Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Elvis Presley concert
This great new version of the 1970 concert film, 'Elvis: That's The Way It Is'
will hopefully help to redress the balance of critical opinion concerning the
final phase of Elvis Presley's career. Those who only remember the
caricature will be surprised at how good Elvis looks and by the sheer power
and magnetism of his performances. Vocally, he was...
Published on 20 Oct 2001

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment!
I am very Disappointed with this release. Disc 1 is very good and in excellent condition. But then it would be, as it was only released a few years ago. The Original Film on Disc 2, does not look like it has been cleaned up in any way at all and is no better than my old VHS copy. The extra's (less than 40 minutes) are in bad quality and even stagger here and there. And...
Published on 15 Aug 2007 by Deryck Flowers


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Elvis Presley concert, 20 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] (DVD)
This great new version of the 1970 concert film, 'Elvis: That's The Way It Is'
will hopefully help to redress the balance of critical opinion concerning the
final phase of Elvis Presley's career. Those who only remember the
caricature will be surprised at how good Elvis looks and by the sheer power
and magnetism of his performances. Vocally, he was at his absolute peak.
Fans will be delighted to see new footage and some great new camera
angles (it feels like you're actually on the front row sometimes). Gone are the
irritating interviews and sideshows - this version focuses firmly on the man
himself. On the negative side, some of the songs from the original film have
been sacrificed - I Just Can't Help Believin being the most glaring omission.
The rehearsal section lacks the momentum of the original and the sound mix
is quite poor in places. That said, the special edition includes a great
rendition of Santa Claus Is Back In Town, demonstrating Elvis' ability as a
blues singer. The concert performances themselves are simply superb.
Everyone will have their favourites, but for me the lesser known Elvis songs
are the highlights. I Can't Stop Loving You is fantastic. Just Pretend really
shows off Elvis' vocal range. Patch It Up is a real rocker. This is Elvis at his
best. Sit back - and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment!, 15 Aug 2007
I am very Disappointed with this release. Disc 1 is very good and in excellent condition. But then it would be, as it was only released a few years ago. The Original Film on Disc 2, does not look like it has been cleaned up in any way at all and is no better than my old VHS copy. The extra's (less than 40 minutes) are in bad quality and even stagger here and there. And what about the 'Lost Performances' video? No sight of that footage!
The Ideal would have been a package like the 'Aloha' and '68 Special' sets a couple of years ago. I would of cut out the Elvis Impersonators and the Fan interviews Etc from the original film and gathered all existing rehearsal and concert footage from both films plus 'Lost Performances' before re-editing it all together with never before released footage in a 3dvd set in Remastered quality.
If you have not got the new 2001 version (On Disc 1) then this may be worth getting, although you can buy it as a separate DVD. If you have , then I wouldnt bother with this. I for one cant wait until they get it right. I would rather pay three times as much for the real deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis thats the way it is, 21 Mar 2006
This is the most important readily available Elvis video for fans to own. It shows Elvis in rehearsal and on stage at his true creative peak before performances became either routine or laden with grandiose and cumbersome ritual. At the time he had in place over 500 arrangements and orchestrations he could instantly call upon and a backing band unmatched before or since. Herein lies a compelling glimpse of just how these were put together with Elvis directing from guitar and piano. The on-stage action is from more than one concert - he did two a day at the time - and it is still hard to believe just how good he was compared to the media charicatures prevalent today. One star is missing from my rating simply beacuse this is a re-edited version that inexplicably omits the on-stage "I just can't help believing" which is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Fantastic!, 14 Jun 2005
By 
Aj Kitching "ajk" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] (DVD)
This was the first Elvis DVD i bought. I have since bought, the 68 comback special and Aloha from Hawaii and well as various movies that he did. The 'Elvis -- That's The Way It Is' DVD is the best one yet! As a hugh Elvis fan i do beleive that this shows elvis in the same light as in 1956. His performances, both vocally and sexually are on an even with performances such as Hound Dog on The ED Sullivan show in 56 and the Jailhouse Rock video of 1957. The best performance is the Suspicous Minds track. Elvis shows a amazing amount of energy, enthusiasum and unbelievable vocals to a massive, screaming live audiance. After listening to recorded tracks on the 30 no1 hits cd, the live versions of such song like in the Ghetto, The wonder of you and suspicous Minds and twice as goo live. He also performs Thats all right Mama, All shook up and Hound Dog, thats all right Mama is equally as good as the original, even though elvis never performed Hound dog, Blue suede shoes etc as well after the 50s.
A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be called "This is why Elvis is the King", 24 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD shows Elvis at his best,in the first half of the film at the rehearsals it shows him having fun - look at the mischief in his eyes, it also shows a little of his vulnerable side. It then comes to the second half of the DVD - the live concert (filmed over six different shows) in which he just seems to have forgot his nerves and explodes onto the stage, you find yourself wishing that you had a time machine and could go back to 1970 and experience it live and raw, not edited.
Elvis sounds GOOD, he looks the best ever and his body emits enough electricity to power a small country. If you only ever buy one Elvis DVD make it this one, because even if you own several you'll find that this is the only one you ever watch. If you find that you don't like it then please seek professional medical help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Elvis - The way he was, 23 Sep 2002
This review is from: Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] (DVD)
I never seen Elvis live but this come close. This DVD shows you the real Elvis before the gig and then the man who was the King. The before films show him laughing and messing around before the real deal. On stage, no one could stop him. He was a powerful force. The voice, the style, the way he moved around is outstanding. The band behind him made everything run like clockwork but it was Elvis who made it look like childs play. Elvis was and still is the KING!
The outstanding parts are: the wonderful Polk Salad Annie and the great Suspicious Minds. I never seen a man so sexy and move so freely in my life. I sit there open mouthed as I watched Elvis knock everyone dead and I'm sure everyone wanted to be there while they watched. One Nite is also one of my fave parts coz the way he tells the band what to play hehe. He had them all in my hands and they loved it. The fans were the same. All Elvis had to do was smile, laugh or bend down and they were screaming for more.
Elvis Aaron Presley is the KING. No one can stop what he started and this DVD proves that no matter what happens in this world....Elvis is still the KING! If your not sure about Elvis....buy this DVD and then ur see the King in action....and ur be blow away!
5/5 from me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Elvis: That's not quite the way it was, 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] (DVD)
I've just purchased the Region 1 version of this fantastic look at a fun lovin', behind the scenes, Elvis on his way to the first of his Vegas spectacles. This new version of the movie is almost a completely NEW movie though. Having been a fan of the original film I could wait to see all my favourite songs, plus the promised extras - yes we do get more songs but we also get some glaring omissions. Most notablely NO 'I JUST CAN'T HELP BELIEVIN''- can you believe that !! This track was so popular at the time of the movie's original release the live track from the film became the definative version - and it's not there any more !! I'm sure that should be illegal!? (apparently a US copyright problem - so it may appear in the UK version...hmmm) Other ommisions include all the interviews with the Elvis fans which made the original movie so humourous. But you do get a new blinding version of Suspicious Minds!! The making of documentary is short but informative and the sound and picture quality are amazing compared to the original version. But I have mixed feelings -I'm disappointed that the original version of the movie is deleted but if you've never seen it, this movie is a fan's must have item! MGM re-release the original !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the finest hour and a half of Elvis money can buy., 30 Oct 2003
This review is from: Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] (DVD)
Its very simple, anyone who claims to be an Elvis fan MUST own this DVD. Ok lets start with the criticisms. I agree that whoever thought it a good idea to leave out "I just cant help believin" should be shot, this was always one of the finest parts of the film and I remember only too well the exitement of seeing it on "top of the pops" over 30 years ago (long before the luxury of video recorders) and trying to remember every second of it. That would be my only critisism, as a trade off you get "The wonder of you" and "Just pretend" to name but two of several tracks that didn't feature in the original film. A special treat I found was seeing Elvis and the guys singing "Its crying time" rather than just hearing it as in the original.
I for one was overjoyed to see all the rubbish about the fan club convention and the "fans" comments removed from the film. This has given every minute of the film back to showing Elvis at his best.
The quality of this DVD is as near to perfection as your going to get, the sound could maybe do with a little more power but the picture is pristine to the point that you could say it was a brand new film.
If, in the past you've seen "TTWII" and think theres no point in seeing it again then please please please think again, this is so improved its almost a new film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The King at his Best, 18 July 2002
By 
This new special edition video demonstrates what a powerful performer Presley was when he wanted to be. From the early recording outtakes that open the video, to the stunning footage of Elvis on stage in Las Vegas (edited highlights taken from 6 shows) this is music at it's best. The backing band and Sweet Inspiration's sound great and all songs are sung with Elvis's usual amazing vocal range. He looks cool as well. Score it and forget the sad memory of the fat Elvis in the late 70's. Here in 1971, the King returns to his throne after years of wasting his talent in 60's B-movies. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis towers over all, 28 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic. Elvis proves he is without equal in this re-made and re-mastered masterpiece. The clarity of the picture and the superb sound quality makes the original look like it was made by my mum. O.k, some of the best songs from the original are missing (this was due to disputes over publishing rights and led to this edition being cut by about an hour) but you hardly notice when faced with this near perfect example of what a real entertainer is like. It looks as if it was recorded yesterday.
If you are an Elvis fan then you MUST have this in your collection.
If you are not an Elvis fan, then it is ESSENTIAL that you have this in your collection. Trust me, you will not be disappointed - no matter what music you're into.
If you do not like this film then you are dead from the ears down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab5480f0)

This product

Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD]
Elvis: That's The Way It Is [DVD] by Elvis Presley (DVD - 2013)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews