Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLEOPATRA,S BACK WITH AVENGANCE!, 10 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
FOR MOST OF MY ADULT LIFE I,VE BEEN SEARCHING FOR A COPY OF THIS BRILLIANT SCORE BY ALEX NORTH, WHEN I FIRST HEARD THE MAIN THEME I JUST COULD,NT GET IT OUT OF MY HEAD, BUT NOW IT,S HERE AT LONG LAST, THE MUSIC ON THIS DOUBLE CD HAS BEEN TOTALLY REMASTERED TO TODAYS STANDARDS, THE MUSIC SOUNDS AS FRESH AS IT DID ALL THOSE YEARS AGO, THE MUSIC HAS BEAUTIFUL SWEEPING THEMES FOR CLEOPATRA,JULIUS CEASAR AND MARK ANTONY, THIS SOUNDTRACK IS FOR ALEX NORTH FANS OR FANS OF THE FILM ITSELF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack as they should be, 30 Sep 2003
By 
Peter Morrison "luxor180" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
The opening music of this film have stayed with me for over 40 years (I even wrote some lyrics for it) The composer had his own ideas of how this score should be done and most of it is inspired. From the use of the the original style of Roman horns for blaring fanfares, to cues reminiscent of Prokofiev, to the almost 50's love theme for Anthony and Cleopatra, the music is interesting and compelling. The amount of music for the film was immense. Some have said North borrowed from Spartacus, but this is pure nonsense. These were two very different films. There is none of the innocence of the love in the other film. Cleopatra is about people who know their way around. The jet setters of the Roman World, and the music reflects this. As far as I can tell every cue is there on the discs.
The recording is crisp and the double disc set comes with a 24 page booklet crammed with information about the film and the music.
This is a must for anyone who claims to be a serious collector of film music, or indeed for those who just love music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex North's "Cleopatra", 19 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
Since its release in the early 60s, the film "Cleopatra" seems to have divided opinion sharply; some see it as a cinematic triumph, others as a sprawling mess. Nevertheless, most seem to be in agreement on one thing, and that is the quality of Alex North's score for the film.
I have great difficulty when attempting to sum up this mammoth effort in a few words. Is the music eerie, hypnotic, and haunting? Absolutely. Is it mysterious, evocative, and beautiful? Definitely. Indeed, when listening to this score, I'm struck by how subtle and sophisticated it is. So what do I actually mean by that? Well, the primary aim of a film score must be to augment the subject of the film itself, thus enhancing the viewing experience of the audience, and here, North succeeds admirably. However, the music has a freshness and vitality, a sort of "timeless" quality, which gives it a life of its own beyond the boundaries of the film.
I must admit that I'm not an admirer of all of North's work, some of which I find to have too "abstract" a quality about it. Of course,this is purely subjective, and comes down to a matter of personal taste. Objectively, anyone who listens to his music for the likes of "Virginia Woolf", "Spartacus", "Cheyenne Autumn" and "The Agony and the Ecstasy" can only acknowledge the man as a master craftsman, and "Cleopatra" as his masterpiece.
Finally, thanks to Varese Sarabande for making this double cd available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for all ears., 3 Dec 2007
By 
S. M. Araujo (Rio Tinto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
For years and years I wore out my Cleopatra vhs tapes and dived into the enchantment of Ancient Egypt. The movie is a feast for all five senses and Alex North's soundtrack is truly fantastic - I love working (I'm a literature researcher) listening to this wonderful edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cleopatra 2 disk soundtrack review, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
Having previously heard only some of this score via inferior earlier CD releases, I can say that the sound quality of this restoration is a revelation. The music has presence, depth, great separation and now I can hear instruments that were barely audible before. Wonderful!

Its a long album though. Both disks are in excess of 70 minutes, so I'm still working my way through them.

If you are a fan of Alex North's music or a film score collector, then you need to hear this two CD set from Varese Sarabande.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cleopatra soundtrack, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
excellent sound,considering the age of the recording,well packaged and the booklet that is with it is first class great detail into the recording and information on the cast is excellent,highlyrecommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cleopatra soundtrack, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
What a great soundtrack. The music is spot on and great to hear. What else can I say about this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cleopatra Original Soundtrack CD, 5 Feb 2011
By 
Peter M. (Queensland, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
Simply stunning music- and this CD will take you step by step through the film to re-live every scene in superb sound so full of the vibrancy of the original scenes. Do not hesitate to buy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!!!!, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleopatra - Original soundtrack of the film featuring Elizabeth Taylor (2CD) (OST) (Audio CD)
Not played it yet but arrived well packaged and in great nick. very quick also. would do business with again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews