Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One More Time We're Gonna Celebrate!
I've had the songs from the internet for several weeks now but I thought it wouldn't be fair to write a review 'till I bought my own copy (the album's just been released worldwide this very morning).
I'm not a Daft Punk fan, let's get that straight. I'm not that much into techno-music, certainly not into disco-funk. And I'm NOT giving this album 5 stars because...
Published on 13 Mar 2001 by Bruno Mertens

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK
Other than its recent number one hit, the album is a bit strange. I much prefer their older albums, alot more variety
Published 11 months ago by Sarah-Jayne Bennell


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diverse and entertaining, 11 April 2009
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
It's tough to describe this album in few words, especially given Daft Punk's radical shift in style over the course of their three LPs to date. What I will say is that what everyone says is right - this album is definitely at least worth a listen, and for fans of all music, not just techno. This is highly accessible stuff, and worthy of being played in anyone's player. I'll also add that the album is probably worth it for the first four tracks alone, easily one of the best opening runs ever recorded. However, it has to also be said that most people aren't going to like every single song on the album. For every person that worships Aerodynamic, there'll be another one who thinks 'Too Long' is boring and repetitive; someone who likes the quieter 'Voyager' might dislike the upbeat classic 'One More Time'. The point is, the phrase 'try before you buy' has never been more prudently used than on this album, because it won't be to everyone's tastes, despite the fact that it's hooked in many people who'd never even heard of electronica, techno, acid or house before.

As for the tracks, they tend to fall into the category of either stunning, or reasonable. Newcomers to Daft Punk should be aware that the duo are primarily electronic-synth merchants, but also have a penchant for slinging in catchy choruses and insane guitar solos to sweeten the deal for those who aren't fans of a droning beat. As I mentioned earlier, the first four tracks are stupidly brilliant, and put together comprise perhaps the finest opening to an album that I've heard in a long time. More or less everyone knows 'One More Time' and 'Digital Love', even if they don't know it's by Daft Punk. 'Aerodynamic' is my favourite, the entire song flows well together and as everyone always raves, the solo is genius. The rest are either very quiet, murky ambient affairs or massively upbeat (almost to the point of being comical) blast-fests. The mood change is often swift and brutal, and can catch the casual listener off-guard when going through the entire album.

It is genuinely tough to not give this maximum marks, but I do recommend that the album is taken with a pinch of salt. Listen beyond the first four tracks and see if you like the rest, although those earlier ones are a decent indicator of overall sound. If you like a driving beat and some excellent synth-work that almost works as a rock-house-acid fusion, then this is almost certainly for you. Everyone else should tread carefully, but be advised that if you want to get into any of the genres of techno and associates, this is an incredible way to start. On a sidenote, this is one of the best love acts in the world, so try to see them if you can.

To sum up, definitely worth a listen, but also an acquired taste in parts. 8.5 out of 10, pushing a 9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsomeness is to smaller word, 6 Aug 2008
By 
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
This album is so awsome it was the very first daft punk album i got and it remains a personal favourite, it is a sound track to their anime dvd- interstella 5555 which complements the mood and tone of each song.
After hearing this album i am now a big fan of daft punk and their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A voyage through dance, 3 April 2007
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
Firstly ill start by saying to those who have wondered why this is so different to homework why that is.Its mainly due to the fact that Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter both wanted to create something along the lines to go with an idea they had in their heads for ages which was called interstella 5555 ( a brilliant piece of comic art by the way). this lead to the creation to this amazing piece of dance music. from the ever popular one more time to the simply amazing super heroes this album will change even the most die hard haters of dance music and if it doesn't so what. Cause at the end of the day I know and all the other 4-5 star reviewers know that this was two amazing musicians vision in a single cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 18 Mar 2007
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
I think its simply astonishing that there are people out there that dislike,even detest,this cd.in my view,and quite a few other peoples also,this is the most important dance album of the 21st century so far.every track has charisma,style,a cracking melody and a catchy hook.aerodynamic ranks among the most original and brilliant works of art to grace our planet within the last 10 years.hbfs is pure pop gold,veridis quo is inspired organ-house and i genuinely feel that every other track has something special to offer also.daft punks tendency to explore the new rather than revisit the old means we will almost certainly never see likes of this again.

i urge you to spoil yourself by buying this masterpiece.you wont regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Punk (Feat Bonzi), 25 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
This is better than 'Homework', in my point of view, the tracks are much less repetitve, and much more interesting. I know some tracks sound like they are sung by Bonzibuddy, but that isn't necessarily (I think the vocoding is great); this album is fun! Just listen to 'Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger' and try not to smile; its difficult! Of course there are the hits 'One More Time', 'Digital Love' and 'Aerodynamic', which make this album complete. The only track that i slightly dislike is, short circuit, a bit to treble heavy for me! Still, from what I have heard on Homework('Oh Yeah', being one of the bad ones') I prefer this big time!
Buy It Now, Make It Show
Do It Quickly, Makes Us Happy
More Than Ever Hour After Hour
Work Is Never Over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 25 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
If you can accept the weird, geeky Kraftwerk-like image of Daft Punk then you'll love this album. They certainly haven't received the acclaim they deserved for this masterpiece of an album. When I think of other, very overhyped albums of recent years in their genres like Dido or Tool, it seems unfair really. But then DP have made dance music accessible, like Moby did with "Play". Thankfully they haven't gone down the route that ad-man Moby did; sadly that album was lost within a wave of over-exposure.
The elitists moan that this isn't as good as "Homework". They're right, it's not as good...it's much better than Homework. Having heard both albums several times, this is much more accessible: "Homework" is overindulgent house music.
I actually heard this at a second hand record shop in Newcastle last May and was amazed at how good it was, I actually hung around in the shop until the record finished! At the time I was looking for music that was very far removed from dance music, death metal like Deicide or Morbid Angel!
You will have heard the four singles on MTV or somewhere like that, so no need to describe them. But chances are that you have heard this album somewhere, you just didn't realse it. "Crescendolls" was often used by ITV in their FA Cup coverage last year.
A tranquil but meaningless interlude follows Crescendolls, then the quite excellent, thumping "Superheroes" - very early 80s sound, sounds inspired by the synthesisers used on the Al Pacino classic "Scarface". An upbeat dance track follows on "High Life" - music to get ready to go out to. One of the songs that really grabs you when you first listen to it.
"Something About Us" is an OK but cheesy ballad, then two very solid instumentals follow in "Voyager" and "Veridis Quo". "Short Circuit" is the worst track on the album. "Face To Face" was a hit single when I was in Paris recently and it's easy to see why. "Too Long" is a bit tongue in cheek, as it clocks in at 10 minutes. Not bad though.
This album is well worth buying. It's probably more leftfield and ambient than anything you have in your record collection. Many magazines raved about this album, which charted very highly on writers' lists. Most times that means that the public don't get it, if you've ever seen the film "Magnolia" you'll know what I mean. But for once the media have their praise spot on. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow very original, 11 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
when i bought this album i thought i was gonna hate it, but something told me to buy it. so when i got home i got a shock. firstly i dont like one more time as itwas over played on the radio at the time of its release but for the other tracks some were amazing. I love harder, better, faster, stronger and face to face.
this is a work of art and i am glad i bought it. If you dont like it first time around give it another go, thats what i did and i do like it.
This album blends house and rock into an orgy of funky beats. BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And The Award Goes To..., 7 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
This album has got to be one of the best albums of the year. It is a wonderful follow up to Homework. It is even better than Homework. It has the classics "One More Time" and "Aerodynamic." It has the soon to be classic "Digital Love." Besides tracks 6,9,10,11,12 the album is amazing. I know what your thinking with so many dissapointing songs why did I give it 5 stars. Because the other songs are the funkiest house tracks ever. The only competition to this album will be Basement Jaxx's "Rooty."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different and Curious, but good., 17 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
I don't know if different and curious are necessarily bad things, in any case this album is definately not bad. It mixes pure genious with abstract mixes, leaving you confused but impressed. Many of the songs could easily wash over you without noticing, but they all deserve respect individual rights. "One More Time" is hard to get out of your head, it infests your brain with it's catchy lyrics and tune. "Aerodynamic" along with "Digital Love" would/should probably be classed as the two other main hits of this album, although any track could be released and do justice to this groups talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Pop, 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
So Daft Punk return with the second instalment of their unique vision having defined the sound of late 90s house, opened the floodgates for countless French musical visionaries and been expensively imitated by the pop elite. Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo have even gone so as to reconstruct themselves as bionic funkateers to complete the picture, so you know they mean business. And this gleaming, diamond hard album of mechanical disco pop, four years in the making, contains all the "magic, surprise, entertainment and art" they claim as their manifesto.
The first thing that hits you is the sheer sonic assault of these offerings: a combination of bizarre, faux nave ideas with slabs of noise so monolithically huge that you don't know what's hit you until it's too late. Take the widdly Van Halen solo and heavy disco loops which make up "Aerodynamic", or the panel beating techno mixed with an imaginary soundtrack to a "Transformers" cartoon in "Superheroes". "Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger" and "Crescendolls" are the real enfant terribles here, brutal and hilarious bionic stomps full of gibbering, steroidal gym instruction and funfair whoops- truly daft punk music. We may never know what the fractitious dance fraternity make of this because we won't be able to hear their mumbling over the enormous din.
Not that "Discovery" sees Daft Punk ditching their house roots. Romanthony tops and tails proceedings with the disco smash "One More Time" (which you know and hate to love) and the old school house of "Too Long" (which actually isn't), and the filtered Disco of "High Life" wouldn't sound out of place on "Homework".
But this album's real strength is in marrying innovative digital productions with pop suss, creating a European counterpart to Missy and Timbaland's US Hip Pop. Maybe it's geography- this unity could only come from a younger, smaller scene more open to ideas and less dispersed into sub genres than the UK's. Or maybe it's a demonstration of those characteristics begrudgingly attributed to The French by the Brits- style, taste & intelligence- overcoming the tardy imaginations of more established pop scenes. Rescuing the be-mulleted mid-80s pop of Jean Michel Jarre and Toto is a trick only the Punk could pull off with such panache: memories of the early MTV years are plundered without irony, adding an unexpected poignancy to Daft Punk's ultra modern oeuvre. Take "Something About Us", a majestic lovesexy Prince number with Air ambience and breathy, soft rock vocals which make for an affecting love song, or the highlight of the album, "Digital Love", a sun drenched pop giant which sounds like Buggles singing over banging millennial French Disko. "Discovery"'s victory is to prove that there are an infinite number of past pop moments and impressions waiting to be translated into a new context, that the self-regenerative power of pop itself will never cease. Madonna will have to spend millons reviving herself in a couple of years' time to keep up with the game.
The result is a fantastic Pop artefact for the kids and anyone who remembers what it felt like to be a kid. "Discovery" is provocative, overwhelming, irrestistable and hilarious. And, as you might expect from two over educated Gallic aristos prepared to spend 150,000 on dressing up as robots, as much fun as can be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discovery
Discovery by Daft Punk (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews