Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MOULDY OLD DOUGH IN A WITCH'S HAT
Lieutenant Pigeon ! A bizarre 70s oddity from Coventry, a city noted for its ska influences (Two-Tone label etc.)....There's more than a hint of this in some of these tracks. The two-piano, penny-whistle, bass and drums line-up burst out in '72 with 'Mouldy Old Dough', storming to No. 1 ! And how WEIRD and unusual it sounded ! They couldn't sustain the success beyond one...
Published on 22 Oct. 2005 by Ant Lupton the Croxley Groover

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not worth revisiting that often
Apart from the superb "Hornets" and a great Pete Pavil free "Greenfly and Rose" this is a very dissapointing album. The songs are great but Calverts voice is not good and the Synths sound awfull. Much better well sung "Live" versions of all the remaining tracks (Except "Bomb Squad Officer")can be found on a free download if you go to the "Spirit Of The Page"...
Published on 2 Sept. 2008 by mr meldrewe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MOULDY OLD DOUGH IN A WITCH'S HAT, 22 Oct. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
Lieutenant Pigeon ! A bizarre 70s oddity from Coventry, a city noted for its ska influences (Two-Tone label etc.)....There's more than a hint of this in some of these tracks. The two-piano, penny-whistle, bass and drums line-up burst out in '72 with 'Mouldy Old Dough', storming to No. 1 ! And how WEIRD and unusual it sounded ! They couldn't sustain the success beyond one further hit, 'Desperate Dan', which was a pity...but many other, equally quirky tunes appear here as well (the B-Side of that single, 'Opus 300', might be the weirdest record I've ever heard - included here).Fun was never far away from the Pigeon's agenda : 'Gordon's Rainbow Wranglers' indeed ! - and with Mrs Woodward pounding away on the old joanna, sometimes wearing outlandish shades or even a witch's hat for Top Of The Pops, you couldn't ignore these guys ! Sadly there are a few "essential" Pigeon tunes missing from here: Where is the 4th A-Side, 'Creativity', or either version of 'You Are My Heart's Delight'?...but overall, this is a pretty neat collection if you remember them from the 70s, or for anyone who shares my taste for the bizarre. It also proves what can be achieved with an ordinary living room, some recording equipment and a stack of instruments - budding popstars please note ! P.S. These guys also released records as Stavely Makepeace: there's a CD out now of some of their bizarre moments, too !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Techno-pop at its very best., 7 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Freq Revisited (Audio CD)
Being so closely affiliated with the oft unfashionable Hawkwind was both a blessing and a curse for Bob Calvert. The well-known Captain Lockheed and the Starfighters album, was musically very close to his Hawk roots.
Freq Revisited sees the mad maestro firmly in the eighties techno pop of OMD, Gary Numan, Hazel O,Connor, et al. And how comfortable he feels there! This is fantastic thought-provoking stuff.
Calvert has long been interested in the advancement of technology and its effect on the human workforce and on this album we see the theme come to fruition. Not that this is a heavy concept album. The songs are short and sweet with oh, so catchy synth rhythms. These are interspersed with snatches of conversations from miners picket rallies - but don't let that put you off! Some of the songs such as The Greenfly and the Rose and Ned Ludd are minor masterpieces. And just listen to the synth arrangements on Worksong! Wonderful.
Forget Gary Numan and the others, the sheer musical talent, intelligence and wit of Bob Calvert deserves a much bigger audience and Freq Revisited is a fine example of his craft.
A must for Calvert fans and techno-rockers alike. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pigeon Perfection, 20 Aug. 2010
By 
Geoff, Darwen (Darwen, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
I heard Mouldy Old Dough played in a pub recently and it brought back some lovely memories. I bought that single back in the early 70's and also the sheet music and I learnt to play it on the piano and recorder. A very contagious tune and one that is fairly easy to play. The CD itself has a wonderful mixture of tunes, the majority of which are instrumental. All unique in style with a penny whistle and a couple of pianos that sound slighty off key but the ensemble is magical. I liked I'll Take You Home Again Kathleen and Those Where The Days. Both superb cover versions. I have played the CD many times at home and in the car and will continue to do so for many years to come I'm sure. The artwork on the covers are also a real treat. No complaints at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
Only thing wrong is that "Meet me off the Royal Scot' is missing.Most notable are Mouldy Old dough and I'LL take you home again Kathleen.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pigeon, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
very nice cd for a very nice price. not available in belgium,so client was very happy with it.
thanks again music shop lommel belgium
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars l like it, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
I like this album.when you get home from the pub with your friends stick this on.you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
brill and funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great band, 1 Jun. 2010
By 
Edward J. mccarthy Jr. (new york new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
great band from the 70s out of france here with some great power pop to them, however they do sing in french so if you know french that is a big help but this is a great, well put together package by this lost euro outfit from the 70s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !..., 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Ome d'Oc "Bart" (Toulouse , Occitanie) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD)
Excellent album . Excellent groupe , dont je cherchais un album depuis longtemps . J'en suis fort satisfait . Merci !...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not worth revisiting that often, 2 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Freq Revisited (Audio CD)
Apart from the superb "Hornets" and a great Pete Pavil free "Greenfly and Rose" this is a very dissapointing album. The songs are great but Calverts voice is not good and the Synths sound awfull. Much better well sung "Live" versions of all the remaining tracks (Except "Bomb Squad Officer")can be found on a free download if you go to the "Spirit Of The Page" Websight.
Calvert was a great talent. Just buy "Space Ritual" by Hawkwind ( the one with the bonus tracks on) and listen to "Orgone Accumulator" and the last track "Born to go"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon
The Best Of Lieutenant Pigeon by Lieutenant Pigeon (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews