Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second outing for Trotters
In 1981, the first six episodes of Only Fools And Horses were broadcast. The series was not an immediate hit with the viewing public, generating only average ratings, and the BBC could have easily decided not to give The Trotter's a further run. Instead however another series was commissioned and as with near rival Minder, the programme was a slow burner before becaming a...
Published on 7 July 2007 by D. Evans

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Kept stopping
Published 10 days ago by DAVID RUDD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second outing for Trotters, 7 July 2007
By 
D. Evans "dantheman95" (Southport) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
In 1981, the first six episodes of Only Fools And Horses were broadcast. The series was not an immediate hit with the viewing public, generating only average ratings, and the BBC could have easily decided not to give The Trotter's a further run. Instead however another series was commissioned and as with near rival Minder, the programme was a slow burner before becaming a huge success with the general public.
For the second series, a new theme tune was adopted for the programme and used for all subsequent episodes, although it is also on the first series DVD replacing the original instrumental theme by Ronnie Hazelhurst. The theme as written and sung by series creator, John Sullivan, was in part says Sullivan, used to explain the origins of the title of the programme, which had confused many viewers.
As well as the central characters Del Boy, Rodney and Grandad, familar regulars Boycie and Trigger also make their second appearances in the series. One of the best episodes in series 2 is an episode, The Losing Streak, in which the characters all gather together to play a game of poker. Card games always seem to work well in comedy ,a memorable early episode of Cheers featured a poker game involving the regulars and confidence trickster Harry The Hat. Here the cheat is Boycie, although Del may have more up his sleeve then he lets on. This episode was actually inspired by John Sullivan's dad who enjoyed gambling sessions.
Also in this series, we see The Trotter's involved in painting a restaurant, and Rodney dating to Del's horror, a Policewoman and then later deciding to take her back to the flat, containing all of Del's dodgy goods. For the first time in the programme, the Trotter's go on holiday visiting Spain. Although the budget restrictions for the early episodes, meant that the episode was not actually filmed there.
Many fans have said that the season finale, Diamonds are for Heather, is amongst the weakest of the series. Although the episode is short on laughs and there is a strange sequence in which Del is seen to romance Heather to the tune of Fat Larry Band's song Zoom, the episode does offer the viewer a chance to see what it would be like if Del did settle down and is in someways a prelude to later episodes when Raquel became Del's girlfriend. The most famous episode here is the classic A Touch of Glass, when the Trotter's become involved in cleaning the chandelers. In many ways the famous sequence in this episode really helped to turn into the success it became.
As with all the Only Fools DVD's, no extras are included. Maybe the BBC will release these again with an added commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best, 15 April 2006
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I just love this series, some people think there is not enough continuity in the episodes, but i don't think that's true. I am going to rate these episodes below out of 5 marks:

The Long Legs Of The Laws ****

Ashes To Ashes *****

A Losing Streak ***** (The best of the series)

No Greater Love ***1/2

The Yellow Peril ****1/2

It Never Rains *****

A Touch Of Glass ****

Diamonds Are For Heather ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laughed till I cried, 11 May 2004
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I don't think anyone can say a bad word against Only Fools and Horses. Series two is absolutely and thoroughly entertaining so if you are a fan of only fools and horses then what are you waiting for...buy series two NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Trotters returned, 28 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Personally, I love some of the early episodes of 'Only Fools and Horses', which showcased a comedy show with lots of potential. True, they aren't brilliant when you compare them to later series, and the masterpieces which came in 1989 when the show went for 30 minute episodes to 50. Nevertheless, they are still thoroughly enjoyable, despite the simpler plots and lack of character development which came afterwards.

I think series two was an improvement over the first (even though I still rate it five stars), the chemistry between David Jason, Nicholas Lyndhurst and the late Lennard Pearce was there from the start, and despite the fact ratings weren't initially high, I, and millions of us am so glad the BBC had the good sense to recommission it again, and again.

This DVD contains all eight episodes, including the famous 'A Touch of Glass', originally broadcast between late November to early December 1982. My personal favourite of the lot is 'The Long Legs of the Law', which sees a horrified Del at the sight of Rodney taking his latest bird home, a policewoman nonetheless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British Comedy, 26 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The chance to own a copy of one of the series of Britains finest comedy's along with the Monty collection, Faulty Towers and Black Adder, should not be turned down. The characters Del Boy and Dave (Rodders) turn the actors who played them into house hold names. Even after nearly twenty years this DVD/Video will bring a smile anybodys face and at a extremely fair price this is a complete must not only for die hard Only Fools and Horses fans but for people who might not have seen the programme before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every OFAH Fan, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Faultless in everyway possible, a must for any Only Fools And Horses Fan. You won't be dissapointed in watching this dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Again another prompt delievery from Amazon.
Very enjoyable series with loads of laughs, just ordered the rest and can't wait.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Del Boy, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Bought this as a present, and the person I bought it for has been enjoying viewing this, and the other ones I bought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Received very fast thank u great DVD makes me laugh every time good old Del Boy and Rodney glad I got them on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Norman Dias (dorset england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Only Fools and Horses series 2, Defense de Fumer bruv, it's my most favouritest comedy. Need I say more ?
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 2 [1982] [DVD] [1981]
£9.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews