Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars13
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 March 2013
Mainly I watched this because I had been living in Minnesota - I know this may sound lame. I do not agree it is a romantic thriller, as the plot is barely non-existing. It is not even a romantic comedy, as there is too much blood and fights, and dead bodies. It does have some (faint) links with Pulp Fiction - style movies, but misses that level of action. All in all, it is OK for evening when one is tired but not enough to go straight to bed. When it is over, it will be soon forgotten. The soundtrack is perhaps the most valuable part of it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2005
This is a bit of a weird film, especially for non-Americans, since it contains a lot of details that are very, very American... In contrary to what is stated on the cover of the DVD, it is not Jjaks who runs away with the bride, but rather the other way round: She decides at the wedding feast that he's more attractive, takes him to bed and insults him until he does run away with her. They don't have any money, so they need to "find" some. They have no car, so Jjaks "organises" one. Then there's a direct confrontation between the two brothers which is good for a lot of laughs.
Only the end is a bit lame, but after all the film is classed as a romance, not as a thriller.
(BTW, I know what opinion some people have of Keanu Reeves' qualities as an actor, and I think I should mention that I really think he does a perfectly good show.)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2001
Keanu Reeves swaps his usual good-guy romantic-hero image for a more downbeat character. Instead of him pulling the girl, she pulls him! No special effects here and the film looks suitably downbeat to match Keanu, but is accompanied by a good soundtrack (Bob Dylan, Nancy Sinatra, the Righteous Brothers amongst others). The plot is different enough to keep you hooked.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
It was a good fun in a way movie so for an evening I do recommend it so thums up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2004
Jjaks (Reeves) is a drifter who comes home for his horrible brother's (D'Onofrio) wedding, but ends up running away with his bride (Diaz), however, the groom is only one step behind and he is hungry for revenge...
This is a funny all-round-good-film and stars Keanu Reeves (the Matrix trilogy), Cameron Diaz (Charlies Angels,Kill Bill) and Vincent D'Onofrio who pull this plot off very well.
Very good film, diffinately worth seeing. ENJOY!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
great product and speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Item Received Many Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Enjoyed this film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
I have watched this so many times I have lost count. What a bittersweet, charmingly funny black comedy this is. Keanu is amazing, Cameron is bearable (for a change), Dan Ackroyd is amusing and Vincent D'Onofrio steals many of the scenes he is in.

A annoying appearance by Courtney Love ruins the movie a little but on the whole, a strange yet wonderful film. The ending looks like it was tacked on with sellotape (as does Keanu's wig) but it doesn't ruin a great experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Not so good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)