Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Politcal Punk at its best., 12 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death (Audio CD)
The Dead Kennedys made a huge impact on the early 80's US Punk Scene, inspiring future bands like Rage Against the Machine, Nirvana and Green Day - and this album is a great introduction to their music.
POLICE TRUCK and TOO DRUNK TO FUCK are fast-paced, punky 3 minute tunes, but simplistic compared to the Kennedys later output. LIFE SENTENCE is a great song about teenage rebels selling out once they become adults and get a job. However, the best song here, and maybe the high point of the Kennedys musical career is the yuppie-baiting HOLIDAY IN CAMBODIA. Its an angry, sadistic song concentrating hate on one particular person - 'Like a Rolling Stone' updated for Punk! Check out Jello Biafra's voice - one of the most distinctive in popular music. Its mocking (like Johnny Rotten's), urgent, majestic, even god-like in places. Many of the songs use humour to get their point across - witness the hilarious SHORT SONGS and the anti-popstar PULL MY STRINGS with the poetic lines "Is my cock big enough? Is my brain small enough? For you to make me a Star"
Its just a shame hardly any bands in the States are capable or willing to question and subvert the status quo today. But while I await the saviours of political agit-pop music, GIVE ME CONVENIANCE OR GIVE ME DEATH will more than do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kicks arse, 22 Aug. 2000
By 
James Clay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent CD. The DKs at their best with old tracks and some that I have found hard to come by elsewhere. Buy it and find out for yourself. You will not be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great Dead Kennedys collection, 7 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death (Audio CD)
Contrary to what some kook wrote in another review, GIVE ME CONVENIENCE... ***IS NOT*** the FRESH FRUIT... album with a few extra tracks tacked on. It is a collection of singles, B-sides, and other non-album tracks.
I was a huge DK fan back in the day, but I had to admit that some of their tracks were forgettable throw-aways. By FRANKENCHRIST I thought they were starting to lose it, and after BEDTIME FOR DEMOCRACY I was almost glad they packed it in. Which is why I was so pleasantly surprised when CONVENIENCE came out. There are some real gems amongst these non-album tracks.
Back when I bought it, the last track "Buzzbomb from Pasadena" was only included on one of those lame flexi-discs. But it's a hilarious version of "Buzzbomb" redone from the viewpoint of a little old lady.
If you are new to DK, of course FRESH FRUIT FOR ROTTING VEGETABLES has to be your first album, but GIVE ME CONVENIENCE OR GIVE ME DEATH wouldn't be a bad second, though it doesn't have the cohesion of a normal album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is amazing. With classic tracks such as Holiday in Cambodia, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. With classic tracks such as Holiday in Cambodia, California Uber Alles, Police Truck and, of course, their cover of I Fought the Law, this is a great album for your introduction to Dead Kennedys if you've never listened to them before. This was the first album of theirs that I heard, and I loved it so much that I bought this CD, and many others!

Thoroughly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album if you like the Kennedy's, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome album if you like the Kennedy's. Recovers of classics and some you will have never hear. Worth alone for Pull My Strings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DK's download, 20 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. David Laing "Blade" (Sheffeild UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cracking album - wary of doing downloads as still a vinyl buff but this was easy and to be fair the quality cannot be knocked.

VERY easy using Amazon download.

If you like DK's you'll already know that this CD is a top a album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived in good order and in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death ..., 15 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death (Audio CD)
new wave realism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Rees (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death (Audio CD)
very happy thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Dead Kennedys album, 15 Feb. 2001
By 
This review is from: Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death (Audio CD)
Give me convenience or give me death is the definitive Dead Kennedys album! If you like the Dead Kennedys and have not heard this LP then prepare yourself for a treat. This album contains all of the original energy of their first album (Fresh fruit for rotten vegetables) but it also incorperates the dry political humour of Jello Biafra. It contains great new songs like Police truck (featured on hit playstation game Tony Hawks pro skater) whilst including some of the classic tracks from their previous albums like Calafornia Uber Alles and a legendary remix of the classic hit Holliday in cambodia. In Summary this is probably one of the top five punk rock albums released in the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death
Give Me Convenience Or Give Me Death by Dead Kennedys (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews