Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brace yourself!
Good God almighty! If you have any affinity for any kind of music, buy this album! The effect this astonishing collection of singles had is still felt more than forty years after its initial release. The songs are simply stunning, and Bland's voice is truly phenomenal. Any singer who ever belted out a single note OWES Bobby "Blue" Bland. For those who have heard nothing...
Published on 21 Nov 2003 by thestaxman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok
Published 16 days ago by The Dowager


Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brace yourself!, 21 Nov 2003
By 
thestaxman (Jackson, MS United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two Steps from the Blues (Audio CD)
Good God almighty! If you have any affinity for any kind of music, buy this album! The effect this astonishing collection of singles had is still felt more than forty years after its initial release. The songs are simply stunning, and Bland's voice is truly phenomenal. Any singer who ever belted out a single note OWES Bobby "Blue" Bland. For those who have heard nothing but the man's latter day work with Malaco, this is nothing short of a revelation. This was one of the most amazing voices on God's green earth. He's somehow like a cross between Ray Charles, Nat King Cole, and Brook Benton, but with the strength of all three combined. Listening to this will make you realize how right B.B. King was when he said, "Me and Little Milton, we did alright, but NOBODY could move a crowd like Bobby Bland."
My only complaint is that these songs and the album itself are over far too early. Some of the songs barely make it over two minutes, but that was how they were done in those days. But I can't stress the greatness of this album and the magnitude of its impact enough. Along with James Brown's Live At the Apollo, this is arguably the most important and influential Soul album of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little Boy Blue, 19 May 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Two Steps from the Blues (Audio CD)
If you're only going to buy one Bobby "Blues Boy" Bland album then make it this one.

In common with many, I used to listen to the Mike Raven r'n'b show in the early/mid 60's, every day, early evening on one of the pirate radio stations. I was living in Kent at the time so reception was good on the pirates. Very fond memories. Mike used to go on about the 3 B's - his name for Solomon Burke, James Brown, and Bobby Bland. Burke had already had hits in the UK but Brown and Bland were pretty well unknown at that time. The late Mr Show Business, James Brown, is now a household name but Bobby has never gained the fame that should have come his way. This album was one I searched out so it's the first time I really heard the man apart from the snippets on the Raven show. I would add that its overall sound came as quite as quite a shock. There was nothing else like it on the soul cum R&B scene. Apart from one track "I don't want no woman", which was a very good example of small band Texas Blues with strong lead guitar, the style of the others was unfamilar. This was for two reasons. Bland's own voice was most unusual. I have seen plenty of references to his "crying style", and, by god, can he cry, but comparisons just don't do him justice. There's agony on almost every number. Julie London and her "Cry me a River" has nothing on our Bobby! But the voice was also superbly complemented by Joe Scott's magnificent orchestra with sweeps and flourishes on almost every number plus horn driven punch for the emphatic moments. Listen to "I pity the fool". Essentially a 12 bar blues but it sounds like a mini opera.

This album has more of his hits than any other apart from the best-of's, and the track selection is varied from latin scorchers like "Don't cry no more" to slow & searing soul blues numbers. In my view this gives as good a general view as you could get of Bobby. There are simply no bad tracks. I did manage to find a few other original Bland albums later (and also bought loads of imported Duke/Peacock singles) but none of them had the sweep of "Two Steps from the Blues".

The CD version adds a couple of numbers which maintain the quality level though, as a minor and maybe greedy point, I do think that the label could have found a few more bonus tracks for us to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Steps from the Blues (Audio CD)
Essential listening for serious American R+B afficionados. a replacement for my vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bobby -Blue- Bland, 27 April 2014
By 
Paul Simpson (Keighley, West Yorkshire. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Steps from the Blues (Audio CD)
Fantastic blues from the master himself. I love the track I Pity The Fool. All the tracks are digitally remastered, the sound is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Blues !, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Steps from the Blues (Audio CD)
a must-have blues album for any blues aficionados
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome blues, 30 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You have to be in the mood, but excellent if you are will either like it or hate it, but if you like blues, you shld love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Steps from the Blues (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Steps from the Blues
Two Steps from the Blues by Bobby "Blue" Bland (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews