Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dredd (bluray) us import
Judge Dredd bluray us import
this disc is region free so will play on uk players,the picture and sound are great it leaves the old dvd for dead
i cant understand why no uk disc but its easy to import enjoy
Published 7 months ago by sip

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The box has WIDESCREEN across the top , 2.35:1.
The box has WIDESCREEN across the top , 2.35:1. This is a LIE. In this day and age, just about most people have a WIDESCREEN tv and you'd expect something marked WIDESCREEN would be a perfect fit on a 16:9 TV. Unfortunately this disc is manufactured by MONKEYS who cant tell the difference between 16:9 and 4:3. Honestly the technical ability of the outfit bringing you this...
Published on 27 Jan 2010 by M. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dredd (bluray) us import, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Judge Dredd bluray us import
this disc is region free so will play on uk players,the picture and sound are great it leaves the old dvd for dead
i cant understand why no uk disc but its easy to import enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The box has WIDESCREEN across the top , 2.35:1., 27 Jan 2010
By 
M. Davis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
The box has WIDESCREEN across the top , 2.35:1. This is a LIE. In this day and age, just about most people have a WIDESCREEN tv and you'd expect something marked WIDESCREEN would be a perfect fit on a 16:9 TV. Unfortunately this disc is manufactured by MONKEYS who cant tell the difference between 16:9 and 4:3. Honestly the technical ability of the outfit bringing you this movie could fit on the head of a pin. Its actually a 2.35:1 picture in a 4:3 frame ( Whatever the hell that works out to be when expanded to 16:9) , so anybody with a widescreen tv has to expand the picture to its fullest extent to get the right shape, which also means you get the LOWEST definition that way. This might seem like I'm making a big deal about nothing , right? Or you can look at it from the angle of, " I've been sold a defective product that should have been scrapped at manufacture, and they're lying to me ON THE COVER ". The Movie gets 3 stars , The DVD presentation gets (minus)-5 stars. Dont waste your money on this or wait until some other distributor remasters it and does it properly.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but frustrating, 2 Aug 2005
By 
M. Matthews "mikematt101" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Danny Cannon's Judge Dredd is an entertaining enough sci-fi action flick, but I can't help wincing whenever I watch it. Cannon claims to be a fan of the original comic strip, which suggests that he didn't have a great deal of creative control, because plenty of liberties are taken here.

I would never have expected the makers of the movie to be 100% faithful to the comic, but some of the changes that were made were superficial and pointless, and that's what irritates me. For one thing it's set in the wrong year, the Chief Judge is inexplicably called Chief Justice, Rico is locked up in Aspen rather than Titan, the heroic Chief Judge Griffin is one of the movie's villains, while in the comic both McGruder and Silver were Chief Judges... and Silver was black! And another thing... if Rico is Dredd's clone, shouldn't they be identical??

As a movie it's okay. The dialogue is pretty awful (e.g. "I knew you'd say that"), and the acting is adequate (Stallone is fairly dire and Rob Schneider is exceptionally annoying as Fergie, but Diane Lane does well as Judge Hershey, Armand Assante is deliciously nasty as Rico and Max von Sydow adds some much-needed professionalism to proceedings). The action scenes also just-about pass muster, although the hover-bike chase fails to convince, and the climactic punch-up in the Statue of Liberty is a bit of a damp squib.

In the end though, it's all fairly entertaining nonsense. It's just a shame that when the producers decide to bring Dredd to the big screen, they didn't have the courage to do it properly - as far as I'm concerned not hiring John Wagner or Alan Grant to work on the script was a crime worthy of life in an Iso-Cube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected, 24 Nov 2004
This film was almost universally hated, by critics and Dredd fans alike, so I didn't get round to watching it for a long time. Dredd is one of my all time favourite comics and I didn't want to see it ruined by a bad film.
WHAT'S GOOD. Sylvester Stallone is the perfect man to play Dredd. I know not everyone agrees, but just scroll up and look at the picture. The first half hour or so of the film captures the atmoshere of the comics and MegaCity 1 perfectly, and gives anyone a good idea of what the comics are like.
WHAT'S BAD. The story. In short the story was not right for the character. I can understand that the film makers wanted Rico as the villain because it gives a lot of the back story as to where Dredd came from, but the way in which it was done had too many holes in it. Like the fact that Dredd has identical DNA to Fargo as well as Rico, was completely ignored. Dredd shouldn't have been sent to prison in the first place, he should have been chasing Rico round MegaCity 1. Diane Lane was very pretty, but essentially mis-cast as Judge Hershey (who's older in the comics and Dredd's superior) .As for Dredd's comedy sidekick bloke... He really DID deserve to go to prison! He was totally unneccesary - less said about him the better.
The other thing that needs to be mentioned is that in the film Dredd takes his helmet off! This upset many a Dreddhead, since he NEVER takes his helmet off in the comics - even when he's standing around in his underpants. I concede this probably couldn't be easily avoided on film, and it wasn't totally gratuitous but still, on screen Stallone was Dredd until he took off the helmet. Then he was just Stallone.
Overall as a film it isn't bad, it's an entertaining piece of sci-fi. If you like the film, you'll like the comics more. If you like the comics the film will leave you cold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dredd [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import], 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
after watching the latest Dredd film (brilliant by the way) I was yearning for more Judge Dredd and really the only option is this, This film has aged quite well, I must say I like it more than when I first saw it obviously the 2000 AD purists will be slating me but I really enjoyed this, its not as good as the new dredd film but definitely worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great - for about ten minutes...., 19 Jun 2014
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Despised by both the creators and fans of the nihilistic dystopian British comic strip, for the first ten minutes or so Sylvester Stallone’s Judge Dredd looks like it might actually be a half-decent movie. The sprawling post-Apocalyptic metropolis MegaCity One is created in lavish detail with all its sordid violence and block wars and even Rob Schneider is tolerable. And then Stallone appears in his Versace-designed shoulder pads, climbing off his oversized motorbike and standing with his hands on his hips amid a hail of gunfire. It’s not quite as outrageously camp as Cobra, but Stallone is truly dreadful here, not taking it seriously (“Emotions. There ought to be a law against them”) without being intentionally funny either.

The 2000AD fans came up with a slew of reasons for the film’s failure with public and critics alike – Stallone taking his helmet off (a complete no-no in the comic strips) and changing the mythology and grim tone chief among them – but now that the more faithful 2012 big screen Dredd turned out to be an even bigger box-office flop despite costing a fraction as much it’s clear that the reasons have more to do with a dire script from people who ought to know better (the co-writers of Die Hard and The Terminator among them), a poor plot and Schneider’s unwanted comic relief sidekick, though he’s surprisingly one of the least of the film’s liabilities. Coming off the surprise success of Demolition Man, it’s clearly been retooled in development along similar lines, with Diane Lane’s fellow judge standing in for Sandra Bullock and Armand Assante’s psychotic clone in the Wesley Snipes role, and it’s a poor fit. Where Demolition Man offered smart satire of its superficially perfect future world between the action setpieces, this never seems to know quite what it wants to be, wasting some of its supporting cast (Joan Chen in particular has a nothing role with no other purpose than to give Lane someone to fight at the end) and throwing together a grab bag of clichés and catchphrases for a plot. Bits and pieces work, the production design, on the streets at least, is decent and there are the odd striking bits of imagery along the way, but it’s very much an overpriced also-ran.

Both the US region-free Blu-ray and the UK DVD include a 20-minute making of featurette and trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Special effects., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great special effects, just love the bikes, Dreadful lead actor,would rather watch Dredd than Stallone.
Much better effects than the new version"Dredd".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This Deserved Better Judgement, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Positive.
1)Sylvester Stallone tries his best with the material he's given & there are some gteat action scenes.
2)The huge budget show a vast landscape of Mega City & beyond.

Negative.
1)Rob Schneider as Fergie a comic figure that ruins drains all drama & tension out the movie, Danny Cannon should never have cast this prat.
2)The comic book violence as the remake is hardcore & with Sly as Dredd this should've delivered but the violence feels toned down for a Dredd movie & some scenes far too tongue & cheek.

Dvd, Running Time 92 minutes, Trailer, Making of.

Review.
This dvd has 2 missing scenes one of were Dredd emptys a gun on one the Angel Gangs family & a headbutt scene in the Judge Hershey fight, This is the 21st century BBFC treat us as adults not children it's rated 15.

This 80 million dollar film flopped in the US but did better here as Judge Dredd is based on Mega City's 2000AD character.

Sly plays Dredd quite well but the helmet doesn't seem quite correct compared to the remake & he commits the ultimate sin & removes his helmet to the fan's horror.

The films plot is about Block War's, Rico Dredds best friend & as it turns out brother escapes from prison & frames Dredd for murder banishing him to a prison planet.

But as the spaceship carrying the prisoners crashes due to an attack by the Angel Gang Family Dredd & Fergie a guy Dredd arrested earlier in the Block War scenario are captured by the Angel Gang as they hate Dredd for his love for the law.

Dredd breaks free of his shackles during a all out escape & a fight breaks out which sees Dredd taking down the Angel Gang family.

Fergie tags along with Dredd as they make the way back to Mega City One through the cursed earth wastelands to clear Dredds name & set up a final confrontation with his Brother Rico who has killed the Judging council & reactivated the clones for him to rule Mega City One.

I'm a huge fan of Sylvester Stallone & although this is an average film it's not really down to his part so much as there's so much wasted potential here.

This should've been made in tone like the recent remake & made the violence hardcore with brutal action scenes that's tailor made to fit Slys character.

Some of the action scenes do deliver thanks to Sly but many found Dredd removing his helmet sacrilege, Personally it didn't bother me.

The pace & tone af the last 22 minutes is way off compared too the other 70 as theres no big climatic build up to events, The ABC Warrior robot is underused & easily deactivated & the final fight with Rico is awfully choreographed.

The biggest issue i have is Rob Schneider being cast in this movie as he reduces this film to cringeworthy status at times making this movie seem one big joke at least in Demolition Man his part was reduced to a few scenes.

This has good moments as Sly does his best with the material on offer but there is wasted potential here which is disheartening, The toned down comic book violence, a 92 minute summer blockbuster when this should've hit around the 2 hour mark & Rob Schneiders awful annoying acting reduces it to a 3 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Corny!, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Ian D. Jones "Jona" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I used to think it was an ok film.
Having seen the remake several times and found excellent.
I put the Stallone effort on but had to turn it off after 10 minutes.
Forget this film and make more with Karl and Olivia!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant be faulted, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
judge dredd kicking arse? cool stuff and is a great addition to my collection. sly is himself and is the judge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995]
Judge Dredd [DVD] [1995] by Danny Cannon (DVD)
16.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews