Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puritanical euphoric black metal
This album is without doubt the best work ever created by Dimmu Borgir. The atmosphere and the shear heaviness of this album are of the excellent standard that is expected from these black metal emporers. This is above all others possibly the greatest piece of musical art that you will ever buy.
Fear and Wonder: this masterpiece of classical music acts as the...
Published on 11 May 2005 by Mr. J. E. J. Barnard

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a disappointment
i bought this because i am such a fan of Dimmu Borgir, formerly a melodic black metal band, and the works before this all reach at least 4 stars for me. yet this is a complete disappointment, a death of a superb band. this is heavier, and less melodic. they have sacrificed melancholic melodies for head-banging guitar riffs, which is why this is such a let-down. they aimed...
Published on 26 Jun 2001 by redhen__@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puritanical euphoric black metal, 11 May 2005
By 
Mr. J. E. J. Barnard "Firestarter" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
This album is without doubt the best work ever created by Dimmu Borgir. The atmosphere and the shear heaviness of this album are of the excellent standard that is expected from these black metal emporers. This is above all others possibly the greatest piece of musical art that you will ever buy.
Fear and Wonder: this masterpiece of classical music acts as the sinister and grand introduction to this album of grandure and darkness.
Kings of the Carnival Creation: This is just one long darkly atmospheric ride, from start to finish the classical influences on this band become brilliantly clear as they back up the roaring, growling vocals, the irratic and unbelevably fast drumming and the heavily grinding guitars that make this song the best song on the album and ultimately the best song that Dimmu Borgir have ever produced.
Hybrid Stigma-The Apostasy: this song nails home just how heavy and grand this band are and will be for many years to come, the starting bars of classical violins gives way to an almighty scream from the singer (Shagrath) and huge riffs from the guitarists and savage drumming from the drummer (Nicolas)
Puritania: This is a massive track, literally, the consistantly rummbling drums and the suplimenting guitar cords add to the atmosphere which is summed up by the brief but all-too-clear vocals that get the message of this song across in short and excellently written verses.
This album is a beast, a machine, a savage entity that bares no name but is equally as monstrous as the Chimera, Cyclops or Leviathan and will leave the listener dazed and confused but equally satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best metal album ever. Period., 26 Dec 2006
By 
Brian D. Bailey "thebunnis" (LI, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
People will hate me for that title i just wrote but I'm not worried about that. I listen to a wide range of music; everything from metal to post modern to ambient etc. This is the best metal album i have ever heard, & one of my favorite albums in my entire collection. It is simply amazing. EVERY song on this album just blows the lid off. EVERY one. And each in a unique way. The songs do not all sound the same, they are each unique. For a first time listener, it may be hard to make sense of it, & you may initially decide that it's not to your taste, but boy does it grow on you if you give it a chance. Sometimes the songs start out sounding so chaotic that a first-timer might be tempted to skip the track, but waiting 30 - 45 seconds will reward you with & reveal to you the truly inspiring intent the band has. The following minutes of said song will just leave you breathless. After a few listens, you'll wonder how you could have ever thought this album was anything less than sheer metal perfection. I've listened to it so many times & it does not lose it's potency still. Be careful listening to it while driving, as it will bring out the most evil driver in you, which can be dangerous. If you see someone driving making these faces like they're possessed, that's probably me. Some die-hard metal-heads will knock this album, claiming that it's too over-produced & too far removed from the more raw production values of pure-roots metal. My response to this is, do you go around to every restaraunt just ordering burgers all the time? When you get something else do you compare it to a burger? Of course you don't. Don't compare this album to anything; just appreciate it for what it is. Not every band wants to fit neatly into a tight little category; some have ambition & creative vision. I also have Dimmu Borgir's other albums & (IMO) this is by far their most powerful work. However, if you really like this one, you should definitely check out their other albums. They're all great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 1 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
On first inspection i, like many of you im guesing, would have given this 4 stars but the true brilliance of this album is discovered with the long term listen. coaxed in by Puritania i was delighted to find this was the tip of the iceberg in a thoroughly masterful c.d! id be hard pushed to name a single bad song (though id say indoctrination is definetely my current fav with the brilliantly eerie orchestral interlude!).
If you dont own this album whats wrong with you? a true masterpiece that would fit perfectly in anyones collection. BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a poor man's Cradle of Filth..., 31 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
There are undeniable comparisons with Dimmu Borgir to Cradle of Filth, especially as a few old COF members have now joined DB. But this album to me seems less about the image, more of the music, and COF, vice versa. Incredibly focussed, mostly very heavy, lots of different sections within songs to keep you interested. A lot of the purists have strayed away from this album because their snobby peers have deemed DB to be a sellout. Well, I thought that metal music was about individual tastes, not trendiness and the "sheep" element. Judge for yourself and don't be swayed by what your friends say. Personally, I think this rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PEM, 7 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
Being a Dimmu-Borgir veteran listener I am sure I can help you decide on whether or not to buy this album. With Galder as a lead guitar addition on this album it adds another new element. Ever since I was listening to 'for all tid', 'stormblast' right through to 'progenies' I knew I'd found something special. Black metal is mainly categorized on lyrics, not music. D-B are one of my favourites, and if you appreciate any of their works you will appreciate this one. Old mans child is also a very good take on things - as well as susperia. Bring on the epic metal =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puritanical euphoric misanthropia!!, 28 Jun 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
I cannot fault this album and not one song on this is duff.The orchastral scores that features throughout this masterpiece is unsurpassed and gives the whole music plenty of atmosphere!
If you love Black metal as much as I do, GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightning-fast, raw black metal!, 17 Feb 2002
By 
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
With the addition of new drummer, Nicholas Barker (ex Cradle of Filth)Dimmu borgir have sped up to lightning fast drumming. Excellent guitar riffs throughout this masterpiece interspersed with ghostly enchanted keyboard and synthesizer pieces.
The album starts at full throttle with instrumental intro, fear and wonder, before launching at high speed into Blessings upon the throne of tyranny, a masterpiece of Dimmu...'s compositional prestige and skill at playing their instruments, as is shown throughout the album. The next few tracks follow the example of blessings... until track 6 "puritania", an experimental track using distorted voices and wierd effects, not, in my opinion, the albums best moment. The rest of the album steers back to the traditional, but faster black metal of the earlier tracks, with "Sympozium" (track 10)featuring Gothic sounding keyboard work mixed with heavy, harsh guitar riffs. The final track of the album, a very well done cover of the Twisted Sister song "burn in hell" adds a different, more harmonius tone to the album, making a break from the harshness of the rest of the album. Overall, a mind blowing raw black metal album with a definite recommendation from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true classic !!!, 9 May 2007
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
Dimmu Borgir really have created a masterpiece here. The vocals on this album are mesmerizing, shagrath seems to spit venom with every word that leaves his mouth. The drums are like a crescendo of machine guns. There is great guitar work all through this album but what really makes it is the keyboards, orchestra and samples from Mustis. I have never heard such an awesome opening to an album, a beautiful orchestral piece 'fear and wonder' goes smashing into the breakneck paced 'blessings upon the throne of tyranny'. This album is just so complex, there is just so much going on in every song its hard to keep up with its sheer brilliance. Every track is a classic but one is just too good for words 'Puritania'. All else i need say is trust me here, buy this album and buy it now !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stuff of legend, 2 April 2007
By 
Pyriel (northants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
anyone who faults this album should burn for all eternity, it's absolutely awesome.

black metal (well, metal in general) is feared by the uneducated man due to church burnings and various satanic rituals which are commonly associated with this type of music. however, this is not about loving satan, its about loving music and there is nothing not to love about this album.

the use of orchestral instruments mixed in with hard and heavy riffs and amazing double peddling makes this album stuff of legend.

favourite songs are:

hybrid stigmata - the apostacy

kings of the carnival creation

maelstrom mephisto

buy it now, buy it now,

yu know you want to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like extreme metal drumming... buy this!, 2 Sep 2003
This review is from: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (Audio CD)
Extremely fast, heavy and melodic. All in all, a brilliantly produced album. If you like extreme metal drumming, you'll enjoy Nick Barker's impressive speed and precision.

"Kings of the Carnival Creation" sends shivers down my spine...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia
Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia by Dimmu Borgir (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews