know the background on most of these characters you have no way of appreciating who is sailing with Jason. A prime example is when Orpheus mentions losing Eurydice but does not tell of how he almost won her back from Hades. Meanwhile, Atalanta seems to be interested in Jason (what would Artemis say?).
But while Matthew Faulk and Mark Skeet get credit for working the ancient sources into this telling of the tale, the problem is that the end result misses the magic of the Harryhausen version. The problem is twofold. First, the tenor of the story has contradictory impulses. On the one hand we have the active participation of the gods, with Hera (Olivia Williams) and Zeus (Angus MacFadyen) aiding and hindering Jason in his quest as they work out one of their frequent marital spats. But on the other hand there is an effort to make the story more realistic, in terms of the politics and relationships, which works against the idea of being the playthings of the gods. None of the actors strike heroic poses or speak in grand phrases and even Dennis Hopper is remarkable restrained in his performance. "Jason and the Argonauts" tries to reconcile these two by having the gods work behind the scenes for the most part, but then Poseidon stands up and that idea is quickly dispatched.
Second, Jason London as the title character looks too young. I know the actor was 28 when he made this mini-series but he seems like a youth. One of the problems with the story was while the greatest heroes in Greece would come to sail with Jason, a callow youth, which Apollonius solved by having Hera make them all want to go. Instead Faulk and Skeet have Jason make up have the crew with undesirables, some of whom provide comic relief, helped because of the aid of the guard who saved him from death as a youth. In other words, Jason leads the Argonauts because that is what was written in the script. Granted, this is consistent with the tone of the mini-series, but you cannot help but think that when Jason meets Medea that she is going to eat him alive (of course, she does much worse, but that is another tragedy). The end result is a production of "Jason and the Argonauts" that lacks the sense of heroic adventure that the tale personifies in classical mythology. It was okay and it should have been fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, actually..., 18 Sept. 2001
Having read R.Graves' great book "Hercules, my shipmate", everything around the Argonauts has to be compared with it. This video passed the test.
When I first got it, I was expecting something like the "Xena"and "Hercules" TV shows. During the first moments, I was pleasantly surprised. The costumes and background fits with what the ancient Greeks were supposed to be like, judging from urns and other relics and artifacts. The storyline goes closely to the ancient myths and the special effects are decent. Some inaccuracies are present; i.e. Hercules in Hera's service, but it's expected in similar movies.
The actors: Derek Jacobi, Dennis Hopper, Frank Langella need no introduction, there are magnificent. The actress who plays Medea is very good as well, enchanting and mysterious. However, the leading actor in Jason's role is not good. However, for those of us who consider the ancient Jason a useless stud who happened to be in the right place at the right time, he fits in perfectly. And a brilliant casting decision: Brian Tompson as Hercules. I loved every scene he was in.
Overall, it's a very entertaining film, but if you want a deeper and equally enjoyable work on the Argonauts, read R.Graves' great book "Hercules, my shipmate".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear...!, 30 Dec. 2009
By 
G. Witham "monkey26112" (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jason And The Argonauts [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
There will of course be the inevitable comparisons to the 1963 film, but the only similarity is that they share the same title. The acting is shocking... even Dennis Hopper, usually so convincing as the 'bad guy', fails to inject any excitement into this effort. Jason London is particularly bad, the average house brick would give a more convincing performance. And if you hoped the special effects would save it, think again... Poseidon appears here as some sort of crusty, rock covered hippy, the harpies look like demented winged monkeys and the creature that guards the golden fleece must be a throwback from 'One Million Years BC'... and that's pretty much it as far as nasties go.

Life is too short to spend three and a half hours watching this flaccid attempt at film-making stagger to it's sorry conclusion. An achingly dull and lifeless piece whose only purpose may be as an aid for insomniacs.

For goodness' sake don't waste your time, stick with the original or wait for the rumoured re-make being written by Zak Penn. Nothing could be worse than this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Jason and the Keystone Cops, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
Mic the Greek "MK" (Under a dung pile UK) - See all my reviews
Why do we bother to make 'educated' comments about a film when in all reality the people whom the film companies aim these films at have very little if no interest in history let alone mythology. I enjoyed the mini-series when it was first shown on Hallmark despite some very obvious and terrible mistakes with the research of the characters and their relationship with each other! The release of the series in film format has done little if anything to remove those errors, in fact because of the compression of time scale (film is shorter than the mini series) they are more noticable than before but who actually cares! If you left school without any idea about or liking for history/mythology then who am I to castigate you and say you shouldn't watch the film before gaining a full knowledge of the history behind the mythology, would you be any wiser or happier! no i didnt think so, you would in fact be like me knowing the background and bemoaning the faults. These films are made for your enjoyment, if you enjoyed watching it and went on to purchase the film on dvd then the producers have done the job they were paid for - to entertain you. So, yes this film is full of mistakes and bears no correlation with the mythologies/poems which introduced the characters to us but that isnt important anymore if it were we would all be up in arms about The 300, Lord of the Rings, Gladiator, or any other film supposedly based on historical or mythological fact - a good nights viewing ok enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Slow and boring..........., 30 Dec. 2009
By 
George Martin (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jason And The Argonauts [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
This film moves at a snail's pace, has no sense of epic and will send you to sleep. It is way too long.

If you are coming from the 1963 version, the part featuring Talos is replaced by an inferior confrontation with Poseidon and the seven-headed Hydra is replaced by a monster lizard.

The 1963 version is much better but looks distinctly low res on a large screen. If they reshot the 1963 version in HD and modern animation they could have a 5-star product.

Bottom line - only buy this DVD if you are having trouble sleeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why do they keep doing this !?, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's always the same story, take an old legend, make all the characters modern with modern characteristics ,slang, and swearing,mix it up with other legends ! here's an idea, make another film and don't soil the name of other classics !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars had potential to be great, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
J. Lee "jayleebenjamin" (europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like the Jason as the lead but his acting was not the best.

It had the chance with effects of today and a good story to be great - it much longer than the original film but I do agree with others that the pace is slow. If found the effects were not impressive - probably due to cost. it does spend more time getting to know the other members of the crew, which is the best part of it. it lacks that special something to really pull it together. | remember it as something I watched but the first half was better than the second part. not something I would buy, but at this price it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and well acted, 18 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Jason And The Argonauts [2000] [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is one of the best adaptations of Jason and the Argonauts. Jason London is a strong lead and Jolene Bialock takes your breath away as Medea, it's beautifully shot and the costumes are great. Dennis Hopper is a ridiculous evil king but very entertaining. The plot is altered considerably but still manages to convey the essence of the myth. It felt like stepping into Greek mythology !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good but forgettable, 8 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was not until i started watching this that i remembered i'd seen it before on TV. It is a very passable retelling of the old stories with an enjoyable cast and good pace. Although it's quick to tell it was a 'made-for-tv' affair i was still engrossed for the full 170 minutes. However, it's not a patch on the old 70's version with the stop-motion wonder of Ray Harryhausen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... 3 times so I cud watch the movie not good on your part the DVD disc shud be high ..., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hello with respect I watched the DVD and 3 times it turn off so I had clean the DVD disc 3 times so I cud watch the movie not good on your part the DVD disc shud be high Quauilty and with respect please I shud get the same DVD again for free please I still gave 5 stars from my good heart.Godbless thank you senserly bye.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jason And The Argonauts [2000] [DVD]
Jason And The Argonauts [2000] [DVD] by Nick Willing (DVD - 2004)
£13.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews