Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars74
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 June 2001
The Pogues were one of the unlikliest pop bands of the 80s, with their mad fusion of Irish folk and London punk, but their musical talent, and the lyrical brilliance of frontman Shane MacGowan, also made them one of the best. This compilation puts together (virtually) all their finest moments on one top value CD, from Latin carnival freakout 'Fiesta' to the desolate romance of 'A Pair of Brown Eyes', from the urban squalor of 'The Old Main Drag' to the blissed out sun-kissed tranquility of 'Summer in Siam'. For rousing rebel and drinking songs, there hasn't been a better band than The Pogues in the last twenty years. This CD is consistently enjoyable, funny, boisterous and tuneful, and more than occasionally poignant and profound. Their duet with the Dubliners on 'The Irish Rover' and everyone's favourite Christmas hit 'Fairy Tale of New York' (with the much lamented Kirsty MacColl) are of course included.
0Comment|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2001
The Pogues were a phenomenon, an unlikely blend of folk tradition and punk attitude fronted by a jug-eared gap-toothed pisshead and druggie who was also the most literate and talented songwriter of his generation. This CD has 21 of their finest moments, from the descolate romance of A Pair of Brown Eyes to the wild Latin American revelry of Fiesta, from the feisty reworking of traditional tune The Irish Rover (with their idols The Dubliners) to the simple but profound balladry of A Rainy Night in Soho. And loads more, including, of course, A Fairy Tale of New York featuring the late and very much lamented Kirsty MacColl. Any greatest hits collection misses off some tunes it shouldn't (Thousands are Sailing, Dark Streets of London and Birmingham Six all arguably deserve a place here) and the other Pogues must be pissed off (only one original Pogues song not written by Shane is included - with good reason in my opinion), but this is a great CD filled with brilliant tunes, ideal for bellowing along to while driving or drunk (but not both). Buy it - you deserve it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2002
a good sample of the pogues, I bought this to replace a few LP's that I bought years ago. I particularly wanted 'a rainy night in soho' - achingly beautiful on their EP 'Poguetry in motion', but oh what a dissapointment this was. 'They' have let some CLUMSY HALF-DEAF DONKEY in the studio loose on it, and this CD has a re-engineered version which has none of the purity of the origonal, and instead much additional noise. The rest of the CD is great, it would have been superb as a whole but for this glitch.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2001
This is perhaps a superfluous album for hardened Pogues fans, but it's nevertheless great stuff including loads of the songs that you wished had been on the initial Best of album. So alongside classics such as Dirty Old Town, The Irish Rover, and Fairytale, there are riproarers such as The Sick Bed of Cuchulainn, If I Should Fall from Grace, and The Boys from the County Hell, and slower, but equally gripping tunes such as Waltzing Matilda and The Old Main Drag. As an album, this fuses very well together, and presents a thorough view of the career of the Pogues. It's the nature of the band that the variety of songs they produced means that everyone has their own favourites, and this album in the main plumps for general taste winners, but this is a great entry into the world of Pogues music and style and not a bad version of a 'fan's own' compilation.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2003
It was "The Fairytale Of New York", that classic christmas song that sparked my interest in the Pogues. It's an awesome compilation of Irish folk music thats you will humm for ages afterwards. A brilliant CD.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
This album is truly the best of the Pogues. If you've heard a song you like from this band it's probably on this album. I bought it as a bit of a party album and it delivers this in spades. I wouldn't sit still in a dark room to listen on my own but that's not what the Pogues are about. This is music for a good time and I'm pleased I bought it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Released as The Pogues first started their now annual Christmas tours this album is, as the wrapper proclaims, `The Very Best of The Pogues'.

Not as complete as a full compliment of the original five Pogues albums or the two volume `best of/rest of' compilations it is a perfect introduction to one of the greatest bands to ever stand up, or even fall over, on stage.

Although omissions are easy to spot `Thousands Are Sailing' and `The Repeal of the Licensing Laws' being obvious, it does contain `The Band Played Waltzing Matilda' and so what we loose on the swings we gain on the roundabouts. Not that you can loose with this album, everyone a winner. If you don't own any Pogues albums, buy this one, you won't regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
The product was fine - if you like the Pogues - it was for Her in doors. However, the Download was a total pain I had four or five goes at it - the reason being, that amazon kept telling me to download the mp3 downloader and then to restsrt Safari - which I did, again and again - what a fiasco. I buy CDs no problem, transaction take secs, finished, but amazon tells me that they have this new, improved downloading system - joke. A download system that is painless would let you click download and it would end up on your desktop in a trice, or into iTunes, smish, smash, smosh. I shall forgo the download pain in futre and wait for snail mail - slow but painless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2001
The Pogues and particularly Shane McGownan have often being vilified and ignored by large sections of the media. This compilation furthers, however, the argument that the group are deserved of special mention in any reflection of music of the latter stages of the 20th century. This album in contrast to their previous curtailing "Best of" 14 track effort is both more reflective of the diversity of the Pogues music and also offers a better insight into the depth and distinctiveness of McGowan's often underestimated song writing ability with the inclusion of songs such as"The Old Main Drag","Summer in Siam" and "If I Should Fall from Grace with God". "And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda" is also a welcome addition. One criticism however-how can the dropping of "Thousands are Sailing",arguably McGowan's greatest effort,be justified. Overall however it is an exeptional compilation and a worthy purchase for an music fan with any degree of appreciation for quality music.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
The pogues are one of my favourite bands aswel as my step dads so when I bought him the "best of" he totally loved it. Would recommend for any fan.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)