Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess of Pop is back!
After far too long Kylie Minogue has finally made her return to pop music. And what a return this is. This album is pop music at its most perfect. Catchy and infectious tunes delivered by every gay man's favourite pop star. Britney and Madonna, it's time to step aside now and let the true queen of the charts show you how it's done:
1)SPINNING AROUND The single that...
Published on 26 Feb 2001 by samuelburrows@hotmail.com

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The "bonus" cd needed more planning...
If you are a Kylie fan and already have this album, PLEASE dont be fooled in thinking that you need this. YOU DONT!! Dont get me wrong, the original Light Years is fantastic , without a single flaw on the album, i'm solely basing this review on the whole "bonus" package. The extra cd consists of a hurry of remixes, and half of them have already been released on...
Published on 16 Mar 2001 by aboylikethis


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much touted bonus disco fails to meet expectations, 23 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
It's a pity that it turned out to be this way, as the original album was a solid disco romp with a millenium flair. The bonus disc does contain a couple of new remixes, such as the Club Mental Mix of 'Spinning Around' and the 7th Street Radio Mix of 'Please Stay.' The rest were commercially released as singles to and though they were fabulous remixes, this collection is somewhat a failure unless one has just started with this package. The Australian version happens to do this one better by providing the Metro Mix of 'Please Stay,' which heightens the emotional intensity of the original album cut. But of course, if you a hardcore Kylie fan, you're going to get them both, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie shows she still has that magic!, 15 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
I love Kylie. All the music she has ever released has been amazing. I personally loved her Indie stage (Confide In Me and Breathe were fantastic!). So, when I heard she was going back to her pop roots, I was a little...cautios. However, after hearing the three singles she has released, I knew that Kylie was back, and she still had that same magic and charm! Disco is the order of the day on Light Years, along with some cool dance tracks, slow songs and a few others too. My favourite songs on this album have to be 'Butterfly' and 'Light Years' (the title track). They are both very strong songs which I fell in love with the moment I heard them. The rest of the album was a joy to listen to aswell, and 'Bittersweet Goodbye' nearly made me cry because it was so full of emotion. So, don't just sit there! Order this fabulous CD now and Kylie will show you how it is done (again!)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light years ahead!, 22 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. P. Cushion "Paul Cushion" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
Kylie's triumphant come back album after her disasterous dark years (although i quite liked it) with Deconstruction! Fans obviously couldn't cope with Indie Kylie so she came back bolder than ever with something that she does best! Pure camp POP!!! She couldn't go wrong with this album as it appeals to so many different audiences such as children, adult fans who were children during her Stoch Aitken Waterman days, who can take an updated trip down memory lane with this and of course the gay scene who, i get the impression this album was aimed at! The first single 'Spinning Arond' put her back where she belongs- at the top!
Stand out tracks include 'On a night like this' 'Disco Down' 'Butterfly' 'Under the influence' and 'Light Years' but in fairness every song has its rightful place on this stunning album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disco Kylie...Feather boer and glitter a go go!!!!!!!, 28 Feb 2011
By 
Julia Havard "Heights47" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
Although her work previous to this was highly underrated and really rather good this was Kylie back on form and good pop shape if somewhat cheesy and often at times feeling a little camp cocktail party it feels somehow endearing as though she going it may be pop but quirky camp disco pop and even after 11 years and now no longer an 8 year old listenin to only the singles this catchy quirky surprisingly forgotten and underrated album in her collection is a sure fire way to perk your self up Disco Kylie=Good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply colourful and brilliantly going album!, 30 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
This is one of the finest and greatest albums Kylie has ever made since "Impossible Princess", but now she doesn't have that kind of expression-need to explore her inner feelings. This Light Years- album is very commercial and it was the best way to make a comeback. It's like a perfect skin. More deeper and colourful dance-pop than these today's grab with no-affective-beat and cheap beeping. I have many points of view, but this is the one I wrote. By the way, it's in FRENCH what Kylie says in "Your Disco Needs You". I recommend the b-side song "Ocean Blue" that you can find from On A Night Like This- single. If the album tracks don't satisfy you, then get that in your hands. It's real stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ALBUM, 29 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
I THINK THIS ALBUM HAS DONE VERY WELL. I LIKE HER SONG "SPINNING AROUND" I THOUGHT THAT WAS WICKED AND I ALSO LIKE THE SONG "KIDS" WHICH FEATURES ROBBIE WILLIAMS. I LOVE THE VIDEO, I LOVE THE WAY HER LIPS ARE DONE IN THE VIDEO VERY SEXY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back Kylie, 5 Jan 2005
By 
L. Omelasz "brekkie_tiffs" (Dundee, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
Well after a massive misfire with Impossible Princess (which didn't deserve the negativity it received), Kylie decides to get back to basics and do what she's good at: pop. It's exceptionally good and has Kylie trying out disco among other things (which she will perfect to a T on Fever). Some bumps occur though (especially the rubbish EuroPop-esque So Now Goodbye) but never lets this great album falter.
How many good tracks? 11 out of 14
Best track: Kids
Worst track: So Now Goodbye
1. Spinning Around 4/5
2. On a Night Like This 5/5
3. So Now Goodbye 1/5
4. Disco Down 4/5
5. Loveboat 4/5
6. Koocachoo 5/5
7. Your Disco Needs You 4/5
8. Please Stay 3/5
9. Bittersweet Goodbye 2/5
10. Butterfly 4/5
11. Under the Influence of Love 4/5
12. I'm So High 5/5
13. Kids 5/5
14. Light Years 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an ok album!, 17 April 2007
By 
Ruth (UK, leicester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
i don't really like this album either - ii do like the songs please stay, her best song ever, and i love on a nigh like this, spinning around, and bittersweet goodbye and your disco needs you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ridicilously........, 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
After reading all those reviews from obviously "no-matter-what-she's-doing-it's-great-anyway"-kylie-fans, I decided that there has to be a different meaning as well. The two pre-album tracks "spinning around" and "on a night like this" were good "light years"-appetizers, I have to admit. They remain the best tracks on the album. the lyrics and the hi-nrg beat of "light years" as well as the german spoken part of "your disco needs you" (what a title!) sent shivers of pure horror down my spine. in parts it's so embarassing, I blushed just from listening to it... take "loveboat" and you know what I mean. If it wasn't for her looks, no-one would be interested in the "singer" called kylie minogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Light Years
Light Years by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews