Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An odd one I am
Most Caravan fans will tell you that this album is a lot weaker than the releases immediately preceding and following it. I however disagree; Waterloo Lily is one of my favourite Caravan albums.
"The Love in Your Eye" ranks as one of Caravan's best extended numbers, and is clearly the highlight of the album. There's a string section in there, as well as another Jimmy...
Published on 29 May 2004 by Paul Ferguson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor plate for a band Caravan.
The fourth album in the discography of English representative Canterbury sound. After charming debut, and two subsequent albums, this significantly reduced the flights. Very relaxed sound, little picturesque, though the crisis passed. Generally weak position in the work of the team. I bought as a collector for the collection, but rather no satisfaction.
2001 Decca...
Published 7 months ago by Krzysztof


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An odd one I am, 29 May 2004
By 
Paul Ferguson "Gildermershina" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
Most Caravan fans will tell you that this album is a lot weaker than the releases immediately preceding and following it. I however disagree; Waterloo Lily is one of my favourite Caravan albums.
"The Love in Your Eye" ranks as one of Caravan's best extended numbers, and is clearly the highlight of the album. There's a string section in there, as well as another Jimmy Hastings appearance. The last section is a little more jazz-tinged than earlier works. The title-track is a fun romp in the style of "Hello, Hello". Some wonderful vocal and bass work here from Richard Sinclair. Then there's an excellent jazz-rock instrumental "Nothing at All" (the only one to my ears, that really marks the band's perceived change in style) and a light-hearted song "Songs and Signs" which show off new member Steve Miller at his best. The previous also has some excellent guitar work from the much under-rated Pye Hastings and guest Phil Miller (brother of Steve and later a member of Hatfield and the North). Of the remaining tracks, one is another catchy Pye Hastings acoustic song ("The World is Yours") and t'other is "Aristocracy", a weaker version of a track originally recorded for "In the Land of Grey and Pink" but not released on that LP (it is now on the reissue of that album). It's not bad, it's just nowhere near as good as the earlier version.
Of the bonus tracks the first two are lovely acoustic demos by Pye in the studio, and the last two are actually one track that missed the cut of the album by sheer length. It is called "Looking Left, Looking Right" but Caravan fans might recognise the main riff that was used for "Wendy Wants Another 5' Mole" on more recent album "The Battle of Hastings". Superb song.
The sleeve notes are (as always) excellent. The design is the same as for all the other Decca Caravan reissues, so if you are a collector, your CDs will rack up nicely. The cover art has been restored too.
As I am only 18, my Caravan collection is currently only the full set of Decca reissues alongside the last two proper albums "The Unauthorised Breakfast Item" and "The Battle of Hastings". It has come to my attention that very soon (June 2004) the remaining Caravan albums from the late 70s and early 80s are on the way on Caravan's new label Eclectic discs. So, if you are a Caravan fan, then you'll soon get a chance to get hold of the definitive versions of their 'missing' non-Decca works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That was the Caravan that wasn't - absolute gem!, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
A crossroads album for Caravan.

Bold and incredible foray into Jazz realm.

For me this album is not a bit weaker than any of the other 4 first Caravan albums, and certainly a refreshing, if short, change in the "traditional" Caravan sound.

It's being usually lower rated is probably due to reviewers who are not so much into Fusion and Jazz, but if you like Caravan and you also like Jazz/Fusion - you're in for a treat.

The CD comes with a highly interesting booklet full of contributions from Pye Hastings (that is of course if you can manage with the miniature font). It also contains the outer and inner sleeve artwork from the original album. It outlines the professional struggles regarding the direction the band was heading.

This album was made after the founder keyboardist Dave Sinclair left the band and was replaced by Steve Miller, that together with Richard Sinclair (Dave's cousin) and Phill Miller (Steve's brother) pushed towards more Jazzy sound. The latter 3 eventually left the band with Dave Sinclair returning for the next excellent album (For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night) where music was somewhat "back to normal".

The result here is stunning and they all should be very proud of it. Great musicians and musicianship!

The title track kicks in and just grabs you from the first second, much like Golf Girl in ITLOGAP. For 1.5 minutes it's just as if ITLOGAP never ended. Then starts a gradual mood change to instrumental Jazz, still with Caravan flavor that continues for 2 minutes and almost fades out completely, just to emerge with a new gripping drums+electric piano+bass for another minute or so , and than about 1 more minute like the track's beginning. Great track.

The second track Nothing At All (10:25) comprises of 3 sections, and is purely instrumental Jazz.

Tracks 3+4+6 are around 3 minutes each and are fine "traditional" Caravan

Track 5 (12:31) comprises of 5 parts and is the most ambitious one, where the first part includes a string arrangement and oboe, the second one includes excellent flute and tenor sax by Pye's brother Jimmy in a section called "To Catch me a Brother" (what else...) and the next 3 sections are all excellent Jazz flavored.

The 4 Bonus tracks were all recorded on June 8th 1971 during an "official break from activity" and 3 of them consist of Pye Hastings' demo tracks only with voice and acoustic guitar, and the 5:37 track "Looking Left, Looking Right" stands out of these with combined traditional Caravan & Jazz sound with trumpet by Mike Cotton.

Overall excellent original album with very nice added value with the new 2001 remastered edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lily still SPREADS the joy, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: waterloo lily LP (Vinyl)
I can't understand why some people claim this to be a weaker album than others as EVERY track is a belter.
I for one can understand the slight change in direction musically(jazzy) than previous releases.Waterloo Lily the track is a belter and The Love In Your Eye sequence of songs is one of their best pieces EVER commited to vinyl.And that to my mind has just GROWN in stature over the years.LONG MAY LILY SPREAD HER JOY TO THE WORLD!!!!!!
ADDITION
REST IN PEACE RICHARD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as the first three albums, 21 Jun 2009
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
Despite the change of keyboard player this album seems to be a natural development in the progression of the earlier albums and it belongs with them. The jazzy electric piano is a breath of fresh air, but the sound is early Caravan at their best and Miller's playing is excellent. All four of the first albums are great. There is a big change in the sound of the following album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caravan - sounds as good in 2013 as when first released, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
Been a Caravan fan since school days - long time ago. Having seen them recently on London South Bank, been filling the gaps in my CD collection. And it's just as good as first time round when it was in my vinyl collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really hasn't got a title, 3 Dec 2010
By 
csiedmo (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
The one weakness of this album is that the band are audiably pulling in different directions. Although the band's jazz direction is only represented by one track (the Nothing At All suite) it sounds out of place alongside the rest of the tracks on the album and as jazz works go its pretty mundane.

There rest of the album though contains some of the bands finest moments. Waterloo Lily (a funky tale of a rotund call girl) and The Love In Your Eye (an excellent attempt to carry on from where For Richard left off) in particular are wonderful, but my favourite song didn't even make the album: that's bonus track Looking Left Looking Right, another funky number that sounds as fresh as the day it was made. If only that song had made the album instead of Nothing At All, this might have been my favourite Caravan record. As it is its my second favourite behind If I Could Do It Again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Caravan - Waterloo Lily, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
This CD originally released in 1972 is a work of value banda although this is not the best album. The bonuses are good and worth it. Follows the line of the band with a progressive rock with jazz blends. The songs are well made with light atmosphere in striking style of Caravan. It is sound and can even be a band's first album to know. Ok! Note 8.5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor plate for a band Caravan., 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
The fourth album in the discography of English representative Canterbury sound. After charming debut, and two subsequent albums, this significantly reduced the flights. Very relaxed sound, little picturesque, though the crisis passed. Generally weak position in the work of the team. I bought as a collector for the collection, but rather no satisfaction.
2001 Decca 8829822 / IFPI LV27 / 0128
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, but not my favourite Caravan album, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
I was pleased to finally track down this 1972 release, which is hard to find in record shops, and have enjoyed it, although it is not my favourite Caravan album by some distance. My recommendation would be to start with 'In The Land of Grey and Pink' before trying 'For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night' and 'If I Could Do It All Over Again I'd Do It All Over You' as these are all excellent albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overshadowed by 'Grey and Pink' and 'Girls who grow plump' - undeservedly so!!!', 29 Jun 2013
By 
C. Heath (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waterloo Lily (Audio CD)
Not a lot to say that's not been said in 'Say no More's' excellent 2012 review. However, it's sasy to see where Richard Sinclair was headed with just one listen of this one - off to jazzier climes with Hatfield and the excellent Phil Miller, Steve Miller (both present here) and Pip Pyle et al. Some fabulous playing from all the band members on this one - Coughlan on top form with his 'drum kit falling down the stairs' technique and Richard Sinclair attempting (and largely succeeding) to match the funk/fusion sensibilities of Crusaders/Zappa era Max Bennett - and if you can live with Max Bennett you're OK with me! Pye Hastings also surprises with his skill on lead guitar. The most surprising feature of the various Amazon reviews is the lack of reference to the similarity in style (of the instrumental tracks) with Frank Zappa's 'Hot Rats' - and that's not a criticism - far from it, it's a complement! As mentioned, Sinclair's bass work is 'stand out' and compares well with Bennett's style and Hastings' guitar style, tone and extensive use of the wah-wah pedal (unusual for Hastings) are very reminiscent of Frank's technique. In fact I'd go as far as to say you could 'lift and drop' a couple of the lengthier instrumental passages from this album straight on to 'Hot Rats' relatively seamlessly. And that's praise indeed given that Hot Rats must be Zappa's greatest acheivement in a career that was pretty stellar throughout.

As mentioned, 'Land of Grey and Pink' and 'For Girls who Grow Plump' are generally considered to be Caravan's high points but I think that Waterloo Lily matches, and in some respects, surpasses those two excellent albums - and I'm listening to 'Girls who...' as I write this.

Amazing to think how old this recording is when it sounds so fresh in 2013 - the musical abilities of these guys put most current bands to shame. However, be that as it may, the bottom-line is 'buy this album'!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waterloo Lily
Waterloo Lily by Caravan (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews