Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album with revised listing for any age.
This is an amazing album which is ideal for anyone who likes their music with a dash of theatre.
Every track is meticulously put together although I believe the album sounds better if track 1(Bat out of Hell) is placed after track 7. This is because to me that song is like the peak of the album and incorporates everything which has gone before.
Also listen to it...
Published on 5 Dec 2005 by R. sum

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the surround then?
Okay, it's Bat out of Hell. If you are thinking about getting the SACD version, then you've probably already worn out a few vinyl copies and notched up a few speeding tickets driving too fast to this classic album. The music is, well, Bat out of Hell. Superb. The SACD though, has me puzzled. My version, contrary to other Amazon reviews and the Sony Europe website, does...
Published on 17 Sep 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the surround then?, 17 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
Okay, it's Bat out of Hell. If you are thinking about getting the SACD version, then you've probably already worn out a few vinyl copies and notched up a few speeding tickets driving too fast to this classic album. The music is, well, Bat out of Hell. Superb. The SACD though, has me puzzled. My version, contrary to other Amazon reviews and the Sony Europe website, does NOT have a 5.1 surround mix; it is stereo only. Also bear in mind that this is not a hybrid disc and so will only play on an SACD player, not a normal CD player.

If you want the best stereo mix of this album for your SACD player, buy this. If it's multi channel you want, be careful. Edited: There is a second SACD release of this album with both the stereo (as above) and multichannel mix. (Epic 499944 6 to be precise!). Buy carefully if it's the multichannel version you are after. The multichannel version is superb...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a "must have" for your SACD collection, 23 May 2003
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
The producers/engineers have done an absolutely fantastic job on this album. If you've never experienced SACD, then this one little silver disc will blow your mind!
Beware of what type of SACD you buy though - if you've got a decent surround sound set-up then ensure you only buy "MULTI CHANNEL" (Multi-ch) SACDs. Ordinary SACDs (such as Michael Jackson's "Thriller") will pump out music to the front speakers only. The quality of the music is a bit better (deeper bass, clearer treble etc) but that's about it.
Multi Channel SACD is a whole different ball game. "Bat Out of Hell" is multi channel and the resulting playback is awesome. This is a classic album superbly re-mastered for todays technology.
Sit back, turn the sound up, close your eyes, and prepare for an amazing experience.
Listen out for the motorcyle guitar solo in the title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Teen Angst Album, 30 May 2008
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
"Bat out of Hell" is the 1977 classic album from Meat Loaf which features songs by Jim Steinman. The release I am reviewing is remastered, includes three extra tracks (though admittedly one is just an introduction), and includes a DVD with 12 Videos. The original album was produced by Todd Rundgren. The band assembled for this album is an interesting group. Included are Max Weinberg and Roy Bittan from the E Street Band, Edgar Winter, and Ellen Foley, and Todd Rundgren also played and had three additional members of Utopia play on it as well: Kasim Sultan, Roger Powell, and Willie Wilcox. The album developed from a musical which has been described as a sci-fi version of Peter Pan, and parts of it have been compared to Bruce Springsteen's "Born to Run" album, but it really doesn't have the same kind of sound to my ear.

The original album is just seven tracks long, opening with the title track which sets the tone for the whole album. It, along with two other tracks are what is left from the musical which was titled "Neverland". Like most of the songs here it is about teen love, or perhaps I should say lust, as love is really not a factor in most of these songs. The second track is "You Took the Words Right Out Of My Mouth" and was first single from the album, as with the first track it is about lust and the confusion between lust and love in young people. That is followed by "Heaven Can Wait" which is the second of the three songs from the musical, and the lyrics are a bit more positive, though one still gets that feeling of teen angst. "All Revved Up with No Place to Go" is the last of the three tracks from the musical, and the title pretty much speaks for itself as it follows in the same mode as those which came before.

The second half of the album opens with "Two out of Three Ain't Bad" in which the singer wants and needs the person they are singing to, but they don't love them. A bit more mature in content than the teen songs in the first half, here lust is not confused for love. "Paradise by the Dashboard Light" follows up with the story of a relationship built on young lust which turns into a miserable life for both the boy and girl. The original album then closes with "For Crying Out Loud". The three bonus tracks include "Great Boleros of Fire" and "Bat out of Hell" live versions, in which the first is an instrumental intro to the second. The third track is "Dead Ringer for Love" which appeared on the 1981 album of the same name and for which Cher provides the lead female vocals.

The DVD includes several songs from the album as well as additional material. Like the album, it opens with "Bat Out of Hell", which is followed by "Read `em and Weep" from the "Dead Ringer" album. Next up is "Two out of Three Ain't Bad" and that is followed by Razor's Edge from the "Midnight At The Lost and Found" album. Up next are "More Than You Deserve" and "I'm Gonna Love Her for Both of Us" from the "Dead Ringer" album. Next is "If You Really Want To" from the "Midnight At The Lost and Found" album, and then come "You Took The Words Right Out of My Mouth", "Paradise by the Dashboard Light", and "Dead Ringer for Love".

The DVD also includes a biography and discography (both written) and the music can be played in surround sound or stereo. The videos are fun, but the core album is the best part of this package. I have to give this collection 5 stars, as the original album rates very highly and the additional material in this collection adds to the overall value. Price is a consideration though, so look for one which isn't too expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to a perfect pressing., 6 Feb 2012
By 
Jan J. Mikula "mikulaj" (Tanworth in Arden, Warwickshire, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thirty-five years on from the original release, there's nothing new to say about the music on "Bat out of Hell"; anyone looking to buy this on vinyl will either be trying to replace an older copy, or will just be catching-up with a record that has received so much air-play over the years that they never quite got around to actually buying it earlier.

So this review is specifically about the new 180g "Audiophile Vinyl" re-issue: in short, the pressing is one of the best I've ever come across - almost perfectly flat, clean and completely silent. The mastering seems 'just right': there's no apparent attempt at producing an over-blown demo-record sound, but there's a huge amount of detail in the recording. In fact the absence of surface noise and any 'clicks' or 'pops' is quite uncanny and puts to shame some much-more expensive 'audiophile' re-issues that I've bought over the last few years. The gatefold album cover is qood quality, and the inner sleeve seems to be quite an unusual 'soft' [almost a silicone-feel]anti-static liner. All around, this is how all vinyl records should be!

One [tiny] quibble - not about the product- but Amazon UK really could learn from some of the vinyl specialists when it comes to packing 12" discs for postage; the over-large 'equipment'-type boxes used to send the records really don't offer any real support to the discs, no matter how much paper is stuffed into the box! I'd suggest that someone at Amazon orders a vinyl album from [say] Audio Affair in Birmingham and looks very carefully at the secure and appropriate box in which it arrives...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless work of art., 4 Nov 2007
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
I'll ask you a question. Why do people laugh when you say Meatloaf is your favourite performer? The music is great and listened to by as many people today as in the 70's. The song lyrics are perfect. The musicianship is top notch and Meat himself outshines almost any other performer I have seen or listened to. He acts as he sings as he feels and seems to me to be living each and every song as though that is all that ever mattered at that particular moment.
For me he has a voice that would grace any opera and performs the very best in driving music. Bat out of Hell itself is Meatloaf to the very core. I was about 8 when I first heard it and played the tape til' it melted. And it still sounded better than Brotherhood of Man. The words were telling me to explain things in descriptive detail and that emotions were to be worn on the sleeves of your black leather jacket. This album was where my own imagination was forged and where my relationship with non-rockers was destroyed.
I took the imagination to school where teachers were telling all the kids to use theirs in their writing and screaming at them when they day dreamed whilst looking out of the window - That's using imagination teachers. But because of Bat out of Hell I knew what my emotions were and and that one day I would tear past those pencil necks on a silver-black phantom bike and salute them all the way down the road.
If your kids are old enough to sing then throw out Bob the Builder music and buy them Bat out of Hell. Then stand back as their brains begin to dance.

Will Joseph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock opera at its best, 16 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. Andrew Moore "lord derfel cadarn" (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
Over the top, cheesey, shouldn't like but do... are just some of the ways people have described this album. All are correct. If you haven't heard this album I bet you know most of it because a lot of the tracks have been released as stand alone singles, many topping the charts. Some have been re recorded by other artists. So why is this so good? Brilliance of writing, music and performance, thats why. Meatloaf is a powerful singer and first class entertainer. His voice is magnificent and equally matched by the supporting artists and the musicians. Brilliance and pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Lease of life, 21 Dec 2006
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
I was never a massive fan of this lp the first time around, however I am so glad I purchased the SACD, this has to be the best produced SACD I own, it is as though you are sat in the studio with the man. His voice powers out of the centre speaker whilst the backing singers come out in the rear, it will make the hairs stand up on your neck. When I want to show off my SACD player this is the disc I choose, try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bat out of hell, 28 Oct 2006
By 
Mr. J. Gould (Newbury, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
this is a brillient album...it's fantastically silly and cheesily over the top, but in a good way. the song writing is witty and operatic and the singing is larger than life.

this is a fun album and doesn't deserve the negative critisism it sometimes gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Graffiti on a masterpiece, 30 Sep 2012
This review is from: Bat Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I grew up with the original album and loved it. It was always in the album charts - it meant something.

So if I want to now buy a CD of that work, I want to buy the songs that worked together then. It don't want to listen to Meat Loaf live or the dreadfully repetitive 'Dead Ringer'! They weren't on the album that sold!

If it was an MP3 collection - sure, add other tracks to what you sell and folk can just delete what they don't like, but this is a masterpiece with graffiti on it and if you're listening to a CD you have to skip the last three tracks that were clearly put there because they had some space to fill :-/

If I wanted Dead Ringer I'd buy another CD with that on. If I could bear to listen to Meat Loaf live I'd buy a live album - clearly the marketing department weren't in on this decision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, brilliant, BRILLIANT!!!, 28 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Bat Out of Hell (Audio CD)
Meat Loaf is perhaps the most underated singer of all time. His performance is absolutely amazing on every single track on this album but his most moving would have to be "For Crying Out Loud." All in all, a great album. Go and buy it NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bat Out Of Hell
Bat Out Of Hell by Meat Loaf (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews