Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than OK
I bought this 13 years after it came out on a bit of a whim. I have all of Jimmy Nail's other albums and realised that he had released an album that I had never heard of at the time of release.

Jimmy Nail does covers well - think "Love don't live here anymore" - and he has a great voice (despite the Album title). I've played it a few times now and it...
Published 9 months ago by Ian Hale

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ten Great Songs and An Ok Voice
The idea of creating an album of cover versions but making them different from their more well known interpretations so you have what seems to be an album of original material has now been undertaken by more than one other artists, both Alison Moyet and The Beautiful South spring to mind, but Jimmy Nail's attempt is as good as any and is well worth a discovery trip...
Published on 5 April 2005 by Rich Milligan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ten Great Songs and An Ok Voice, 5 April 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
The idea of creating an album of cover versions but making them different from their more well known interpretations so you have what seems to be an album of original material has now been undertaken by more than one other artists, both Alison Moyet and The Beautiful South spring to mind, but Jimmy Nail's attempt is as good as any and is well worth a discovery trip.
Certainly Jimmy makes a great effort to cover many and varied styles within the ten songs and manages a pretty good job. In fact this for me is the only real problem with the album as sometimes it has a slightly contrived feel, as if they all sat down around a table with a list of song styles and tried to cover as many as possible.
Highlights of the album include a lovely Country and Western version of "Overjoyed", the Lindisfarne classic "Clear White Light" (probably the song most like its original), the big band sound of "Walking on the Moon" and the upbeat rock of "Once in a Lifetime"
Songs that don't quite do it for me are the acappella of "Love me like a Rock" and the almost gothic spooky classic version of "House of the Rising Sun" - as I say these just didn't ring me bell but at the very least these are brave versions.
Standout track is the brass band of "Something" which is just sweet.
If you like Jimmy Nail then this unique album will go down very nicely, personally I prefer his other original studio albums, but I can well understand the attraction of this offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than OK, 11 May 2014
By 
Ian Hale (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
I bought this 13 years after it came out on a bit of a whim. I have all of Jimmy Nail's other albums and realised that he had released an album that I had never heard of at the time of release.

Jimmy Nail does covers well - think "Love don't live here anymore" - and he has a great voice (despite the Album title). I've played it a few times now and it has grown on me.

I feel that that it would have been a better album if he had chosen somewhat less well known songs to cover. When you have heard a big hit many times it becomes the definitive version and there are so many very well known songs on here that he covered and it is hard to get the original out of your head sometimes.

If you like Jimmy Nail's voice you should buy this album.

Finally, if Jimmy ever reads this review - please find the time to record and release something new. Here is one fan at least who will buy it - if I get to know that it has actually been released of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 Great Songs and an OK Voice, 11 Nov. 2009
By 
Ramsay Robert "Geordie Bob" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
just what it says on the cover, except the voice is much better than OK. Great to hear Jimmy singing songs he admires and adapting them to his particular voice. Clear White Light is one of my all-time favourites, and Jimmy just does it perfectly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOT IT COVERED!, 23 May 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
This was the last of Jimmy's albums which was released on a small independent label, hence the lack of commercial success.

It is a very good set of recordings and fresh interpretations of old classics in Jimmy's distinctive style - that Geordie voice is unmistakeable.

Easy listening, unchallenging and extremely pleasant - give it a go if you likes his other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 19 Aug. 2001
By 
Miss Pamela c Rollinson (Shrewsbury, Shrops United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
Loved the different styles, the brass band rendition of 'Something' , the haunting sound of 'The Last Time',to the sheer longing of 'Overjoyed'. Mr Nails vocal versitality is shown in every track, an album to cover all moods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed all the tracks and I really like Jimmy Nail's voice so - Ten great songs and a great voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man of astronomical talent, 2 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice (Audio CD)
Jimmy Nail - the man, the talent. An album of interesting covers by Newcastle's favourite export (other than Ant and Dec and newcastle ale).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice
Ten Great Songs And An Ok Voice by Jimmy Nail (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews