Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2002
On first hearing this band on a Kerrang cd a couple of weeks ago, I knew I had to get the album when it came out. 36 Crazyfists are the most exciting band I've heard since I first heard Slipknot. The opening track, 'Turns to Ashes' is a masterpiece of songwriting and really sets you up for the rest of the album. The next few tracks showcase Brock Lindows astonishing mixture of melody and power. 'Slit Wrist Theory', the song that was on the Kerrang cd, has one of the greatest choruses you ever heard, sung with such passion and ferocity that it fair knocks you sideways. To include them in the current crop of half-arsed nu-metal (a term that is way overused and doesn't do them justice anyway) would be completely unfair. As someone who loves the sheer aggression of Slipknot (aswell as far heavier stuff) and the more subdued sound of Deftones, I can assure you that 36 Crazyfists deliver on both counts. 'Bury Me Where I Fall', with Skinlabs Steeve Esquivel on guest vocals is amazing, with his gruffer vocals complementing Brocks perfectly. The music is fantastic throughout, too. A lot of it could be compared to 'Around the Fur' if you had to compare it to anything. The riffs are by turns inventive and full-on brutal, the bass carries a nice, tuned down sound and the drumming drives the tempo, be it slow and melodic or heavy as hell, brilliantly.
In all then, as i say at the top, this is one of the best albums I've heard in a LONG time. You really will be missing out if you pass it by...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2002
How many times have you heard a song that just grabs your attention, yet the rest of the album lets you down?
Well 'Bitterness the Star' does not do this.
Most people will first hear of 36 Crazyfists by the amazing 'Slit Wrist Theory' but may be worried that the rest of the album may disappoint. Well fear not- you should be pleasantly surprised.
When I heard the album I got shivers down my spine. Brock Lindow's voice is truly amazing, and sings the tortured but beautiful lyrics with unbelievable emotion. Contrasting with the powerful guitar sound- reminiscant of the deftones and glassjaw.
Particular high points are of course 'Slit Wrist Theory', plus 'An Agreement Called Forever' and 'Two Months From a Year'.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2002
Following on from the success of Slipknot and Nickelback, Roadrunner try to capitalise with their latest up-and-coming nu-breed metallers 36 Crazyfists. Hailing from Anchorage, 36 Crazyfists may seem a bit isolated from the current crop of mainstream metal stars, but this, their long anticipated debut, presses all the right buttons. Typically of the scene at the moment, it offers little original, but at least the influences can't be faulted. Coming across as hardcore-tinged nu-metal, a hefty dose of Glassjaw with melodic edges reminiscent of Deftones and Lost Prophets, Bitterness The Star is competent if not quite amazing. Frontman Brock Lindow's vocals are the only feature to stand out, but give what are almost nu-metal-angst-by-numbers tracks like 'Turn to Ashes' and 'Slit Wrist Theory' an extra edge. Although it takes a couple of listens, the album offers more than most of the current crop, the less bone-crunching 'An Agreement Called Forever', for example, demonstrating a lighter and more mature side. Altogether an impressive number of influences are blended into 46 minutes that should please most fans. Despite seeming at times to lack variety or a cutting edge in the overcrowded nu-metal angst-market and the occasional dud (the rather unconvincing 'Left Hand Charity'), 36 Crazyfists have a debut that certainly establishes them as ones to watch.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2004
Bought this CD about 6 months ago when I was just getting into this kind of music. I wasn't expecting much so when i listened to it I was quite surprised. Its quite hard metal but really amazing. Incredible guitarists and the lead has a great voice. And the lyrics are great as well.
Favourites for me have to be slit wrist theory and turns to ashes.
If you like killswitch engage, fear factory, machine head, chimara, sepeltura; you WILL love this.
Recommend this to anyone who likes the kinda music in this genre. Have yet to find out what their latest album is like!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2002
'Turn to Ashes' kick starts this album with an up beat piece of well crafted emotional heaviness, with a soothing chorus and a brutal bridge the first track is a stormer! As the record progresses you really start to notice this bands full potential.The band having signed to Roadrunner Records last year, 'biterness the star' has been a long time in coming but is worth every penny! 'Circle the Drain' continues the bands blend of many styles of music into one, whilst also having the skull crushing riffage of earlier songs. 'Slit wrist theory' is a change, it sends a sweet melodic guitar riff, followed by a groove orientated bassline, before the whole band explode into a violent storm of hatred! Ladys and gentlemen, we have a winner here! 36 Crazyfists, remember the name cos when they're huge you'll wish you heard them first!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2002
What can i say?? This Album ROCKS! After hearing them first on Download 2001 "circle the drain" (easily the best track on the album) i waited and waited, scouring the internet for information on this new band, but nothing existed! then kerrang published a cd with another song of theirs "slit wrist theory" and i new it was just a matter of time. and sure enough, this is our reward, this album gives you everything you could ever wish for from a metal band. AND MORE!!! bone crunching riffs, militant drumming and heart warming, ear piercing, head banging, hate filled, lust fuelled, rage loaded vocals, and dont get me started on the melody!! this album is one of the greatest around. forget deftones, slipknot, glassjaw and company. these guys make them look like amateurs!!! and the closing track is one of the most hauntingly beautiful tracks ever laid down, its up there with deftones be quiet and drive acoustic. you just better pray they get over to the uk soon before the corporate market gets a hold of this unstoppable band and we have a repeat of whats happened to bands like lost prophets (all about the dollars)who are now well and truly lost.(keep an eye out for them at next years brits, they'll be in the catergory with the strokes) lets hope the isolated upbringing has allowed them to develop and observe whats happens to bands like these and they stay well away. buy this album now.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2005
Already hailed as 'Your New Favourite Band', this shows what all the fuss is about. Although it is not insanely heavy, it mixes melody and hardcore (mainly due to the vocals), and features as a must own for every metal fan. It also features some great emotional moments as a break from the screaming with 'Slit Wrist Theory' and 'Two Months From A Year'. Standout songs: One More Word, Slit Wrist Theory, Two Months From A year and An Agreement Called Forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2011
I know it's a brilliant album but for me it was all about Slit Wrist Theory. After listening to said track about 200 times, the rest of the album met with my criticism... it's all brilliant.

I now look forward to the next 36CF album for my collection - doing it in release order so I have a way to go yet ;-D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
The band's name comes from a Jackie Chan movie, Jackie Chan And The 36 Crazy Fists. This is great metal record by the Alaskan band. Its my favorite from all their albums.It was released on April 2 2002 via Roadrunner Records
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Advertised as 'like new' however box was broken and therefore should have been promoted at this standard.
Having said that, a great album and I'm happy with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)