Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
98
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2004
Please disregard the regrettably jaded and cynical Amazon review of thismovie! The Road to El Dorado is a delight from title to end-credits!Visually superb, the characters are dynamic and work together beautifully,with a line of witty banter second to none. Elton John's music iscertainly NOT "forgettable" (actually it took me a couple of weeks to stopwhistling the theme tune...) and the soundtrack CD is also a very goodbuy. The film is a good family view, and I mean a GOOD family view:children, adults, and even bored teenagers will enjoy this.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2003
This is a fantastic movie! My 4 year old son has made me sit through it many times and I still enjoy watching it. The animation is superb, mixing cutting-edge CG 3D backdrops with stylishly drawn main characters. It's similar in technique to Tarzan, but arguably better done. The script is packed with great one-liners for the adult audience - "HOLY SHIP!" is yelled as a wayward boat heads towards Tulio and Miguel (try explaining the joke to a 4 year old!) The acting is first class, which is to be expected with actors of Ken Branagh and Kevin Kline's calibre. Even the sound track is excellent, with some great tracks from Elton John which really suit the movie (another similarity with Tarzan and its Phil Collins-penned songs).
Overall, this is a outstanding animation, certainly better than anything Disney has produced in recent years. I'd recommend it to any fans of the genre or anybody with kids.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Watched this quite a few years ago on TV and really enjoyed it. Finding it here on Amazon for a great price I immediately bought this to add to my movie collection. The story is about two swindlers Miguel and Tulio, two wanted conmen who gets their hands on a map to the fabled city of gold, El Dorado. After they are shipwrecked in the New World with a scene-stealing horse. The pair follow a map to the secret city where their loyalty will be tested: do they return home rich men or continue to live in this paradise? Of course there are some obstacles: a high priest is locked in a power struggle with the benevolent chief and the perfunctory girlfriend puts the two friends at odds. But in the end, they make a huge moral decision that leads to a nice ending of the film. If you are an adult think of The Man Who Would Be King and you have got a very similar movie.

This is a great movie and I would thoroughly recommend it, really good film that the whole family can watch and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2003
"The road to El Dorado" is a really great film. It's just so funny! Kids will love it and it's great for adults too. The first half hour is a roller-coaster ride that will keep you laughing out loud. It follows how Tulio and Miguel come across a map to El Dorado, the city of gold, accidently end up as prisoners on a ship headed for the new world, are rescued by a hungry horse and land on the beaches of the new world.
When they get to the new world, the mood of the film changes. Up until now it was just funny, but now the funniness is coupled with absolutely beautiful animation. It really is breathtaking, especiallywhen they reach El Dorado itself.
The film is complemented and completed by the beautiful songs, by Elton John. These include "Without Question", "Friends Never Say Goodbye", "On the Trail We Blaze" and "Someday Out of the Blue". They are all great songs and they fit in perfectly with the film.
Altogether this is a really freat film. Ken Branagh and Kevin Kline do a great job as the voices of Miguel and Tulio, the animation and music are great and the script is hilarious. What a great combination!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2001
Notwithstanding the five stars, I concede the reviewer Doug Thomas that some things are mediocre in this movie: the screenplay and the songs of Elton John. He did great songs, but he had had his best years - long ago. He is just reproducing and replicating his old tunes and musical arrangements. That is what I call routine.
However, but it is not really important, because of the wonderful created characters Miguel and Tuilo and their perfect selected voices of Kenneth Branagh and Kevin Kline. Moreover the nice setting of the jungle and the cities, the Maya as wll as the Spanish. Not to forget once again („Moses") the impressive animation of the water.
The movie is beautiful and really great fun. And there is no reason to care about the screenplay and the songs. They don't matter, anyway. Do yourself a favour and watch that.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2001
Although this movie did not make a big impact at cinemas,that does not mean to say this is bad,nothing could be further from the truth.The animation is stunning and the characters will have the kids and adults in stitches.This is definitely up to the standards of Disney and the kids will be watching it for a long time yet.There may be some innuendo you may want to watch first but it is nothing bad and they will certainly here worse on tv.DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND BUY THIS.RECOMMENDED
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
This is such an under-rated film and by far one of the most well written animations I can think of! From the story, the characters and the sense of humour, it's great for all ages and fun to watch even after 5 watches! It will forever stay on my DVD shelf and is a definite favourite of mine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2002
I love this film and would recommend it to everyone - all ages will find it great, the film is a real feel good movie, i have to admit i've watched it over and over because every time it is still just as funny as the last time! the animation is great although i have to agree with another reviewer, the songs accompanying the film are not great - some orchestral selections work well, however elton john has not done the film justice, as with a great soundtrack the film would be a stomper, as can be seen in such disney classics as aladdin & jungle book. Apart from the lack of memorable songs, its a wonderful film, so buy it and enjoy, you won't be disappointed!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
I had never heard of this film and just bought it on the off-chance for my children as it was cheap. it is actually delightful. They loved it and so did I. I just don't understand why this lovely film is almost unknown.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Kids and adults will enjoy this film!
Join two friends on their quest to find the lost city of El Dorado.
Miguel and Tulio are tired of being poor and go on a search for wealth and power. They find what they are looking for but the power goes to their heads. With danger just round the corner, the friends must choose between their new life and doing the right thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.