Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We have waited so long ... Herb Alpert has been forgotten.
Wow! At long last a new Herb Alpert CD back in the shops. I have searched half the world's record shops for anything other than a bargain bin copy of Titjuana Brass, and it's sad to report that most record shops these days have a whole new generation of staff that have never even heard of the man. This new "Greatest Hits" album goes a long way to make up for...
Published on 20 April 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dear Herb
I had such memories of Herb and his Tijuana band - this has a mixture of that and his solo stuff - This Man ('s in Love With You) a best memory. Not all of it interesting but worth the money for the good bits.
Published 2 months ago by Emmabemma


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We have waited so long ... Herb Alpert has been forgotten., 20 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Wow! At long last a new Herb Alpert CD back in the shops. I have searched half the world's record shops for anything other than a bargain bin copy of Titjuana Brass, and it's sad to report that most record shops these days have a whole new generation of staff that have never even heard of the man. This new "Greatest Hits" album goes a long way to make up for Herb Alpert's now sadly long deleted back catalogue; it's just a shame it doesn't offer more. Surely a 2cd or 4cd set would have done us proud? Most of the album concentrates on the old brassy lounge/lift music period, which is fine if you're that way inclined, but once the strains of "Rise" and "Rotation" come up you want to cry out loud: "Herb Alpert, where the hell are you now?" Please come back! This could have been a great album with a longer tracklisting, but even as it is it's still as welcome as breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Childhood Memories, 10 May 2001
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
I was delighted to get hold of this album, which I did via Amazon in the U.S.
Playing this Herb Alpert and his hits CD, particularly the sixties inclusions, has brought back much nostalgia and happiness, as his is the sort of music that used to boom out of my mum and dad's tinny transistor radio at home about 30+ years ago when I was a small(very small) child!!
The album is beautifully presented, with reminiscences by Herb on the sleeve notes, about each of the 20 included tracks, and pictures of each HA and Tijuana Brass album they originally came from. Sound quality is first-rate, I assume most of the earlier tunes, being digitally enhanced to suit modern ears?
Like me, I'm sure most Herb Alpert fans will like in particular, the classic 'Mexican Shuffle', 'Tijuana Taxi', 'Spanish Flea', 'A Taste of Honey' and 'Casino Royale' and the beautiful and rare vocalled, by Herb, 'This Guy's in Love with You', written by Bacharach and David and his joint biggest UK hit.
The later stuff on the album is also top class. My favourites including 'Rise' and 'Keep Your Eye on Me' from 1987, one of his last UK hit singles, that also produced a classic video, in the 'Sledgehammer'(Peter Gabriel) special effects mode, that is well worth seeking out. 'Diamonds' his final British hit to-date, has a great vocal by Janet Jackson, and is also included on the album.
Though far from being a really definitive collection, how could it be, from a man who's has been recording for around 40 years?? Herb Alpert's 'Definitive Hits' is complete enough, to give you a real feel of the man and his music. Buy this album if you remember him and enjoyed his music first-time-around. If not, still buy it, and get to know the wonderful instrumentals he and his band produced throughout the 1960's, the odd classic vocal number too, and see how the man evolved with the times, to produce some great late-seventies and eighties dance music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunshine in music form, 2 Jan 2008
By 
S. Bentley "stuarthoratiobentley" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
I love Herb Alpert. The best known stuff on this album are the likes of the superlatively bouncy Spanish Flea, the sublime A Taste of Honey, the energetic Tijuana Taxi, Tetris theme Zorba the Greek and of course the theme to the original Casino Royale (the one with David Niven) which is so clever it hurts. But there's nothing on this album that doesn't delight.

Mostly it's instrumental, brass band work and very good brass it is. Like a Mariachi band. It's jolly and fun, and it gets me in a good mood and that makes it pretty fab stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of nostalgia, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
I bought this for my husband as he has driven me mad with listening to Herb Alpert tracks on Youtube.

He was very surprised and happy to get it and has played it in his car ever since thus saving me my sanity! It has a good collection of tracks and is probably the better version edition of Best of hits he has released. Well worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Let's not mess about, this c.d. is fantastic! Not sure about the last few tracks, actually that's not true, they're not good. Everything with the Tijuana Brass, however, is heaven sent. They take me somewhere that I never want to leave and never fail to put a huge smile on my face, not to mention compelling me to pull off some extremely suspect dance moves around my house. The man's trumpet playing is divine and I cannot imagine how your life couldn't be improved by buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good CD, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Very good...!
Our revels now are ended, these our actors are spirits and are melted into air, into thin air.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Hits of Herb Albert, 17 July 2009
By 
Mr. C. A. Hall (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
The early tracks on the CD are brilliant! I was not, however, happy with the last few tracks. The CD arrived in excellent condition and plays perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
nice to hear some old tracks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dear Herb, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
I had such memories of Herb and his Tijuana band - this has a mixture of that and his solo stuff - This Man ('s in Love With You) a best memory. Not all of it interesting but worth the money for the good bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Return of Herb Alpert, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD to replace some long disposed of LPs. It was entertaining to renew acquaintance with Herb Alpert's work. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Definitive Hits
Definitive Hits by Herb Alpert (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews