Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British telly at its best
I'm an avid Blackadder fan and I loved this series. The only permanent members (in every episode) of the Blackadder crew this time round as Rowan Atkinson, Hugh Laurie and Tony Robinson but Stephen Fry, Tim McInnery and Miranda Richardson also make appearances. This series hits the tone just right between sarcasm and exaggerated stupidness for plenty of laughing fits and...
Published on 27 April 2003 by hazellawlaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
a present for someone else
Published 6 months ago by Hannibal


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British telly at its best, 27 April 2003
I'm an avid Blackadder fan and I loved this series. The only permanent members (in every episode) of the Blackadder crew this time round as Rowan Atkinson, Hugh Laurie and Tony Robinson but Stephen Fry, Tim McInnery and Miranda Richardson also make appearances. This series hits the tone just right between sarcasm and exaggerated stupidness for plenty of laughing fits and ginormously good storylines as well as jokes. Watch out for the enormous trousers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, slightly dissapointing DVD conversion, 7 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Blackadder has to be one of the funnies TV series ever made, undoubtedly a classic. The transfer to DVD is clean and well-done, but lacks extras. The US Blackadder boxed set has a lot of extras - interviews, historical backgrounds and extra episodes. Not only did it take longer for the BBC version to be released, it doesn't have any of these extras.
Still well worth buying, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better Third Time Around, 6 May 2007
After the success of the second instalment, Richard Curtis and Ben Elton decided that Blackadder should have a third appearance. This time instead of Tudor times or Elizabethan times, Edmund Blackadder (BAFTA nominated Rowan Atkinson) is living in the time of the French Revolution. Accompanied by the now stupid but lovable Baldrick (Tony Robinson) Blackadder is the "faithful" butler to George, the Prince Regent of Wales (Hugh Laurie). Throughout this third series to the wonderfully written sitcom Blackadder tries everything he can to get rich and powerful. He tries electing a lord for a rotten borough, tries to sell a book, tries to win a bet about The Scarlet Pimpernel, tries to be a highway man and finally poses as the Prince. This is a very good instalment to the popular comedy. Includes appearances from Robbie Coltrane, Tim McInnerny, Miranda Richardson and Stephen Fry. It won the BAFTA for Best Comedy Series, and it was nominated for Best Design and Best Make Up. Edmund Blackadder was number 3 on The 100 Greatest TV Characters, and he was number 3 on The World's Greatest Comedy Characters, and Blackadder (all four series) was number 2 on Britain's Best Sitcom. Outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have family entertainment video- Hilarious!, 16 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
Another three great episodes from what I think is the most well written series. Meet Mc Adder- Blackadders ginger moustached mad Socttish cousin, and the lovely wovely Amy wamy- the bride-to-be of Prince Gorge. It has the usual great characters, hilarious scripts and the added bonuses of a dual, a wedding and a turnip! Highly recommeded- can be enjoyed over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bladders Peaks !, 8 Jan. 2001
If this does not make you laugh, please check the following;
A. Your ears. B. Your television's speakers. c. Your pulse.
All the charactors, jokes, one-liners ( C - big blue wobbley thing that mermaids live in) and even plots are spot on, with 'Thicky George'(Hugh Laurie) stealing sceen after sceen.
This is where Blackadder was always heading for.
Superior to the previous 2 outings, and contains most of the jokes used in the fading Blackadder goes forth.
Bigger than "..a whale omlette.." and sexier too (Woof! Woof!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated classic, 30 Sept. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The third series of Blackadder tends to get forgotten because its sandwiched between the superb series 2 and the even more superb series 4. Be of no doubt though this is comedy of the highest class. Maybe not quite as good as those two but still exceptional.

The highlights in series 3 are many, but my favourites are the episode with Robbie Coltrane as Samuel Johnson and the episode with Stephen Fry as Wellington. There are an endless stream of fabulous lines from these two episodes, but I'll settle for one [Blackadder replying to the Prince Regent when asked whether he thought Johnson was a genius]:
"No sir, I do not. Unless, of course, the definition of genius in his ridiculous dictionary is 'a fat dullard or wobble-bottom; a pompous ass with sweaty dewflaps"

Hugh Laurie deserves credit for playing the Prince Regent so brilliantly and naturally Rowan Atkinson as Blackadder the Butler is perfect. Its hard to believe that its twenty years ago since this was first aired, and that it hasn't dated at all. Superb comedy and entertainment all rolled into one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I offer the scriptwriters my most enthusiastic contrafibularatories, 28 Feb. 2011
Having found the 'true' Blackadder in the second series, this third season moves us on a little in history to the regency period. Miranda Richardson's schoolgirl-esque Queenie is replaced by Hugh Laurie's idiot schoolboy-like portrayal of the Prince Regent; Baldrick's ever decreasing intelligence and wit is exacerbated seemingly without end and Edmund Blackadder grows in his sneering indignation of all those around him. There is no real equivalent of Lord Melchett, Percy or Nursie, and as such the cast is much more exclusive. The 'regulars' such as Tim McInerny and Stephen Fry are restricted to each appearing in only one episode.

It is amazing at how much is packed into just 6 half hour episodes. The 'gag count' seems to have gone up from series 2, though not quite reaching the constant joke-after-joke of series 4. The history of the period is immaculately observed and this allows for cutting and insightful satire. The stand out episode of the series is undoubtedly when Samuel Johnson presents his dictionary. At first look it is hilariously funny, full of misdirection and the usual Blackadder-esque imaginative insults. However, the genius is revealed in the scene when Blackadder makes up words to annoy Johnson; if you look at the etymology of the constituent parts (and yes, I am an etymology geek) of those words. For example, contrafibularatories is clearly a reference to "pulling your leg."

There are few comedy series that come close to this in terms of genius and longevity, and it is a masterclass for anyone interested in comedy writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!, 6 Jan. 2004
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Adder 3 [DVD] [1983] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
When I watch BlackAdder I, I say this is the Best of the BA series. Then I watch BlackAdder II, and I say this is the Best of the BA series!
So I once again say, this is the best of the BA series! And I REALLY mean that! I think III is just a cut above the rest, because not only is Rowan Atkinson at his best, Hugh Laurie as the Prince Regent is an equal match so you have the two of them pushing each other.
In Dish and Dishonesty - Edmund see his chance to make the move from Prince's Butler to a MP by staging the elections. The episode is sidesplitting.
Ink and Incapability - Edmund wants to become a writer, but runs afoul of the first English dictionary
Nob and Nobility - The French are revolting - no they ARE really revolting and it sets the Stage for of lot of master of disguises
Sense and Senility - The Prince regent becomes enthralled of acting and pulls the whole household into it, having Edmund to recruit two actors to be the Prince's coach.
Aim and Amiability - the Prince Regent has over spent again, so Edmund must play matchmaker to find the prince a rich bride, only both sides are hiding things
Duel and Duality - The Price makes a mistake of romancing the Duke of Wellington's daughter and now it's 20 paces at dawn...unless Edmund can think of something to stop it.
Baldrick is back and Edmund's dogsbody and manage to steal the scenes! Look out for the Turnip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It can't do any wrong., 6 April 2010
By 
Ben Nicholson "Benkernow" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's another laughable, silly and great series. Like series 2 and 4 It's a must have. I can't do it justice so all I can say is it's probably the greatest comedy's of all time. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Prince Amongst Comedies., 26 Jan. 2008
After the disappointment I had suffered on watching `Blackadder II' after `The Black Adder' I wasn't particularly looking forward to watching `Blackadder the Third'. It arrived perfectly formed as the best sitcom I'd ever seen. The shift to Regency England seemed to suit the Production Design of BBC sitcoms and the writing team of Richard Curtis and Ben Elton where firing on all cylinders.

The cast also came into there own, where Blackadder II relied on hackneyed and previously mined comedy of the `Virgin' Queen and her court the residence of the somewhat stupid George, Prince Regent, brought to life by Hugh Laurie worked well as foil to Blackadder without the fret of execution which limited the wit of his ancestor.

The historical references also seem to flow better than previously with Dr Johnson, Byron and Wellington all appearing. Stephen Fry is magnificent as Wellington and brings the contempt that was exhibited to the Regent perfectly to the screen. The climax to this, the third, series of Blackadder was unexpected in context of its predecessors and yet also absolutely in keeping. I didn't think this sitcom could ever be bettered, then I saw `Blackadder Goes Forth'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews