Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilled but funky !
If you are a fan of HedKandi's releases like i am, you'll know about their chilled, disco and nu-cool series. This complilation displays elements of all three although drawing most heavily from chilled. All the tracks are pretty long because they have huge intros and outros but never get boring or tiresome. The inclusion of some well-known artists, Rui Da Silva and MJ...
Published on 17 Mar 2001

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing from Hed Kandi
Really a bland compilation that doesn't live up to the brilliance of the Disco Kandi, Back to Love and Winter Chill compilations. OK for in-car listening on a long journey, but I find myself using the skip button an awful lot. Put it this way - if you're going to buy your first Hed Kandi compilation, make it something else!
Published on 26 Oct 2002 by Mr. A. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilled but funky !, 17 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hed Kand Presents Deeper (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of HedKandi's releases like i am, you'll know about their chilled, disco and nu-cool series. This complilation displays elements of all three although drawing most heavily from chilled. All the tracks are pretty long because they have huge intros and outros but never get boring or tiresome. The inclusion of some well-known artists, Rui Da Silva and MJ Cole, help to break the listener into the style but you derive the most enjoyment out of discovering some of the newer and less well-known tracks. If you like chill-out you'll like this......if you don't like chill-out this album will teach you how to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kandi's darkly chilled house grooves, 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hed Kand Presents Deeper (Audio CD)
Within four months I've now purchased my eighth Hed Kandi CD Deeper. This follows the excellent Chill Out series and versatile Nu Cool grooves. I found Deeper's sound lies some where between the mid tempo'd chill out sound and the disco club house beats of Disco Kandi, I found this milder and more palatable than the blatant beats of the Disco Kandi series. I must admit I'm no real fan of house and found it curiosity to puchase this knowing the quality of Mark Doyle's compilations. What I found was chilled dark house grooves , disc 1 laid back and the tempoes elevated on disc 2.A:XUS a favourable late night thumper, other winners the club mix of Dusted, Limos and Afterlifes dancefloor re-mix is the most boost I've heard to the Baleiric group. I must admit that Deeper isn't my favourite Kandi CD as I prefer the down tempo chillout CD's but Deeper is worth getting in to if you are in to the club scene or even if you aren't and are like me in to the living room club scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep House Heaven, 27 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hed Kand Presents Deeper (Audio CD)
Reviews are essentially an opinion put forward by a single individual - everyone's tastes are different and what may be 5 stars to one person could be 1 star durge to everyone else.

So this is my review of Hed Kandi - Deeper, 10 years after its initial release and 10 years after I first laid my eyes on what is still my favourite Jason Brooks cover art.

For me, the golden years of Kandi will always be 1998->2002. The concept was fresh, the music was fresh, the artwork was fresh. Kandi was something that had never been done before. Dance music compilations, not mixed but 12' versions in full - all wrapped up in stunning artwork by Jason Brooks - the Kandi girls had landed. Collections of tracks appeared on the shelves (in a time when people still ventured into HMV to check out the latest offerings) with a common theme weaved together by Kandi master Mark Doyle. Every Kandi release was special. If not always 5 star, just seeing the latest Kandi girl and reading Mark's inner sleeve notes was always something to look forward to. In today's digital age, when downloading a pirated CD is as common as having a beer, I doubt this will ever be repeated.

So for me this is it. Of the 50ish Hed Kandi releases under Mark, this is my 5 star. Deep house gems that will still be standing tall 10 years from now.

Disc 1 is slow and sultry. The Rural's kicking things off, the achingly beautiful Always by Lisa Shaw following soon after and other deep house standouts coming from MJ Cole, Andy Caldwell, Limos and New Phunk Theory.

Disc 2's springbaord is King of Tomorrow's Finally followed by the insanely funky Elevator by Jaffa. Things take a deep, dark twist when Urbans Dwellers 7 minutes of twisted Loverman beats hits the speakers before the dark clouds part once more for the hands in the air Arriba,Abajo. To anyone out there, who like me, spent every weekend between 2000 and 2003 on the dancefloor or watching the sun come up from some strangers lounge room, Rui Da Silva's Touch Me needs no introduction. And the classic Fired Up bring's the proceedings to a fitting end.

Deeper is the release that still sits top of the Kandi tree. From a time when Mark and Kandi ruled my world. A 5 star compilation without any hesitation.

But that's just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep House, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hed Kand Presents Deeper (Audio CD)
Heard this CD when I was in states and had to get it. Great house music, very old school. Loving it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sweet sound to the ears., 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hed Kand Presents Deeper (Audio CD)
A sweet sound to the ears.

Another great addition to the Hed Kandi collection. Hed Kandi never fails to impress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing from Hed Kandi, 26 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. A. Brown (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hed Kand Presents Deeper (Audio CD)
Really a bland compilation that doesn't live up to the brilliance of the Disco Kandi, Back to Love and Winter Chill compilations. OK for in-car listening on a long journey, but I find myself using the skip button an awful lot. Put it this way - if you're going to buy your first Hed Kandi compilation, make it something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hed Kand Presents Deeper
Hed Kand Presents Deeper by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews