Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 Beach Boys Albums, 1 CD, Add 4 Bonus Tracks !, 11 Mar 2010
By 
J. Thompson "Willingale" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
Before The Beach Boys started to record such great songs as God Only Knows and Good Vibrations came these 2 top albums.
Little Deuce Coupe and All Sunmmer Long centre around hot rods, surfing and action on the beach.
The songs are short at about 2 minutes each, but nearly all are essential to me.
Only let downs are Our Favourite Recording Sessions (keep them to yourself!)
and although the cover states it's all in stereo, that is not true for the majority of the tracks.
All in all good value and excellent production standards taking into account they were recorded in 1963-1964.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cars and beaches are the main topics here, 29 Mar 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
The first album of the two that make up this twofer, Little deuce coupe, is mostly about cars, while the second, All summer long, is mostly about the beach although cars also feature on that album. On both albums, I generally like the upbeat songs best.
Four of the songs on Little deuce coupe had appeared before - the title track, 409, Our car club and Shut down – but they fitted the theme of this album. The title track had originally been a B-side to another single (Surfer girl) and had also been released on the album album of the same title, yet it still became an American top twenty hit. 409, originally the B-side of Surfing safari, and Shut down, originally the B-side of Surfing USA, became lesser hits.
Of the other tracks on Little deuce coupe, Be true to your school is the original album version. Another, very different, version was recorded and released as a single. That version is included here as a bonus track. No-go showboat is an interesting album track – it was even covered by Petula Clark in French.
The second album, All summer long, opens with the American chart-topper I get around, which also gave the Beach boys their first British top ten hit. Surprisingly, the title track was never released as a single – the only other single from the album was the minor hit Little Honda. Wendy, another excellent song, was featured on a four-track EP. Don’t back down is another under-rated cut on this album.
The bonus tracks feature alternate versions of three songs plus All dressed up for school, a track that was not released at the time.
This twofer is an excellent example of the Beach boys’ early years, essential for all fans of their music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surf-rock at its finest., 11 Feb 2002
By 
yarborough (northridge, ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
Little Deuce Coupe is a car-themed concept album that has some good rock moments, such as "Car Crazy Cutie," "Cherry, Cherry Coupe," "No-Go Showboat," "A Young Man is Gone," and the album version of "Be True to Your School" (the single version is superior). The rest are mostly car classics from the previous three albums. This was a rushed record, but it stands pretty strong, if a bit corny.
All Summer Long is the pinnacle of surf-rock, with legendary cuts like the title track, "I Get Around," "Little Honda," "Don't Back Down," and astoundingly beautiful ballads, such as "We'll Run Away," "Girls on the Beach," "Wendy," and the cover of "Hushabye." "Drive-In" is also wonderful fun. "Do You Remember?" has fine music but suffers from poor lyrics, and "Our Favorite Recording Sessions" is simply a reel of outtakes, but these two cuts aren't nearly enough to damage such an impressive album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beach Boys Little Deuce Coupe, 3 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Mason (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
I lost my LP many years ago. It is such a joy to be able to listen to it again. Excellent item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Celebrate The Summer, 1 April 2001
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
Such was the demand for product from The Beach Boys at this juncture that 'Little Deuce Coupe' the first of the two albums collected here was released a mere 30 days after it's predessesor, the excellent 'Surfer Girl'. Dispite the fact that nearly half the record wasn't new it sounds like a very real album to me. Great singing on 'Ballad Of Ole Betsy' and the cheery 'Car Crazy Cutie' will always raise a smile.
'All Summer Long' opens with arguably one of the greatest numbers in rock history. 'I Get Around' from start to finish is perfection. Also on this album the likes of 'Wendy' showcased Brian Wilson's increasing production talents. 'Don't Back Down' which closed the original album is a minute and a half of sheer perfection that begs to be played again and again. Only a few tracks are filler, more noticeable on 'Little Deuce Coupe' actually, and the whole reissue is a good bargain for all music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stereo except I-get_around/All-summer-long, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
This CD is generally good value for money.

The individual albums are quite short (12 tracks each and about most tracks about 2 and half minutes), but combining them and adding some bonus tracks makes a good CD.

These are early Beach Boys albums, without the sophistication of Pet Sounds, that are representative of the early 1960's.
My 6 year old grandson likes them (but no doubt his tastes will change). For myself they are nostalgic.

All the tracks are in stereo except I Get Around and All Summer Long, with the sleeve notes claiming that Stereo versions could not be found, which is curious because these are now available as mp3 downloads. Though the mp3 versions are quite expensive I downloaded them so that I have everything in Stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
Brings back teenage memories, a great couple of albums. This product arrived as expected in fine condition, well packaged so no damage was incurred. Delivery was quick and efficiient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The phenomenal Beach Boys, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
I now have most of the albums ever made by this greatest of all groups. Little Deuce Coupe is all about cars and though not great is
very, very good, I would not be without it. The great albums started with 'Today' when Brian took on the new stay at home role of
producer, songwriter. This is 2 albums on one, the other being 'All Summer Long' another wonderful album, well worth a place in any
collection. I have been listening to the Beach Boys for more than 50 years now and find them impossible to tire of as I have with other
what seemed wonderful groups. These are the boys that Shaun Lennon, son of John, listens to every single day, I know exactly how he feels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surpasses Beatles' Abbey Road, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
To discover an album that surpasses Abbey Road both musically and technically and then to realise that the album was made mere months after the release of 'Love Me Do' is a revelation. Little Deuce Coupe has ideas and performance that astonish almost four deacdes on. The songs, harmonies and musicianship equal anything the Beatles did later. I can hardly believe that I have lived so long without this album in my life. There are the Yesterdays, the Eleanor Rigbys and even the Strawberry Fields on this album. 1963? I still don't believe it. Mono too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Summer Long, I Get Around, & a lot more., 2 Dec 2009
This review is from: Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long (Audio CD)
This is the typical cars,sunshine,surfboards and girls Beach Boys CD. It perfectly captures that feeling and time. There are hits such as I Get Around, & Little Deuce Coupe, but all 29 tracks are great fun.If you are new to the music of the Beach boys, this would be a good introduction to their earlier years. It is difficult to imagine the stories of family strife and personal issues that affected the band, while listening to such bright & breezy tracks. Happy, beautiful music. The booklet comes with rare photographs and informative text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long
Little Deuce Coupe/All Summer Long by The Beach Boys (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews