Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sooper dooper!
i am still not entirely sure how i came to find out about this strange, but beautiful band. however whilst i try and remember that, i shall tell you (because i feel it is my duty) just how great this album really is. it may sound a bit shabby and homemade at times, and it may often feel like the singing duo are being unsincere at the most sensitive and heartfelt times...
Published on 9 Jun 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Some nice songs but an acquired taste
There are some nice songs on this and anyone familiar with the Juno movie will find some of the songs on here (Kim Dawson is part of this group and contributed to the soundtrack, in particular the ending song). There are some nice, lo-if songs and Dawson and Green make a good double act. It's not a consistent album, acoustic numbers peppered with noise and distortion...
Published 14 months ago by DPVC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sooper dooper!, 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
i am still not entirely sure how i came to find out about this strange, but beautiful band. however whilst i try and remember that, i shall tell you (because i feel it is my duty) just how great this album really is. it may sound a bit shabby and homemade at times, and it may often feel like the singing duo are being unsincere at the most sensitive and heartfelt times. however it is just this that makes the mouldy peaches debut album so refreshingly different and enjoyable. their music is so simple but not at one point during the album is it ever dull. these guys also switch their genre in practically every song, going from lo-fi indie to punk rock in a couple of tracks.
without doubt this is my personal favourite of the year. however i would say the mouldy peaches are an aquired taste and some people may not like them as much as others. they are an underground band who thrive on being out of the mainstream, and it is clear that they never set out to conquer the music business. watch out for the bunny rabbit and robin hood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful lo-fi, 25 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
I had friends before I bought this album, now I have none. They all left after a few months of me running around place screaming 'I'm just your average Thundercats Ho' and 'We hate dance and we hate rap/but we like to contradict ourselves/that's a rap'. Actually, that's not true at all, but it wouldn't be a bad trade-off.
The fact is, despite, or more likely because of, its terrible production values, this album is listenable, fun, funny and at times moving. From the heady beginnings of 'Lucky No.9' through the tragicomic 'Nothing Comes Out' and the wonderful bad-taste of 'Who's Got the Crack', Kimya and Dawson demonstrate that rarest of all things -- a willingness to try something new.
The style of this album is characterised as anti-folk, but in fact the duo show a suprising willingness to dabble in any and all possible styles. There seems to have been some really enjoyment had in the recording of this record, and that really shows through. Though it's not musically flawless, or even musically accomplished, there isn't one point in this album where that matters. The fact is, this band have created a new sound that's as important and unique as and band before them. For that reason alone, this albums is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...And if you thought the cd was great..., 20 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Moldy Peaches [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The Moldy Peaches are a great band. Listen for yourself. And the amazing thing is they sound great live! They played with the Strokes in San Francisco and they did not play acoustic, as is on some of the songs on the cd. The opening track, "Lucky Number Nine" sounded great live, and electric. Their music is entertaining, and they dress up very strange--I love them. They played a song that is not included on the album that was hilarious, it talked about, "You gotta have rain..to have a rainbow." Very reminiscent of "Who's Got The Crack?" Please check them out for yourself. Just imagine The Pixies "Surfer Rosa" released as a demo. This band is original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy production makes for good listening!, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
Im not one to believe everything i read but Ive gotta say that everything that ive read about the Moldy Peaches is true!! Their lo-fi, fuzzy sound gives the music a totally honest and earnest feel that you cant help but like!! Stand out trax are Who's got the Crack and 'Nothing Came Out' but the whole album is wicked. If you liked the Breeders and all that sorta stuff then Moldy Peaches are the most logical progression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Indie Cindy, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
This combo won't be for everyone. Adam Green and Kimya Dawson are 'indie' artists in their own right: with "deep and meaningful" lyrics spoken with an echo of teenage angst - something anyone over twenty-five might hate.

I personally like the lack of polish to their tracks - its all very 'we just sang this in our basement one rainy day' and all the tracks sound very similar, but its an album you can listen to all the way through.

If you liked the music in Juno or Adventureland etc. then you'll probably like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Some nice songs but an acquired taste, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
There are some nice songs on this and anyone familiar with the Juno movie will find some of the songs on here (Kim Dawson is part of this group and contributed to the soundtrack, in particular the ending song). There are some nice, lo-if songs and Dawson and Green make a good double act. It's not a consistent album, acoustic numbers peppered with noise and distortion. Lyrically different too. I'd download a few songs before buying, just to get used to them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great great great, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
It's a so so simple record.Like been written by a friend of yours.With so many great songs!!!!It will be a good choice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Moldy Peaches, 12 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
My son introduced me to a song by this group in a compilation of his favourite songs. At first the tune just didn't catch my ear but then it started to grow on me... like "mold" on a peach. i just love them now; they are so off the wall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most original album in years!, 30 July 2010
By 
Huckfead (Ticehurst, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
Judging by the other reviews Ive discovered this band very late. Had this album for a couple of years and have meant to post a review. This is the most original album Ive heard in years. Repeated playings show this to grow. Okay some of the tracks fall short but even when they do they are better than anything around today. Lo Fi production is totally in keeping with this album. Probally overstating but I believe in 20 years time people will be talking about the Moldy Peaches influencing many bands.Many have said it before me but "BUY, BUY BUY"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go buy this or may good music shake it's head disapprovingly, 18 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moldy Peaches (Audio CD)
i'm not gonna be able to put this eloquently (specially seeing as i dunno how to spell that word) or anything, but this album is totally amazing. possibly the best thing this year. the lyrics are crazy, the singers sometimes off key but in a great intended (i think) kickass way. 19 pure excellent songs. buy buy buy buy. return it if you don't like it, but to hear it is to love it to pieces surely. i'm personally gonna make sure i can buy anything these guys make and will somehow see them this year live. oh yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moldy Peaches
The Moldy Peaches by Moldy Peaches (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews