Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Me, Myself And Irene" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc...
If you're buying the hilarious (and alarmingly rude) "Me, Myself And Irene" on BLU RAY - don't be tempted by the cheap prices of the American versions.

They're on 20th Century Fox and are all REGION A LOCKED - so they won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Opt for the UK issue instead (Region B) - and...
Published 12 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars only ignorant people would find this film funny. a completely false representation of schizophrenia
only ignorant people would find this film funny. a completely false representation of schizophrenia,
only one accurate fact which was side effect from medication and how this is funny is beyond me.
Published 8 months ago by a j ward


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Me, Myself And Irene" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
If you're buying the hilarious (and alarmingly rude) "Me, Myself And Irene" on BLU RAY - don't be tempted by the cheap prices of the American versions.

They're on 20th Century Fox and are all REGION A LOCKED - so they won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Opt for the UK issue instead (Region B) - and you won't get any nasty playback problems...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FUNNY AND FILTHY..., 10 Nov. 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
If you are a fan of the Farrelly brothers other movies, "King Pin", "There's Something About Mary", and "Dumb and Dumber", then you will really enjoy this movie. The Farrelly brothers and Jim Carrey are a match made in heaven. Their style suits Carrey's, as the movie is full of the physical comedy and sight gags that are Carrey's forte.
This is a pretty funny, though somewhat sophomoric, movie. It is also pretty filthy, at times, and definitely not for the movie goer of delicate sensibilities. There is something to offend just about everyone, so be prepared.
The basic premise of the movie is simple. A Rhode Island state trooper, Charley Baileygates, played by Jim Carrey, marries the prettiest and smartest girl in town. After she gives birth to triplets for whom Charley could not possibly be the father, for reasons obvious to the viewer, she later leaves him for another man, her soul mate and likely father of the triplets. She leaves Charley with the triplets, whom he raises as his own. The cuckolded Charley goes on to become the town joke and a seriously repressed man.
Eighteen years later, he snaps and begins to express his anger through an alternate personality and quintessential bad boy who calls himself Hank. Hank has attitude and plenty of it, and he lets everyone know that he is mad as hell and is not going to take it anymore. Charley's superiors send him to be evaluated, and he is given medication to control his psychiatric disorder.
Enter Irene, played by Rener Zellweger. Charley is asked to escort her to upstate New York where she is ostensibly wanted on a hit and run. Unbeknownst to either of them, she is being hunted down by dirty cops who are looking to silence her, as it is believed that she may have information that could take down her crooked ex boyfriend who is being investigated by the EPA.
During their trip, Hank, Charley, and Irene have a host of advantures, which are often hilarious, as Charley and Hank battle over who will become the dominant personality. The low key Zellweger is a good foil for the rubber faced Carrey's physical comedy. As Charley and Irene are pursued by the dirty cops, the now grown triplets, funny and profane, also add another element, as they go to their father's rescue.
The DVD provides great audio and first rate visuals. It also offers something for everyone, as it has a plethora of enjoyable bonus features. It is a DVD that all Carrey fans should have in their collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How come this movie made no money, 21 Jun. 2001
By 
This film is just as clever and outrageous as the Farrelly bros other stuff, but it didn't do very well at all critically or commercialy. I think I can tell you why: it's the voice over. The film is narrated by Rex Allen Jr., the son of the fellow who did all those "Charlie the Lonesome Cougar" Disney movies in the fiftes and sixties. He has one of those warm, down home, sincere and sweet american voices, it just oozes charm and gentle sensibility. And that's the problem. Most of the humour is quite edgy and bizarre, not at all politically correct, and normally people love that from these gentlemen. But when it's juxtaposed with this warm and sincere voice, the humour is no longer wild and fun, it just seems in bad taste. It's like watching the movie with your mother and priest, it sort of hampers (but not kills) the fun. Of course, if you're already far beyond sick and depraved, like the other reviewers on this page (and myself) you'll probably love the movie anyway. Just admit you have a diseased outlook on life and go ahead and buy the darn thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Verry Carrey, 3 April 2011
By 
D. Andrews (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Excellent film, very funny. Typical Carrey. Surreal but isn't he normally? Loved this extraordinary tale of a man who has been taken advantage of all his life. His inner evil decides enough is enough and starts to show itself in hilarious situations. The bit with the cow is spectacular. I liked it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Multi-faceted and funny!,, 17 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I think the Brothers would do well to cast Jim Carrey in more of their movies. I found Dumb and Dumberto be absolutely hilarious and, once again, he has made "Me, Myself and Irene" a truly enjoyable piece of comedy. Without his fabulous physical performance, this film would be reduced to a string of sight gags and toilet humor which we have all seen before in dozens of other movies.

Narrated, in cheesy-fairy-tale style, by Rex Allen Jr., Me, Myself & Irene tells the story of Charlie Baileygates (Jim Carrey), an exceedingly nice Rhode Island State Trooper. He marries the love of his life only to have her run off with an African-American midget and leave their three racially mixed kids for Charlie to raise. Some sixteen years later, the kids have grown up to be geniuses and Charlie grows up with a problem. You see, as various misfortunes have befallen him over the years, he had adopted a grin-and-bear-it attitude that resulted in a lot of bottled-up anger. All that emotion is now releasing itself in the form of advanced delusionary schizophrenia with narcissistic rage, a.k.a. multiple personality disorder.

While Charlie is gentle and wary of any confrontation, his other personality Hank is exactly the opposite. He spouts insults all over the place and picks fights with everyone he encounters. Charlie's doctor gives him medication that is supposed to suppress Hank, but Charlie leaves it in his hotel room while escorting a pretty girl named Irene (Renee Zellweger) to upstate New York. He also falls in love with Irene and vows to protect her from crooks and corrupt cops who are after her (among them Chris Cooper, fresh off his American Beauty triumph). But not surprisingly, Hank keeps getting in the way.

I know that this movie was not exactly embraced by critics which blows my mind. Seeing that everyone completely adored There's Something About Mary (Widescreen Edition) - basically all the same jokes without Jim Carrey to pull them off. This movie is not for everyone, but any astute movie watcher and any true Jim Carrey fan will instantly see the uncompromising energy which he poured into his 2 characters. He is truly a wonder to behold and will go down in history as one of the greatest physical comedic actors of all time. Say what you will about the movie, but it really is a shame that the Academy consistently overlooks Carrey's gifted performances. He has proven that he is a talented actor with the range to perform both serious and comedic roles. Gifted dramatic actors are a dime a dozen in Hollywood - I defy you to find a comedian who can do the things that Carrey does on screen and who can make audiences laugh with just a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Me, Myself and Irene, 24 April 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Me, Myself and Irene is an extremely funny film the shows the amazing talents of Jim Carey off to the full. What I'm left wondering after watching it is whether the film makers should have become completely honest and just ditched any pretence at a storyline of any sort and just left it as a showcase for Carey's madcap capering.
As I say Carey once again steals the show and whether you love him or loathe him, I would challenge anyone to watch the sequence when he beats himself up, including the stunt where he throws himself out of the car, and not be impressed by his fantastic mime abilities and sheer comic genius.
The rest of the comic moments are provided by the Farrelly brothers' typical fare of gross over the top pranks and these seem to hit the mark although even by their outrageous standards some of the jokes seemed really near to edge for me!
I loved the interplay of Carey's three "sons" and the addition of "Whitey" the albino worked for me also.
As I say the actual story is really secondary to the film's aims and this is the only part worthy of criticism. The "touching" scenes between Carey and Rene Zellweger were tedious and unconvincing, but I guess that wasn't the point of the film anyway.
I would normally score this film three stars, but I'll give it one extra for Carey's fine performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My jaws were sore with laughing, 26 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Who is this Andy Spletzer? I hope Amazon.com don't pay him for writing reviews. This is one of the funnest films I have ever seen. My jaws were sore from laughing. If you buy just one comedy DVD this year buy Me myself and Irene, if it don't make you laugh then get yourself down to the doctor. Yhis is a film to sit back and say
"OK I'm going to go with this"
A really great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Film, 26 Feb. 2008
By 
Mrs. J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Jim Carrey in one of his best films. Good scenery and good story line. Very funny movie from start to the end. Taurus Award and Teen Choice Award was won by this film. It should have been an Oscar for Jim Carrey. If you like Jim Carrey you will enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny with eye candy, 17 Oct. 2012
By 
muddy9mtb "J" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
very funny film, how Jim Carrey could improve on the superb ace venture can be viewed in this film. Some classic moments that will stay with me forever e.g. the chocolate milkshake, suckling baby, chicken and egg!! plus the hilarious 12 inch black rubber..... And in amongst all this you have eye candy from a very fit renee. nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars only ignorant people would find this film funny. a completely false representation of schizophrenia, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
only ignorant people would find this film funny. a completely false representation of schizophrenia,
only one accurate fact which was side effect from medication and how this is funny is beyond me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000]
Me, Myself and Irene [DVD] [2000] by Peter Farrelly (DVD - 2001)
£3.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews